LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat

Written by Em Lynas

Illustrated by Matt Hunt

Write A Review

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat Review

Books for Babies and Toddlers Featured Books for 3+ readers Humorous Poetry

A perfect picture book for introducing phonics

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month July 2021

Cat has a favourite yellow mat in which he takes great delight. But then Rat comes along with a very desirable favourite very pink hat. Suddenly Cat wants Rat’s hat, too, and when Bat comes along with a fabulously fancy cravat both Cat and Rat snatch for it eagerly…How will the cat, rat, hat, mat, bat and cravat all end up? Matt Hunt’s vivid illustrations capture the playfulness of this simple and wholly enjoyable rhyming story that makes great play of repeated sounds.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

Other Info

The Editor from Nosy Crow Says:   “This picture book is quite simply a career highlight for me! Em Lynas’s text is pure genius with its rollicking rhyme, repeated refrains and cumulative chaos, and Matt Hunt has brought the story to life in the most incredible way – think Oi Frog meets Tom and Jerry! We’re so excited to be publishing The Cat and the Rat and the Hat; it is, without a doubt, a story that will entertain many generations of children (and editors!) to come.”

 

Julia Eccleshare's Picks for July 2021

Attack of the Giant Baby by David Lucas

Anisha, Accidental Detective: Granny Trouble by Serena Patel

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat by Em Lynas

Hope Jones Clears the Air by Josh Lacey

Mr Benn 123456789 by David McKee

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat Synopsis

A raucous, rhyming tale that will have children (and adults) in fits of laughter!

Cat is sitting on his favourite mat, when who should come along but Rat with a very nice hat? Cat wants Rat's hat and will stop at NOTHING to get it. But when Bat arrives wearing a fancy cravat, well, what could be better than that? Chaos ensues as both Cat and Rat decide they MUST have Bat's fancy cravat for themselves!

From Em Lynas and Matt Hunt comes this hilarious, read-aloud picture book, bursting with comic capers and animal antics. With a hilarious, tongue-twister text, slapstick humour, bright neon artwork and colourful, comic characters. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Viking Who Liked Icing
The Cat and the Rat and the Hat
Bathroom Boogie
Big Green Crocodile Rhymes to Say and Play

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781839940927
Publication date: 01/07/2021
Publisher: Nosy Crow
Format: Hardback

ISBN: 9781839941566
Publication date: 01/07/2021
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781839941566
Publication date: 1st July 2021
Author: Em Lynas
Illustrator: Matt Hunt
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: Baby and Toddler, 3+ readers
Genres: Humorous, Poetry
Recommendations: Julia Eccleshare's Picks

About Em Lynas

Em Lynas is an ex-primary school teacher and author of the Action Words Reading Scheme. She writes funny fiction and poetry because she loves to hear children laugh and also because that's the way her mind works. It doesn't do serious . Em gathers inspiration from memories of the children she taught and the two she brought up, as well as channeling her own childhood experiences. She would like to thank the UK Education Department for giving her so many ideas for Toadspit Towers. Jamie Littler is an illustrator who graduated from the Arts Institute at Bournemouth in 2008. When not trying ...

More About Em Lynas

More Books By Em Lynas

Cover for The Cat and the Rat and the Hat  by Em Lynas
Cover for Get Me Out of Witch School! by Em Lynas
Cover for Help! I'm Trapped at Witch School! by Em Lynas
View All Books By Em Lynas

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×