LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Waffle Hearts

Written by Maria Parr

Waffle Hearts Synopsis

A deliciously funny story of friendship and family, full of laugh-out-loud adventures and first experiences of death and loss. Shortlisted for the Marsh Award for Children's Literature in Translation, Maria Parr's acclaimed debut novel will delight fans of Pippi Longstocking, and is simultaneously funny and hair-raising ... strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss (Book Trust). Nine-year-olds Trille and Lena are neighbours and best friends - at least, Trille thinks that Lena is his best friend, despite the escapades into which she regularly drags him. In the wonderful village of Mathildewick Cove they have plenty of time to re-enact the story of Noah's Ark (or Noah's Shark, as Lena calls it), enjoy the beginning of summer celebrations with their families and even advertise for a new dad for Lena. Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship.

Waffle Hearts Press Reviews

This book is simply a delight. Beautifully presented, it makes a great gift. * Fallen Star Stories * There is a smattering of Norwegian culture, which is interesting and lovely. Written in true Scandinavian style, this book is perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking. * OmniLibros * 'oy, fun and adventure tumble out of this book . . . it will make you laugh out loud, cry, hold your breath and sigh with relief * Books for Keeps * Simultaneously funny and hair-raising, these stories are beautifully crafted creating a subtly textured emotional world, strong in its sense of place and community, never shying away from the joys and difficulties of friendship, and profound loss. * Booktrust * Deals with the pain of bereavement and separation in a wonderfully warm, unsentimental way . . . it is the kind of book that a child will treasure . . . a real gem * The School Librarian * Meet Lena Lid, Norway s very own answer to Pippi Longstocking; a feisty, funny girl whose days are packed with offbeat adventures. . . Trille and Lena will make exciting companions for young readers as they share their fun-filled antics, as well as some important understandings of family and friendship * Beaufort Street Books * Fans of Pippi Longstocking will love Waffle Hearts . . . She has created a very special book; one that combines humour and the carefree innocence and antics of childhood that are full of fun and laughter. . . As well as the humour there is pathos too, particularly when Auntie Granny dies. Trille's deep sadness can be felt as he tries to understand and come to terms with her death. Parr approaches this loss with great compassion and understanding. A truly enchanting book that is sure to become a firm favourite with children * Outside/In World * Stuffed full of fun, innocence, naughtiness, passion . . . Maria Parr approaches death, loss and uncertainty with great compassion and understanding * Bookaroo * This really is a tremendous book, with everything I could hope for in a book to share with my children; beauty, wit, wisdom, joy, thoughtfulness and a lot of fun * playingbythebook.net * Perfect for fans of Pippi Longstocking . . . a heartbreaking, heartmaking, hilariously funny tale . . an honest, sensitive exploration of death, loss and grief . . . bold and brilliant. * playingbythebook.net *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406347906
Publication date: 2nd October 2014
Author: Maria Parr
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 240 pages

About Maria Parr

Maria Parr is a talented young Norwegian writer who has won the Brage Prize, the Critics' Award, the Zilveren Griffel and the Prix Sorcieres. She has a Master's degree in Nordic languages and literature and is a high school teacher. She lives in Norway. Guy Puzey grew up in the Highlands of Scotland, just a short swim away from Norway. He began translating Norwegian literature in 2006, having studied the language at the University of Edinburgh. In 2011 he went on to complete a doctorate on Italian and Norwegian language policy. He works at the University as a course organizer and researcher, ...

More About Maria Parr

More Books By Maria Parr

Cover for Astrid the Unstoppable by Maria Parr
View All Books By Maria Parr

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×