LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Matt Hunt - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

Matt was born in Redditch, Worcestershire in 1988. Starting out as a fine artist, he graduated from the Birmingham School of Art, and from these roots, developed a love for children's illustration. He currently shares a house with his wife Hayley and two cats. Matt
works in mixed media, utilising paint, pens, crayons, and digital. He loves to create new and interesting characters and write stories for them. He's influenced by old movies, classic illustration, cartoons and books.

Featured books by Matt Hunt

Other books by Matt Hunt

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat

Author: Em Lynas Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2021

A raucous, rhyming tale that will have children (and adults) in fits of laughter! Cat is sitting on his favourite mat, when who should come along but Rat with a very nice hat? Cat wants Rat's hat and will stop at NOTHING to get it. But when Bat arrives wearing a fancy cravat, well, what could be better than that? Chaos ensues as both Cat and Rat decide they MUST have Bat's fancy cravat for themselves! From Em Lynas and Matt Hunt comes this hilarious, read-aloud picture book, bursting with comic capers and animal antics. With a hilarious, tongue-twister text, slapstick humour, bright neon artwork and colourful, comic characters. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog! Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free 'Stories Aloud' audio recording - just scan the QR code and listen along!

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat

The Cat and the Rat and the Hat

Author: Em Lynas Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/07/2021

A raucous, rhyming tale that will have children (and adults) in fits of laughter! Cat is sitting on his favourite mat, when who should come along but Rat with a very nice hat? Cat wants Rat's hat and will stop at NOTHING to get it. But when Bat arrives wearing a fancy cravat, well, what could be better than that? Chaos ensues as both Cat and Rat decide they MUST have Bat's fancy cravat for themselves! From Em Lynas and Matt Hunt comes this hilarious, read-aloud picture book, bursting with comic capers and animal antics. With a hilarious, tongue-twister text, slapstick humour, bright neon artwork and colourful, comic characters. Perfect for fans of Oi Frog!

If My Dad Were The Tooth Fairy

If My Dad Were The Tooth Fairy

Author: Mark Sperring Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/05/2021

A hilarious rhyming romp exploring one child's fantasy about her dad having the coolest job ever - the perfect gift for dads this Father's Day! Have you ever wondered what would happen if your dad quit his boring office job to become . . . the Tooth Fairy? Wouldn't it be cool if, instead of wearing a plain old shirt and trousers to tap on a computer all day, he zoomed across the sky on his sparkly wings wearing a tutu and tights? Mark Sperring (author of FATHER CHRISTMAS ON THE NAUGHTY STEP and THE NAUGHTY NAUGHTY BADDIES) has created a riotously funny and fabulous text that is a joy to read aloud, paired perfectly with Matt Hunt's brilliant artwork (illustrator of CHOOSE LLAMAS by Charlie Green and DADDY FARTYPANTS by Emer Stamp). Perfect for fans of Julia Donaldson.

The Pirates Are Coming!

The Pirates Are Coming!

Author: John Condon Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

A hilarious retelling of The Boy Who Cried Wolf, with not one but TWO twists! Tom has a VERY important job; every day he climbs to the top of the hill and watches for pirate ships. But when he rings his bell and shouts ! PIRATES! a few too many times - and there's NO pirate ship - the villagers begin to get tired of hiding. So what will happen when the pirates really do show up? Repeated phrases make it easy and fun for young adventurers to join in with the storytelling, and witty, bold artwork by Matt Hunt adds to the fun, with new and hilarious things to spot on every rereading. This inventive picture book has so many surprises in store and a wonderfully diverse range of characters and family groupings. John Condon has been shortlisted for various awards including the Lovereading4kids Children's Book Awards. Matt Hunt has been nominated for the Kate Greenaway Medal, and his book Stephen Hawking Little People, BIG DREAMS was an Amazon bestseller. Every Nosy Crow paperback picture book comes with a free Stories Aloud audio recording. Just scan the QR code and listen along! Related activity sheets available on the Nosy Crow website.

