LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Sad Ghost Club Volume Two

Written by Lize Meddings

Part of the The Sad Ghost Club Series

Write A Review

The Sad Ghost Club Volume Two Review

Books of the Month Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers Graphic Novels & Comics Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE) Romance / Relationship Stories Star Books

Finding joy and confidence through finding kindred spirits

January 2022 Graphic Novel of the Month

This second volume of Lize Meddings’ The Sad Ghost Club series of graphic novels is a beautifully original, beautifully told tale that will speak to readers who feel anxious, invisible or lonely. Its relatable portrayal of friendship offers hope and support, alongside an empathetic steer on how to find a way through social anxieties and insecurities. If that wasn’t enough, it’s completely compelling, and witty with it.

“Being around people is so hard” - a sentiment many young readers might identify with through this story’s relatable “sad ghost” characters. While our two ghosts have become comfortable with their friendship, anxiety returns when a fellow lonely soul wants to join them. “Another person is going to be even more exhausting”. “What if this new person hates me?” What if they “forget I even exist”. After grappling with such insecurities, and navigating the complexities of relating to - and communicating with - other people, this glorious graphic novel concludes with a bolstering “I can do this” assertion, and more like-minded ghosts than you can shake a wand at. In a word - wonderful.

Joanne Owen

The Sad Ghost Club Volume Two Synopsis

Ever felt anxious or alone? Like you don't belong anywhere? Like you're almost... invisible? Find your kindred spirits at The Sad Ghost Club. (You are not alone. Shhh. Pass it on.)

When two strangers meet at a party and realise they both feel different from everyone else there, they start the The Sad Ghost Club - a secret society for the anxious and alone, a club for people who think they don't belong. But when a third ghost wants to join the club, things get a bit more complicated.

Can the two ghosts overcome their insecurities and uncertainties in their new friendship, and find a way to welcome new members to the club?

Stunningly illustrated, this is Volume 2 in a new graphic novel series, for fans of Heartstopper and Jennifer Niven, and for anyone who's ever felt invisible.

Join the community of half a million ghosties on Instagram, @theofficialsadghostclub

The Sad Ghost Club Volume Two Press Reviews

A charming, heartwarming graphic novel ... ultimately it's about the power of friendship to help us step outside our loneliness, and the joy found in making communities of like-minded souls. - Booktrust

If you loved this, you might like these...

Heartstopper Volume Four
Paper Avalanche
Word Nerd
All the Bright Places

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444957549
Publication date: 06/01/2022
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444957549
Publication date: 6th January 2022
Author: Lize Meddings
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Graphic Novels & Comics, Personal Social Health Economic , Body / Health, Romance / Relationship Stories
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Star Books
Collections: Anxiety & Wellbeing - 50 Books to Help Children Cope with Mental Health,

About Lize Meddings

Lize Meddings is the creator of the Sad Ghost Club, a club for anyone who's ever felt sad or lost. The Sad Ghost Club community has over half a million followers on instragram. Lize loves drawing, especially plants and animals. She currently lives and illustrates in Bristol. Follow on Instagram @theofficialsadghostlclub

More About Lize Meddings

More Books By Lize Meddings

Cover for The Sad Ghost Club Volume 1 by Lize Meddings
View All Books By Lize Meddings

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×