LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor Book 1

Written by Andy Riley

Part of the King Flashypants Series

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor Book 1 Synopsis

Edwin isn't an ordinary boy. He is a king, with a throne, and his own suit of armour and a castle with secret passages and everything. Every Friday, King Edwin spends all his money on chocolate for the peasants. But when the money runs out, Edwin finds himself in a fix. Cue the arrival of evil Emperor Nurbison, in his pointy-collared black cloak and accompanied by scary striding music. He has had his eye on Edwin's kingdom for a while and intends to use the peasants' unhappiness to his advantage! When the emperor builds a fake dragon out of a cow, green crepe paper, furry monster novelty slippers and two birthday cake candles, to scare the peasants, Edwin knows it's time to come up with the first sneaky plan he's ever had in his life ...

King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor Book 1 Press Reviews

...full of the most outrageous humour and brilliant detail. -- Andy Seed * Hatman Reads * The book is funny and fast paced. It's a dream to read alone or to share with children ... Brilliant for 7-12 year olds. Particularly recommended for boys and reluctant readers. * Making Them Readers * An insanely funny debut children's series from Emmy award-winning writer and cartoonist, Andy Riley * Aldershot News & Mail * Andy is a comic genius and we absolutely loved this, particularly loved the fact that Charlotte could dive to the back of the book and play Emperor Nurbison's evil striding music for herself on the piano... -- Phil May * Read it Daddy * From creating a new evil laugh to bottomless pits, the excellent variety of villainous friends, and a particularly vocal peasant girl called Natasha, there is lots to admire here. -- Clare Zinkin * Mill Hill Synagogue * An insanely funny debut -- Ros Collins * Surrey Advertiser, Aldershot News & Mail, Buckinghamshire Advertiser & Examiner * This book made me (and my sister) laugh out loud a lot [...] At the end of the book there is the music and lyrics for The Emperor's Striding Theme which I am learning to play because, like the book, it's really funny and everyone deserves a theme tune. I recommend this book to everyone because its fun, quirky and hilarious. -- Myth-hill * The Guardian Children's Books Young Reviewers * The funniest and most enjoyable book for this age group for quite some time. I even sang the song at the end. And apparently more to come in the series. I can't wait. -- Clare Zinkin * Minerva Reads * ...mountains of silliness, bags of inventiveness and lots of charm! -- Caroline Horn * Reading Zone * A laugh-out-loud series for fans of cows disguised as dragons. Parents beware, young readers will revel in recreating the Evil Emperor's scary striding music! * Little London Magazine * ...this slapstick tale is sure to appeal to those who love something a bit silly. The first book in an uproarious new series for confident young readers. -- Anna McKerrow * Booktrust * Features an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates * The Guardian * There are no libraries or books in King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor, written and drawn by Bunny Suicides author Andy Riley (Hachette), but this funny story does feature many other things that will appeal, especially to early and reluctant readers - not least an evil emperor with the silliest laugh and wacky illustrations. One for fans of Horrid Henry and Tom Gates. -- Michelle Pauli * The Guardian : Saturday Review * ...a brisk, bumptious read, full of preposterous names, surreal imagery and daft sound effects. -- James Lovegrove * Financial Times * With illustrations and hearty laughs on every page, this is sure to keep readers in stitches. -- Carrie Morris * The Best New Children's Books Guide *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444933604
Publication date: 14th July 2016
Author: Andy Riley
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: CD-Audio

About Andy Riley

Andy Riley is a highly successful cartoonist and comedy scriptwriter. TV writing credits include HBO's Veep, Gangsta Granny, Robbie the Reindeer, Little Britain and Black Books. Film credits include The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists and Gnomeo and Juliet. His bestselling books include The Bunny Suicides series.

More About Andy Riley

More Books By Andy Riley

Cover for King Flashypants and the Dolls of Doom Book 3 by Andy Riley
Cover for King Flashypants and the Creature from Crong by Andy Riley
Cover for King Flashypants and the Evil Emperor by Andy Riley
View All Books By Andy Riley

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×