LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Five Clues (Don't Doubt The Rainbow 1)

Written by Anthony Kessel

Part of the Don't Doubt the Rainbow Series

Write A Review

The Five Clues (Don't Doubt The Rainbow 1) Review

Activity and Puzzle books Adventure Stories Books of the Month Crime / Mystery Featured Books for 11+ readers Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

A taut, compulsively readable thriller

August 2021 Book of the Month

Edie is still grieving for her mother, killed a year earlier in a horrible accident, when she discovers a secret note her mother left for her. It states that the ‘accident’ was anything but, and that this is the first in a trail of clues she has left for her daughter, explaining what it was she was investigating, and why it got her killed. The tension heightens as Edie solves the clues, putting herself in more and more danger. The people who arranged her mother’s murder are utterly ruthless while Edie has very few she can turn to for help. Anthony Kessel handles plot and character well and this DIY detective story will appeal to fans of Holly Jackson and Sophie McKenzie. NB, there’s one particularly violent scene that some readers might find upsetting.

Andrea Reece

The Five Clues (Don't Doubt The Rainbow 1) Synopsis

The first book in the series, The Five Clues, is a real-time murder-mystery thriller and family drama, combining an exciting race against time with a heart-rending story about a teenager learning to live with the loss of a beloved parent.

Walking back from her mother's grave, 13-year-old schoolgirl Edie Marble finds a note in a pocket of the sheepskin coat that she hasn't worn since the day, a year earlier, when she received the awful news of her mother's death. The note is from her mother, who had been looking into a corporate human rights violation and had become fearful for her life after receiving death threats. She trusts only Edie - because of their special bond and Edie's intelligence - and has laid a trail of clues for Edie to find that will help her to shed light on the violation and uncover the mystery around her death. Through her wit and determination, Edie steadily gathers evidence and negotiates the dramatic twists and turns of the story by collaborating with her friends and family to gradually unearth a sinister attempt by a pharmaceutical company to conceal their illegal development of a lethal virus.

As Edie's investigations progress she is introduced, in parallel, to the Three Principles, which help her conquer various psychological stresses and support her in coming to terms with her grief.

The Five Clues (Don't Doubt The Rainbow 1) Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

A very different detective mystery book. Full review

Rob (Age 11)

This is a great book full of adventure and and friendship and puzzles to solve. I loved it! Full review

Lily O’Dwyer (Age 12)

a compelling and captivating story about sadness, loss, acceptance, endurance, thriller, and empathy. Full review

S. Kaur (Age 15)

I would recommend this book to older children as it can be a bit scary, but it is incredibly exciting, and I just couldn’t put it down. Full review

Marcus Hoang (Age 10)

Love solving clues? Prepare to be drawn in by reading this detective story - will Edie collect the evidence she needs to prove who killed her mum, or will the killer catch her first? Full review

Lucas Blake (Age 10)

This book was a real mystery that makes you really think, it is great for kids age 10 plus. Full review

Charlotte Killen (Age 9)

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Highland Falcon Thief
Paradise on Fire
Bone Music
Skin Taker

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781785835551
Publication date: 02/08/2021
Publisher: Crown House Publishing
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781785835551
Publication date: 2nd August 2021
Author: Anthony Kessel
Publisher: Crown House Publishing
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers
Genres: Puzzles / Activities, Adventure Stories, Crime / Mystery, Personal Social Health Economic
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Reviewed by Children

About Anthony Kessel

Professor Anthony Kessel is a public health physician, academic and author. Since 2019 Anthony has been working in a national role as Clinical Director (National Clinical Policy) at NHS England and NHS Improvement. Anthony is an international authority on public health, a Trustee director of BookTrust, and also advises other charities on global health and mental health. Anthony has trained as an executive coach and writes a personal column - 'Global Health Experience' - exploring his leadership work through a lens of psychological wellbeing.  medium.com/@AKessel

More About Anthony Kessel

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×