LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons

Written by Andy Shepherd

Illustrated by Sara Ogilvie

Part of the The Boy Who Grew Dragons Series

Write A Review

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons Review

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Star Books

A final dragon-sized helping of fun and magical adventure

The Boy Who Grew Dragons Book 5

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons is the fifth and final book in this outstanding series and in it Tomas discovers the final pieces of information about the amazing dragons that grow in his grandad’s garden on their wonderful dragonfruit tree. But Tomas can’t help feeling upset when he realises that his friend Aura’s links with the dragons go back further than his. Could she really be the Queen of the Dragons? Fortunately, Grandad is on hand for a chat and as the two chew things over (literally – Grandad’s pockets are always full of toffees), Tomas realises there’s nothing to worry about. All these stories are full of magic, adventure and comedy and this is a triumphant finish to a series that gives young readers dragon-sized helpings of pleasure and fun.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

Andy Shepherd says of her series, ‘For me the books have always had family at their heart, that and the idea that if we keep our eyes open we might just find magic right on our doorstep. I’ve loved growing these dragon books and, just like Tomas, I’m finding it quite hard to say goodbye to the dragons now we’ve reached the final one. But I’m so excited to see the fifth dragon book launching into the world. With Sara’s gorgeous covers I really do have a rainbow of dragons.’ 

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons Synopsis

Tomas is a fully-fledged expert dragon grower and protector of the dragonfruit tree. He has eyes in the back of his head for watching over those sneaky dragons, awesomely fast reflexes for putting out sparks and dodging the diving antics of whirling newly hatched dragons. He's got it all down pat - and managing his little lightning bolt dragon Zing, too. But he's not quite prepared for the adventure that awaits him when a huge secret is revealed about his new friend, Aura.

A thrilling secret that will take Tomas and Aura on a journey of discovery that will finally unlock the last mysteries of the dragonfruit tree. A journey of discovery that all the dragons will be in on - and just what will happen when lightning bolt dragon Zing and storm dragon Flicker get together?

Get ready for the ride of your life in this fizzing, sparkling final story in The Boy Who Grew Dragons series.

The Boy Who Sang with Dragons Press Reviews

A warm-hearted and really fun story - Parents In Touch

Imaginative and charming, The Boy Who Grew Dragons is a wonderfully whimsical story that kept me smiling the whole way through - Books for Topics

Free readers will get stuck into the new series The Boy Who Grew Dragons by Andy Shepherd, about finding magic in the most ordinary of places - Angels and Urchins

an inspired concept, this is a funny and heartwarming tale of magic, family and friendship - Madge Reviews

This is a sumptuous start to a new series, bursting with energy and humour, yet tinged with the darker side of life too. There's a grumpy neighbour, aware but preoccupied parents, an eclectic group of friends, a strange gardening guide, nomenclature of dragon pets - so many facets all covered and explored. A perfect example of domesticity interrupted with a touch of magic. Dragon fruit will never look the same again! - Minerva Reads

Andy Shepherd's dragon-debut is an absolute delight and is just the very start to a series that I'm sure is going to be a roaring success. It's a series that - pardon the pun - I just want to drag-on and on and on! - The Reader Teacher

A hilarious rip-roaring adventure. Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Cressida Cowell - South Wales Evening Post

A warm-hearted debut... lovely, expressive, characterful - Sunday Times

The Boy Who Grew Dragons is one of those magical children's books that warms the cockles of your heart no matter what age you might be. It's fast, it's funny, it makes you feel good, and for the brief time, it takes to read its reassuring innocence comforts you into believing that everything is right with the world. This is Andy Shepherd's first book and she knocks it out of the park from page one - Starburst Magazine

a spectacular start to a new series - The Sun

[An] ingenious premise is brought to life with great skill and humour - The Scotsman

Shepherd delights in describing crazy situations, and the book's heartfelt message is one of care and friendship - Literary Review

Fantastic fire-breathing fun with wonderful illustrations by Sara Ogilvie, this is a lovely new series for anyone who ever wanted a pet dragon - WRD Magazine

A kind of Pete's Dragon with extra giggles, The Boy Who Grew Dragons takes on the rather hair-singeing challenges of finding that your grandad's garden has suddenly started sprouting fire-breathing mischief-makers and the illustrations by Sara Ogilvie really make it come alive - Waterstones Blog

charming [and] sublime - Event Magazine

Hilarious, warm and full of magic... featuring delightful line drawings - The Metro

My son and I really liked this. It's at heart a simple story, but has some rather charming elements. Tomas raises his baby dragon, keeping him a secret, though his little sister finds out and her precious little ways are rather adorable.Friends of course eventually become suspicious - especially when there's explosive dragon poo to be found in Tomas's school bag! One of our favourite scenes, I think. The scenes of baby Flicker causing mayhem are very much in line with the age group's humour - Nudge Book

Irresistible... everything you want in a book for a newly independent reader - tender realism, honouring children's inner feelings and anarchic magic, both beautiful and regrettable. Sara Ogilvie's illustrations capture both enchantment and stench... A modern classic - The Guardian

A proper children's book... the humour and Sara Ogilvie's illustrations are just right - New Statesman

The story is a heartwarming account of one boy's struggle to look after a mythical creature whilst juggling the reality of life at school and at home with lots of laugh-out-loud funny moments and peppered with bold illusstrations that will keep young readers enthralled - The School Librarian

A wonderfully whimsical story that's fast, funny and full of feel-good moments - Creative Bloq

Funny and Imaginative - The Week Junior

If you loved this, you might like these...

Mossbelly MacFearsome and the Goblin Army
Stanley Will Probably Be Fine
Mirror Magic
Beyond the Odyssey

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781848129429
Publication date: 07/01/2021
Publisher: Piccadilly Press an imprint of Templar Publishing
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781848129429
Publication date: 7th January 2021
Author: Andy Shepherd
Illustrator: Sara Ogilvie
Publisher: Piccadilly Press an imprint of Templar Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Humorous
Recommendations: Reluctant Readers, Star Books

About Andy Shepherd

Andy Shepherd is a children's writer working on middle-grade fiction. She lives near Cambridge with her husband, two sons and their border collie.  Check out Andy's website for activities and resources linked to the series.

More About Andy Shepherd

More Books By Andy Shepherd

Cover for The Boy Who Dreamed of Dragons by Andy Shepherd
Cover for The Boy Who Flew with Dragons by Andy Shepherd
Cover for The Boy Who Flew with Dragons by Andy Shepherd
Cover for The Boy Who Flew with Dragons by Andy Shepherd
Cover for The Boy Who Lived with Dragons by Andy Shepherd
View All Books By Andy Shepherd

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×