LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Crossfire

Written by Malorie Blackman

Part of the Noughts and Crosses Series

Books of the Month Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults

LoveReading View on Crossfire

August 2019 Book of the Month | A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month August 2019

Former Children’s Laureate Malorie Blackman makes a brilliant return to her best-selling Noughts and Crosses series with an all-guns-blazing story of prejudice, love, ambition, politics and violence. In the series launch title, Sephy, a Cross, and Callum, a Nought, challenged the divisions in their society. They paid a heavy price for doing so but they did make changes; racial and class barriers were brought down and the future would be brighter. Or so they thought. But a generation on, while superficially things look better, the prejudices are never far away and where they are, violence follows. When the first Nought Prime Minister is framed for murder he turns to his old friend Callie Rose, daughter of Sephy and Callum to defend him. But crossing the racial divide is still unpopular and both have ruthless enemies. As corruption spills into violence the next generation, Troy and Liberty, are terrifyingly caught up in the conflict. Malorie Blackman’s scope is huge in terms of characters and time- frames in this hard hitting socio-political commentary which has obvious resonance for today.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

Other Info

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month August 2019 

Molly Rogers to the Rescue by Cornelia Funke

Crossfire by Malorie Blackman

Hello, Friend by Rebecca Cobb

Why You Should Read Children's Book, Even Though You Are So Old and Wise by Katherine Rundell

Ravi's Roar by Tom Percival

Crossfire Synopsis

Crossfire is the long-awaited new novel in legendary author Malorie Blackman's ground-breaking Noughts & Crosses series - perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and The Power.

Thirty-four years have passed since Sephy Hadley - a Cross - first met Callum McGregor - a nought. Their love was forbidden, powerful - and deadly. Life is seemingly very different now for noughts and Crosses - including for Sephy and Callum's families. But old wounds from the past are hard to heal, and when you're playing a game as dangerous as they are, it won't be long before someone gets caught in the crossfire. 

Crossfire Press Reviews

Praise for Noughts & Crosses:

'The Noughts & Crosses series are still my favourite books of all time and showed me just how amazing story-telling could be' - Stormzy

'The most original book I've ever read' Benjamin Zephaniah

'Blackman gets people . . . she gets humanity as a whole, too' Guardian

'Powerful' Sunday Times

Blackman gets people . . . she gets humanity as a whole, too - The Guardian

Powerful - The Sunday Times

Packs some powerful political punches...But Blackman never compromises the story, which is dramatic, moving and brave - Guardian

Blackman's absorbing but alarming novel deals with themes of racism and prejudice . . . Unforgettable - Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

Deeplight
Jackpot
Chessboxer
The Fountains of Silence

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241388433
Publication date: 08/08/2019
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241388433
Publication date: 8th August 2019
Author: Malorie Blackman
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 464 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks

About Malorie Blackman

A World Book Day Author 2019 | Children's Laureate 2013-2015 Malorie Blackman has written over sixty books for children and young adults. Many of her books have also been adapted for stage and television, including a BAFTA-award-winning BBC production of Pig-Heart Boy and a Pilot Theatre stage adaptation by Sabrina Mahfouz of Noughts & Crosses. There is also a major BBC production of Noughts & Crosses, with Roc Nation (JayZ's entertainment company) curating and releasing the soundtrack as executive music producer. In 2008 Malorie received an OBE for her services to children's literature, and between 2013 and 2015 she was the Children's Laureate. ...

More About Malorie Blackman

More Books By Malorie Blackman

Cover for Nought Forever: World Book Day 2019 (Noughts and Crosses) by Malorie Blackman
Cover for A Dangerous Game by Malorie Blackman
Cover for Grandpa Bert and the Ghost Snatchers by Malorie Blackman
View All Books By Malorie Blackman

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×