LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Julia Sarda - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

Júlia Sardà is an illustrator from Barcelona. Júlia has illustrated some incredible debut fiction and everlasting classics, including Katherine Woodfine’s The Sinclair’s Mysteries and the cover to M.G. Leonard’s Beetle Boy. The Liszts is Júlia’s debut picture book.

Featured books by Julia Sarda

Other books by Julia Sarda

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Author: Lewis Carroll Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

An elegant edition of one of the best-loved stories in children's literature, complete and unabridged with over thirty full colour illustrations from Julia Sarda - illustrator of Beetle Boy and The Clockwork Sparrow. Julia's hauntingly magical pictures breathe new life into the famous tale of a bored little girl who finds herself falling into a world of bizarre creatures and whimsical riddles. This short-haired brunette in her white dress is true to the appearance of the real-life Alice who inspired the book. A gorgeous piece of art to treasure with shining embossed gold details on the cover, Julia Sarda's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland will make the perfect present for devoted Alice fans, as well as a wonderful introduction to anyone not already familiar with the story. It also makes a splendid follow-up to One Day in Wonderland, a non-fiction exploration of Lewis Carroll's life and wordplay written by Kathleen Krull and illustrated by Julia Sarda.

One Day in Wonderland A Celebration of Lewis Carroll's Alice

One Day in Wonderland A Celebration of Lewis Carroll's Alice

Author: Kathleen Krull Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2020

A joyful, playful celebration of Lewis Carroll's love of language combined with an introduction to his life and the origin of Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, exquisitely illustrated by Julia Sarda. The wordsmith Lewis Carroll is famed for the freewheeling world of Wonderland in his beloved classics Alice's Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. In this gloriously illustrated book, Carroll's childlike love of life is showcased alongside his brilliance at creating and adapting playful words and phrases. From brillig and uglification to frumious and chortle, the award-winning author Kathleen Krull uses many of Carroll's own words to tell the story of a man who wanted to make children laugh and whose legacy continues to entertain and delight. There is a glossary of Carroll's invented words at the back of the book. Julia Sarda's striking illustrations offer an interpretation of Lewis Carroll's work that is faithful to the spirit of his writing and the look of the real life Alice. Packed with rich and surprising details, Julia's artwork makes this a stunning book to treasure. Fans will enjoy the complete and unabridged edition of Alice's Adventures of Wonderland with gorgeous colour illustrations by Julia Sarda throughout, also published by Two Hoots. One Day in Wonderland is the perfect gift for all fans of Alice, young and old.

Duckworth, the Difficult Child

Duckworth, the Difficult Child

Author: Michael Sussman Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Hardback Release Date: 11/07/2019

Duckworth's parents think he is a difficult child, so when a snake slides right up and swallows him whole, his parents don't believe him! What's poor Duckworth to do? Duckworth is a difficult child. At least that's what his parents think. So when Duckworth tries to explain that a gigantic snake slithered out of his closet, his parents insist it's all in his head-he is far too old to be imagining such nonsense. (And will he please do his chores?) But even when the cobra slides right up and swallows Duckworth whole, his parents remain unconvinced! (Where did he find that snake costume, and will he please put it away?) What's poor Duckworth to do when his parents just won't listen? With nods to the deliciously dark humor of Edward Gorey, Florence Parry Heide, and Jon Klassen, Michael Sussman and Julia Sarda empathize with children everywhere who must find ways to deal with their difficult parents.

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

Author: Lewis Carroll Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/06/2019

An elegant edition of one of the best-loved stories in children's literature, complete and unabridged with over 30 full colour illustrations from Julia Sarda - illustrator of Beetle Boy and The Clockwork Sparrow. Julia's hauntingly magical pictures breathe new life into the famous tale of a bored little girl who finds herself falling into a world of bizarre creatures and whimsical riddles. This short-haired brunette in her white dress is true to the appearance of the real-life Alice who inspired the book. A gorgeous piece of art to treasure with shining embossed gold details on the cover, Julia Sarda's Alice's Adventures in Wonderland will make the perfect present for devoted Alice fans, as well as a wonderful introduction to anyone not already familiar with the story. It also makes a splendid follow-up to One Day in Wonderland, a non-fiction exploration of Lewis Carroll's life and wordplay written by Kathleen Krull and illustrated by Julia Sarda.