Stephen Hawking My First Stephen Hawking

Stephen Hawking My First Stephen Hawking

Author: Maria Isabel Sanchez Vegara Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Board book Release Date: 04/02/2020

This board book version of Stephen Hawking - from the critically acclaimed, multimillion-copy bestselling Little People, BIG DREAMS series - introduces the youngest dreamers to the incredible life of this genius physicist and author. When Stephen Hawking was a little boy, he used to stare up at the stars and wonder about the universe. Although he was never top of the class, his curiosity took him to the best universities in England: Oxford and Cambridge. It also led him to make one of the biggest scientific discoveries of the 20th century: Hawking radiation. Babies and toddlers will love to snuggle as you read to them the engaging story of this fascinating educator and innovator, and will also enjoy exploring the stylish and quirky illustrations of this sturdy board book on their own. Little People, BIG DREAMS is a bestselling series of books and educational games that explore the lives of outstanding people, from designers and artists to scientists and activists. All of them achieved incredible things, yet each began life as a child with a dream. This empowering series offers inspiring messages to children of all ages, in a range of formats. The board books are told in simple sentences, perfect for reading aloud to babies and toddlers. The hardback versions present expanded stories for beginning readers. Boxed gift sets allow you to collect a selection of the books by theme. Paper dolls, learning cards, matching games and other fun learning tools provide even more ways to make the lives of these role models accessible to children. Inspire the next generation of outstanding people who will change the world with Little People, BIG DREAMS!

Choose Sloths

Choose Sloths

Author: Charlie Green Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

It's time to CHOOSE. This laugh-out-loud book puts the power in your hands as you build your very own sloth squad. Which sloth would you choose to play hide and seek with? Which sloth would you choose to go camping with? Which sloth would you choose to read you a bedtime story? With five sloths to choose from on each page, each with their own individual style and personality, this is a hilarious, wacky and wonderful opportunity to promote discussion and decision-making skills. Also coming soon: Choose Llamas 9780241392706

Choose Llamas

Choose Llamas

Author: Charlie Green Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/07/2019

It's time to CHOOSE. Time to choose LLAMAS! This laugh-out-loud book puts the power in your hands as you build your very own llama squad. Which llama would you choose to be your superhero sidekick? Which llama would you choose to ride in a high-speed llama race? Which llama would you choose to go to space with? With five llamas to choose from on each page, each with their own individual style and personality, this is a hilarious, wacky and wonderful opportunity to promote discussion and decision-making skills. Also coming soon: Choose Sloths

Daddy Fartypants

Daddy Fartypants

Author: Emer Stamp Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/04/2019

Daddy Fartypants was a very windy bear. It didn't matter where he was. Or what he was doing... And the worst thing? Daddy Fartypants always blames someone else. But that all changes when he meets Little Bear's lovely (and very windy) new teacher... Full of fun, farts and family ... look no further for the book to share with Dad! Emer Stamp is the creator of the bestselling The Unbelievable Top Secret Diary of Pig and winner of the 2019 LOLLIES book awards.

Daddy Fartypants

Daddy Fartypants

Author: Emer Stamp Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/01/2019

Daddy Fartypants was a very windy bear. It didn't matter where he was. Or what he was doing... And the worst thing? Daddy Fartypants always blames someone else. But that all changes when he meets Little Bear's lovely (and very windy) new teacher... Full of fun, farts and family ... look no further for the book to share with Dad! Emer Stamp is the creator of the bestselling The Unbelievable Top Secret Diary of Pig and winner of the 2019 LOLLIES book awards.

Cinderfella

Cinderfella

Author: Malachy Doyle Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/08/2018

To all the brothers at Number 12. You're invited to Kayleigh's party. Dress fancy. Come fancy. Dance! Once upon a time, there lived Cinderfella - a little boy, forever bossed around by his two older brothers, Gus and Gareth. Turn up the TV! Shine our scooters! the brothers cry. Finish our homework! But on the day of our story, Kayleigh, the town's kick-fastic karate champion, is having a party, and Cinderfella is determined to dream big, dress fancy and DANCE. He'll just need a little help along the way from his fairy dog-mother, Ruff - woof! A feel-good twist on the classic fairytale, brought to life with fresh vision and huge humour by Matt Hunt.

What's More Scary?

What's More Scary?

Author: Min Flyte Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/03/2017

When a plucky little jungle explorer sets out on an adventure, he meets all sorts of scary creatures, from a massive great big elephant to the scariest looking vampire bat you've ever seen! All children will love lifting the flaps to reveal the scary animals lurking in the jungle. Then they'll have trouble deciding which one they'd rather walk past! Would you rather sail past a shoal of ferocious piranha fish or a truly terrifying crocodile? But that's not all... there's even something scary following the explorer, too! It's panting and stomping! What can it be? Will you be brave enough to find out by venturing into the very scary cave?

Lady Liberty's Holiday

Lady Liberty's Holiday

Author: Jen Arena Illustrator: Matt Hunt Format: Hardback Release Date: 10/05/2016

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

https://www.matthuntillustration.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×