LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Oliver Jeffers - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

Oliver Jeffers has won numerous awards and delighted millions of kids and parents alike with his beautifully hand illustrated stories. 

Jeffers's picture books are wonderfully accessible. They explore themes of friendship, loneliness, independence and imagination. He has written and illustrated, or "made", as he prefers to put it, five hugely successful picture books. The first three - the "boy books" - feature a small boy who sets off on a series of daunting quests. How to Catch a Star (2004), the first of them, was inspired by a Brer Rabbit story he read as a child. In Lost and Found (2005) the boy heroically rows to the south pole for the sake of an unhappy penguin, and in The Way Back Home (2007) he rescues a young Martian whose spaceship has crashed on the moon.

The Heart and the Bottle is wholly compelling for the importance of its message and the brilliance of how that is conveyed in words and pictures. This is a book to return to time and time again says Julia Eccleshare, Lovereading4kids’ editorial expert.

Oliver Jeffers

Jeffers was born in Australia in 1977 and brought up in Belfast. He studied visual communication at the University of Ulster, and graduated in 2001. Jeffers became passionate about making picture books when he began to understand the subtle relationship between words and pictures – ‘that was what excited me. Until I got really involved, I hadn't realised how just a few words can totally change the meaning of a picture.’ Now living in New York, he works as a painter, designer, printmaker and installation artist, but remains very busy making picture books.

Did you know?

Oliver loves plastic food, suitcase handles and Elvis, and has developed a bizarre habit of endlessly writing lists he never reads. He remains hell bent on travelling all over the world.

You can see Oliver talking about his artwork in this video:

We have a super set of Oliver Jeffers activity pages to download :

Once Upon an Alphabet colouring in.

The Day the Crayons Came Home maze.

Incredible Book-eating Boy wordsearch.

Stuck wordsearch.

Featured books by Oliver Jeffers

Other books by Oliver Jeffers

The Crayons Trick or Treat

The Crayons Trick or Treat

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/09/2022

The hilarious crayons from the #1 New York Times bestselling The Day The Crayons Quit are ready to celebrate Halloween! The Crayons want to go trick-or-treating, but they're not sure what to say! In this humorous Halloween story, Purple Crayon teaches the rest of the box the magic words to say when they ring their neighbours' doorbells. (Hint: It's NOT Boo! )

The Crayons Trick or Treat

The Crayons Trick or Treat

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/09/2022

The hilarious crayons from the #1 New York Times bestselling The Day The Crayons Quit are ready to celebrate Halloween! The Crayons want to go trick-or-treating, but they're not sure what to say! In this humorous Halloween story, Purple Crayon teaches the rest of the box the magic words to say when they ring their neighbours' doorbells. (Hint: It's NOT Boo! )

The Crayons' Colour Collection

The Crayons' Colour Collection

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Board book Release Date: 04/08/2022

A fun box set of four board book adventures starring Red, Blue, Green, and Purple Crayons, perfect for the youngest readers! This collection of four fun board books about Red, Blue, Green and Purple Crayons introduces very young readers to the crayon characters from the internationally bestselling The Day the Crayons Quit, showing how much fun it is to colour and to use your imagination!

The Crayons' Book of Feelings

The Crayons' Book of Feelings

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Board book Release Date: 01/07/2022

The crayons are back in this board book all about feelings from the creators of the #1 New York Times bestselling The Day Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home! Everyone knows the crayons love to colour, but did you know that crayons have feelings too? Sometimes they are happy and sometimes they feel downright blue. From the creative minds behind The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home, comes a fun board book to help young readers understand and express their feelings.

The Crayons' Book of Numbers

The Crayons' Book of Numbers

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Board book Release Date: 26/05/2022

Learning to count is fun in this entertaining book of numbers from the creators of the #1 New York Times Bestsellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home. Poor Duncan! His favourite colours have gone missing. Can you help find them for him and count along the way? From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home comes a colourful board book introducing young readers to numbers.

Green is for Christmas

Green is for Christmas

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/11/2021

The crayons are back in this funny, festive book from the creators of the #1 New York Times bestselling The Day Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home! In this Christmas story starring the crayons from The Day The Crayons Quit, Green Crayon is certain that he is the only Christmas colour in the box. Of course, Red, White, Silver and even Brown have something to say about that... When Green Crayon claims that green is the only colour for Christmas, other crayons let him know that there would be no Christmas without them either. No candy canes or Santa without Red, no snow without White, no bells or stars without Silver and no cookies or reindeer without Brown! The crayons agree that they all need to come together to make Christmas special! This humorous Christmas story is the perfect stocking filler for fans of The Day The Crayons Quit.

The Crayons' Book of Colours

The Crayons' Book of Colours

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Board book Release Date: 05/08/2021

Learning colours is fun in this entertaining book from the creators of the #1 New York Times Bestsellers, The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home. It's Duncan's birthday, and the crayons all want to make him a card! With their fun and quirky illustrations of fire engines, dragons, even wheat, the creative crayons each have something special to contribute. But when they come together, they can create a truly spectactular celebration! From the creative minds behind the The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home comes a colourful board book introducing young readers to numbers.

The Crayons' Christmas

The Crayons' Christmas

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/10/2019

A brand-new Crayons book from the #1 New York Times best-selling duo Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers. This hilarious interactive book has letters, games, ornaments, a poster and even a pop-up Christmas tree - perfect for the festive season! 'Tis the season for all of us to write our Christmas wish lists. But everyone knows - even the Crayons - that the best presents are the ones that you give. In this unique book, readers join in as Duncan, the Crayons and their families celebrate the festive season. With real, folded letters to pull from their envelopes and read, games, press-out ornaments, a poster and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home.

A Child of Books

A Child of Books

Author: Sam Winston, Oliver Jeffers Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers, Sam Winston Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Winner of the prestigious international Bologna Ragazzi Award for Fiction 2017 A gorgeous homage to the power of the written word Guardian A fresh and fascinating collaboration between two gifted masters The New York Times In this inspiring, lyrical tale about the rewards of reading and sharing stories, a little girl sails her raft across a sea of words to arrive at the house of a small boy. There she invites him to come away with her on an adventure. Through forests of fairy tales and across mountains of make-believe, the two travel together on a fantastical journey that unlocks the boy's imagination. Now a lifetime of magic lies ahead of him... But who will be next?

The Day the Crayons Quit

The Day the Crayons Quit

Author: Drew Daywalt Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/06/2013

The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket

The Terrible Thing That Happened to Barnaby Brocket

Author: John Boyne Illustrator: Oliver Jeffers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/03/2013

There's nothing unusual about the Brockets. Normal, respectable and proud of it, they turn up their noses at anyone different. But from the moment Barnaby Brocket comes into the world, it's clear he's anything but ordinary. To his parents' horror, Barnaby defies the laws of gravity - and floats. Barnaby tries to keep both feet on the ground, but he just can't do it. One fateful day, the Brockets decide enough is enough. They never asked for a weird, abnormal, floating child. Barnaby has to go...Betrayed, frightened and alone, Barnaby floats into the path of a very special hot air balloon - and so begins a magical journey around the world, with a cast of extraordinary new friends.

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

http://www.oliverjeffers.com/

Illustrator's Facebook

Find Oliver Jeffers on Facebook
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×