LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Places to Be

Written by Mac Barnett

Illustrated by Renata Liwska

Places to Be Synopsis

From the award-winning, bestselling Mac Barnett and Renata Liwska comes a classic and luminous book perfect for fans of The Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood and Waiting by Kevin Henkes. With an elegant simplicity, this picture book celebrates all our wide-ranging emotions-and the adventures that await us each day. We have so many places to be! Places to be loud and lovely and scared and jubilant.

Places to Be Press Reviews

Funny and gentle -- Kirkus Reviews This winning read-aloud can be used to encourage friendship in young children. -- School Library Journal A sweet and gentle contrast to Seuss' Oh, the Places You'll Go! -- Booklist Praise for EXTRA YARN: Understated illustrations and prose seamlessly construct an enchanting and mysterious tale. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Praise for EXTRA YARN: Klassen's deadpan, stylized illustrations impeccably complement Barnett's quirky droll writing. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Praise for EXTRA YARN: There's nothing to say but perfect. -- Lane Smith, New York Times bestselling author of IT'S A BOOK Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: A clever second collaboration between Barnett and Klassen...The prose is deadpan; the joke's all in Klassen's winsomely smudgy illustrations. -- New York Times Book Review Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: Mind-blowing in the best possible way. -- Horn Book (starred review) Praise for SAM AND DAVE DIG A HOLE: Barnett's comic voice is at its driest as he recounts that quintessential American childhood activity-the digging of the giant hole. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: A tender, touching story of friendship and the power of imagination. -- Booklist (starred review) Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: A warm and wise story about acceptance trumping difference. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: A whimsical tale from Barnett aptly accompanied by enthralling artwork by Robinson. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Praise for LEO: A GHOST STORY: Dazzling. -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review) Praise for THE SKUNK: Gives off a deliciously Hitchockian air of high style and deep-seated dread... a story that speaks to the urbane existentialist/absurdist lurking in the heart of every reader. -- Publishers Weekly (starred review) Praise for THE SKUNK: Clever visual motifs, sly storytelling, and tight pacing make this a picture book that will be enjoyed by both children and their grown-ups. -- School Library Journal (starred review) Praise for THE SKUNK: McDonnell's graceful and simple cartoonlike illustrations mitigate the notes of paranoia and obsession in Barnett's deadpan text. -- Horn Book (starred review) Praise for THE SKUNK: A daffy yet stylish readaloud with surprising performance possibilities. -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books (starred review)

Book Information

ISBN: 9780062286215
Publication date: 15th June 2017
Author: Mac Barnett
Illustrator: Renata Liwska
Publisher: Balzer and Bray an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 32 pages

About Mac Barnett

Mac Barnett is the New York Times bestselling author of many picture books, including Extra Yarn and Sam & Dave Dig a Hole, both illustrated by Jon Klassen and both Caldecott Honor award winners. He is also the author of the bestselling Terrible Two series with Jory John. Mac lives in Berkeley, California. You can visit him online at www.macbarnett.com. Renata Liwska grew up in Warsaw, Poland, and now lives in Calgary, Alberta. She is the illustrator of The Quiet Book and The Loud Book!, both written by Deborah Underwood and both New York Times bestsellers. For The Quiet ...

More About Mac Barnett

More Books By Mac Barnett

Cover for Circle by Mac Barnett
Cover for Square by Mac Barnett
Cover for The Wolf, the Duck and the Mouse by Mac Barnett
View All Books By Mac Barnett

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×