Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Story Orchestra: Four Seasons in One Day Press the note to hear Vivaldi's music

Written by Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Illustrated by Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Part of the The Story Orchestra Series

The Story Orchestra: Four Seasons in One Day Press the note to hear Vivaldi's music Synopsis

Discover what it would be like to travel through the four seasons in one day in this musical story based on the classical masterpiece The Four Seasons - push the button in each breathtaking scene to hear the vivid sound of an orchestra playing from Vivaldi's score. Follow a little girl called Isabelle and her dog, Pickle, as they take on the adventure of a lifetime. As a sign of the changing seasons, Isabelle carries a little apple tree with her, and we see it bud, blossom and lose its leaves. As you and your little one journey through the vibrant scenes illustrated by artist Jessica Courtney-Tickle, you will press the buttons to hear 10 excerpts from The Four Seasons violin concerti. At the back of the book, find a short biography of the composer, Antonio Vivaldi, with details about his composition of The Four Seasons. Next to this, you can replay the musical excerpts and, for each of them, read a discussion of the instruments, rhythms and musical techniques that make them so powerful. A glossary defines musical terms. The Story Orchestra series brings classical music to life for children through gorgeously illustrated retellings of classic ballet and program music stories paired with 10-second sound clips of orchestras playing from their musical scores. Manufacturer's note: please pull the white tab out of the back of the book before use. Sound buttons require a firm push in exact location to work, which may be hard for young children. All sound clips are 10 seconds long. The perfect primer to introduce children to classical music.

The Story Orchestra: Four Seasons in One Day Press the note to hear Vivaldi's music Press Reviews

...a sprightly introduction to program music and also to one of its greatest exemplars. * Kirkus Reviews *

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847808776
Publication date: 28th September 2016
Author: Jessica Courtney-Tickle
Illustrator: Jessica Courtney-Tickle
Publisher: Frances Lincoln Childrens Books an imprint of Frances Lincoln Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 24 pages

About Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Jessica Courtney-Tickle is an illustrator who graduated from Kingston University in July 2014. Her absolute favourite thing to draw or paint is nature, finding a focus on foliage of any kind as well as children's stories about adventure and exploration. She also has a penchant for drawing theatre from music makers to dancers and even singing animals. Jessica is most influenced by vintage picture books, travel posters and folk art as well as numerous painters and printmakers.

More About Jessica Courtney-Tickle

More Books By Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Cover for The Nutcracker by Jessica Courtney-Tickle
Cover for The Unexpected Visitor by Jessica Courtney-Tickle
View All Books By Jessica Courtney-Tickle

Share this book