Mary and Frankenstein The true story of Mary Shelley

Mary and Frankenstein The true story of Mary Shelley

Author: Linda Bailey Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

It began with a girl named Mary. She liked to daydream and imagine. And she grew up to write Frankenstein. The inspirational true story of the great writer Mary Shelley, brought to life for children in this stunning picture book by multi-award winning author Linda Bailey and with beautiful illustrations from Julia Sarda. Mary loves stories, but the stories in her daydreams are far more thrilling than those in any book. After a troubled childhood, eighteen-year-old Mary runs away to Switzerland with the famous poet Percy Bysse Shelley, her step-sister in tow. One dark and stormy night at his house by the lake, they huddle around the fire, telling ghost stories. But Mary can imagine better than those! After learning about electricity that can make dead frogs twitch, she has a nightmare that triggers the birth of one of the greatest scary stories of all time: Frankenstein... A perfect read for the very youngest aspiring writers, and for fans of Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell's The Sleeper and the Spindle. Praise for the illustrator: Julia Sarda's illustrations are dark, dream-like, detailed THE TIMES

Sweep

Sweep

Author: Louise Greig Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/08/2018

NOMINATED FOR THE KATE GREENAWAY MEDAL 2019 An uplifting story about confronting big emotions from the author of The Night Box, stunningly illustrated by Julia Sarda. Ed's bad mood begins as something really small, hardly a thing at all. But before long it grows, gathers pace, and spreads through the whole town. Can Ed sweep his troubles away? A wonderful bedtime story for children aged 3 years and up, perfect for helping children learn to recognise and deal with big emotions. Louise Greig is an award-winning poet and a children's picture book author with a unique, lyrical voice. Her childhood was filled with animals, the poems of Robert Louis Stevenson and picture books by iconic children's writers such as Margaret Wise Brown, Charlotte Zolotow, Ruth Krauss, Maurice Sendak, Astrid Lindgren and Tove Jansson. Her debut picture book for Egmont, The Night Box, has been translated into 10 languages and has been nominated for the 2018 Kate Greenaway Medal and shortlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize, the Waterstones Children's Book Prize, the Association of Illustrators Awards (AOI) and the Teach Primary Book Awards. Louise lives in Aberdeen and when not writing is a director of a dog rescue and re-homing organisation. The wild solitude of Scotland and the beauty of nature remain strong influences in her life. Julia Sarda is an illustrator from Barcelona. After her studies, Julia started working as colorist in a studio which made the editorial merchandising for Disney/Pixar and then moved on to freelancing two years later. Ranging from concept art for video games, to children's illustration, Julia has had the chance to illustrate some everlasting classics such as: Alice in Wonderland, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

The Liszts

The Liszts

Author: Kyo Maclear Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/07/2018

Mama Liszt, Papa Liszt, Winifred, Edward, Frederick and Grandpa Liszt make lists all day long. So does their cat. Then one day a visitor arrives. He's not on anyone's list. Will the Liszts be able to make room on their lists for this new visitor? What will they do when something unexpected happens? Kyo Maclear's quirky, whimsical story is perfectly brought to life with the witty, stunning illustrations of debut picture book artist Julia Sarda. Discover this humorous, poignant and unforgettable celebration of spontaneity.

Sgubo / Sweep

Sgubo / Sweep

Author: Louise Greig Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/06/2018

Rose Campion and the Stolen Secret

Rose Campion and the Stolen Secret

Author: Lyn Gardner Illustrator: Julia Sarda Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/04/2016

Rose was left by her mother at the door of Campion's Palace of Variety and Wonders as a baby. It is her home, and she loves it, but she never stops wondering who she really is. When murder threatens to destroy the music hall, Rose will need all her performance skills to crack the crime and delve into a murky past of blackmail, subterfuge and abduction...

Illustrator Info

Illustrator's Website

http://www.juliasarda.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×