LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Long Winter

Written by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Part of the The Little House on the Prairie Series

The Long Winter Synopsis

Classic tales by Laura Ingalls Wilder about life on the frontier and America's best-loved pioneer family. When a blizzard cuts the town of De Smet off from the railroad, the community is left for weeks without food or fuel deliveries and the Ingalls family are forced to eke out the last of their supplies. As the terrible winter drags on, things begin to look desperate, until Almanzo Wilder and his friend brave the icy storms in search of help from another settlement. The timeless stories that inspired a TV series can now be read by a new generation of children. Readers who loved Anne of Green Gables, Little Women, and Heidi will be swept up by this timeless rural coming of age saga. Perfect escapism for readers aged 8+. Beautifully illustrated by Garth Williams. Have you collected all the Little House books? Little House in the Big Woods Little House on the Prairie On the Banks of Plum Creek By the Shores of Silver Lake The Long Winter Little Town on the Prairie These Happy Golden Years Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in Wisconsin in 1867. She recorded her adventurous nomadic childhood with her pioneer family in a collection of books that have become beloved classics of American literature. The Little House on the Prairie television series ran for 9 seasons from 1974-1983.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405280150
Publication date: 30th July 2015
Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 336 pages

About Laura Ingalls Wilder

Laura Ingalls Wilder was born in Wisconsin in 1867. Her family moved around, travelling from Missouri to Kansas, Minnesota and back to Wisconsin. Eventually the family settled in De Smet, Dakota Territory and Laura worked regularly as a seamstress and teacher. She stopped working when she married Almanzo Wilder in 1885. Little House in the Big Woods was first published in 1932, Little House on the Prairie in 1935, and five more books in the Little House series followed. Laura also wrote Farmer Boy about her husband's childhood, and three more books were published posthumously. Laura was five times the recipient of the Newbery ...

More About Laura Ingalls Wilder

More Books By Laura Ingalls Wilder

Cover for The Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
Cover for Little House on the Prairie by Laura Ingalls Wilder
View All Books By Laura Ingalls Wilder

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×