Featured Books for Young AdultsFeatured Books for Young Adult readers

Especially compiled for Young Adults, this section is awash with wonderful worlds to escape to, great stories and characters you’ll love. Please note that some of these books have more adult content and are generally suitable for 16+ readers.

Books of the Month

The Universe Is Expanding and So Am I
Carolyn Mackler
September 2018 Book of the Month | In a Nutshell: love, trust, truth, and being true to yourself | This engaging and refreshingly candid sequel to the bestselling The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things tackles big issues... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 09/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

True Sisters
Keren David
September 2018 Book of the Month | Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Fresh starts | Friendship | Foster family | An uplifting, authentically-voiced novella about finding your way from a bestselling YA author, and a... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Other Featured Books this Month

KILLER T
Robert Muchamore
From the creator of the mega-selling Cherub series comes the author's first foray into standalone fiction, a killer-concept, Vegas-set page-turner in which a virus threatens to wipe out humanity. Fourteen-year-old Brit boy Harry is a something of a fish... Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 06/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Philip Pullman
Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2018 | Author of the Year, British Book Awards 2018 | More than two decades after Northern Lights the first book of... Featured in: 11+ readers | 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback / softback | Released 06/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

Dark Tracks
Philippa Gregory
In a Nutshell: Drive Out the Devil Dancers Menace, madness and medieval adventure abound in this thrilling fourth volume of the atmospheric Order of Darkness series by a doyenne of historical fiction. Luca Vero belongs to the Order of Darkness... Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Lost Witch
Melvin Burgess
In a nutshell: contemporary teenage life and the supernatural combined in a dark tale of freedom and coercion | On the surface, this is a story about a girl who discovers she's a witch, in a world where that is... Featured in: YA readers
Format: Hardback | Released 02/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Long Way Down
Jason Reynolds
Pressed our lips to the pavement and prayed the boom, followed by the buzz of a bullet, didn't meet us. After Will's brother is shot in a gang crime, he knows the next steps. Only when the lift door opens,... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 02/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

And the Ocean Was Our Sky
Patrick Ness
From the multi-award-winning author of A Monster Calls comes a haunting tale of power and obsession that turns the story of Moby Dick upside down. Featured in: YA readers | 13+ readers
Format: Hardback | Released 01/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

The Earth, My Butt, and Other Big Round Things
Carolyn Mackler
Fifteen-year-old Virginia feels like a fat, awkward outsider in her perfect family, especially next to her golden-boy big brother Byron. She's got a lot to deal with - her weight, her best friend moving away, the mean girls at school... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 05/04/2018
Info Extract Buy

Dogchild
Kevin Brooks
Jeet was raised by a pack of wild dogs. Recaptured and `rehumanised', Jeet now lives with the last of his people in an ancient walled town in the vast expanse of the Deathlands, besieged by a much larger enemy clan.... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 31/10/2017
Info Extract Buy

Stay A Little Longer
Bali Rai
Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Grief, grit and the glow of friendship | A heartfelt, hard-hitting, super-readable novella about the life-affirming, life-saving friendship that blossoms between a young teenager and her 59 year-old neighbour. All sweet-hearted Aman wanted was... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 15/09/2018
Info Extract Buy

Firebird
Elizabeth Wein
Interest Age Teen Reading Age 8 | In a Nutshell: Soviet girl-pilot powers through WW2 | A super-readable page-turner spiced with absorbing historical detail, and shot-through with the vitality of an unforgettable heroine. Spearheaded by the author's research into Soviet... Featured in: 13+ readers | YA readers
Format: Paperback | Released 23/08/2018
Info Extract Buy

Last Month's Featured Books

We See Everything
William Sutcliffe
Set in a frightening future version of London in which the lives of two teenage boys cruelly collide in a divided city, this gripping page-turner has pertinent contemporary resonance, and...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed The Distance Between Me and the Cherry Tree
Paola Peretti
August 2018 Book of the Month | In a Nutshell: Tender tale of darkness, loss, light and hope for all ages | “All children are afraid of the dark,” says...
Extract Buy

Open Your Mind
Gemma Cairney
In a Nutshell: Clued-up, compassionately honest guide to living your best life. This supportive swoosh of fresh air from a former Radio 1 Agony Aunt and all-round brilliant believer in...
Extract Buy

Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?
Holly Bourne
In a Nutshell: Mental health | Making friends | Making the world more compassionate | This seminal exploration of mental health begins with an explosion. Olive is on the edge,...
Extract Buy

Only Love Can Break Your Heart
Katherine Webber
In a nutshell: love, family and finding yourself Katherine Webber's story is set in Palm Springs the desert landscape beloved of her central character Reiko and on-off boyfriend Seth providing...
Extract Buy

Small Spaces
Sarah Epstein
August 2018 Debut of the Month | In a nutshell: creepy YA psychological thriller Sarah Epstein's well-crafted psychological thriller will keep readers on their toes, and nervously checking over their...
Extract Buy

More Featured Books

Reader Reviewed We Come Apart
Sarah Crossan, Brian Conaghan
Winner of the UKLA 2018 Book Award | 12-16 January 2018 Book of the Month | In a nutshell: unputdownable story, beautifully told | Sarah Crossan and Brian Conaghan...
Extract Buy

Save the Date
Morgan Matson
In a Nutshell: Sibling wedding rings the bells of change Everyone loves a wedding, right? Especially when you're Charlie and your beloved big sister is about to get hitched with...
Extract Buy

Open Road Summer
Emery Lord
In a Nutshell: Road-trip, romance, fame and friendship Surely one for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, this smart coming-of-age story reels with romance, life lessons and...
Extract Buy

Little Liar
Julia Gray
In a nutshell: YA psychological thriller, as twisty as they come | This story begins in a spiritual retreat. 17 year old Nora is there to recover from an accident...
Extract Buy

The Brink of Darkness
Jeff Giles
In a nutshell: passionate love story continues – in hell | Zoe and X are soulmates, even though she's a 21st century teenager and he's a bounty hunter from the...
Extract Buy

A Sky Painted Gold
Laura Wood
In a Nutshell: Glorious Gatsby-esque summer of champagne and Cinderella-scale change | As elegant and energising as a flute of fine champagne, this enchanting novel sees 17-year-old Cornish farmer's daughter...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed The Truth About Lies
Tracy Darnton
July 2018 Debut of the Month | In a Nutshell: Mystery, memory, manipulation | A feisty thriller that fizzes with intrigue, paranoia and a cast of fascinatingly flawed characters. For...
Extract Buy

Reader Reviewed Moonrise
Sarah Crossan
July 2018 Book of the Month | Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2018 | Shortlisted for the Centre for Literacy in Primary Poetry Award 2018 | One of Our Books of...
Extract Buy

The Survival Game
Nicky Singer
In a world full of checkpoints and controls, can love and hope defy the borders? A searing, timely story, as arresting as it is beautiful.
Extract Buy

Floored
Sara Barnard, Holly Bourne, Tanya Byrne, Non Pratt
In a Nutshell: Seminal seven-authored feast of fate, friendship and growing up This sparky collaborative novel by a glorious gaggle of top YA authors (Sara Barnard, Holly Bourne, Tanya...
Extract Buy

Everything All at Once
Steven Camden
In a Nutshell: Pitch-perfect, vibrantly-voiced verse for secondary school studentsThese poignant, punch-packing poems explore the varied emotional lives of secondary school pupils facing the giddy transition from being...
Extract Buy

Neverworld Wake
Marisha Pessl
In a Nutshell: Chilling Groundhog Day mystery | This smart sci-fi-infused thriller sees a group of friends faced with having to make the mother of all life and death decisions....
Extract Buy

Share this page

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

This company is amazing; not only is it is a great opportunity to get books and review them but everyone is so friendly and supportive!

Jemma Rubens, age 10

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

The teenage years are such a vibrant and vivid time in your life. Adventure, friendships, self-discovery are all there in spades, but there’s frustration too, impatience and a strong desire to be understood.

This section of fantastic books for teens and young adult readers is filled with stories that reflect all of these feelings in settings that will give flight to your imagination. Be inspired by tales of self-discovery, run the rocky road of first romance, battle big issues in mysterious worlds, beat the bleak future of dystopian regimes, or laugh out loud at the ridiculousness of it all. There’s something here for all tastes and moods from half-god heroes to horseback holidays and literally everything in between.

You can download a free Opening Extract of each book, usually about the first chapter. Read it on your screen, or print it off and enjoy anywhere. We give you enough of a book to see whether it’s your sort of thing.


Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****