LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal Reader Reviews

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal

Lily O’Dwyer

The book was very good and I highly recommend although I would read this book after the whole Diary of a Wimpy Kid series.

I am in the middle of reading the Wimpy Kid series at the moment and I’ve got to say this is probably one of the best so far. This book taught me that friends do fight and sometimes don’t get along but you will always make up in the end. And your friends always have to be in your life no matter what.
It was very easy to read due to the pictures and creative writing that made you want to read more. For me, this book is a ten out of ten.

Buddug Griffith

I loved reading about Rowley and how he was supposed to be writing about Greg but ended up writing about himself! Hilariously funny - I can't wait to read more about Rowley's adventures.

I love the 'Wimpy Kid' series and have read all of them (like most children) so I was really excited to learn that Jeff Kinney had written a new book, and even more excited when I found out that it wasn't about Greg but his best friend Rowley Jefferson.

The story is about how Rowley is supposed to be writing Greg's biography but ends up writing more about himself than Greg. You learn a lot about Rowley in this book (obviously) and it's as funny as the 'Wimpy Kid' books - it's hilarious! It would help if you have read one of the 'Wimpy Kid' books before reading this to know the story but it doesn't really matter if you haven't.

Part of the book is the same as the World Book Day short story 'The Story of Greg Heffley's Best Friend', but it's not a problem if you haven't got it. Even if you have, you will want to read this book to find out everything that happens to Rowley. I can't wait to read more about Rowley's adventures and I give it 11 out of 10!

Aidan Jones

Funny, interesting and more-ish! Rowley Jefferson is awesome!

This book was about a boy named Rowley. He has a best friend named Greg. Sometimes Greg gets on Rowley's nerves, but they are still best friends. They like going on adventures together and having sleepovers. I loved that I was reading Rowley's diary, it made it more fun to read and the pictures were really awesome and funny. I like Rowley because he's really kind and thoughtful. Greg can be a bit mean sometimes and doesn't listen to Rowley's ideas. I'd like to be friends with Rowley and we could play superheroes together! I liked all of this book because it was interesting and fun to read. I couldn't stop reading because I really wanted to know what happened next! I think everyone will love this book! 5/5! Awesome!

Sarah - Mum: Aidan has never read any of the Wimpy Kid books but this didn't matter at all. He will definitely be looking out for them now though! Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney or newcomers to his work. Aidan was completely engrossed!

Elissa Watkin

This was one of the 1st books that my daughter had read fully on her own. Elissa loved the story and cant wait to read more. Its a great book for younger readers and they will love it.

This is the first Dairy of a Wimpy Kid book that I have ever read and I loved it soooooo much.

The character Rowley is very funny and I enjoyed reading his dairy. I read the story all on my own and laughed at lots of bits. I cant wait for the next one.

Prisha Yadav

Fantastic book with loads of pranks and funny adventures.

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid is an amazing book full of illustrations as it is a biography of Greg written by Greg's best friend Rowley. I really like how the author had made the biography fun by adding both embarrassing and adventurous moments of friendship between Greg and Rowley. It was interesting to read when Rowley started writing the book for himself but his friend got really mad saying Rowley was stealing his idea. Then Later on Rowley changed it to his friend Greg's biography.

This book is interesting as it has really good adventures and pranks that Rowley and his friend Greg had enjoyed. I enjoyed reading this book and would like to recommend this to all young kids.

https://prishayadav.blogspot.com/2019/04/diary-of-awesome-friendly-kid-rowley_22.html

Michael Dovey

This is a great addition to Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid books - everyone who knows Greg & Rowley will want to find out more about the Awesome Friendly Kid!

If you’ve read any of the other Wimpy Kid books, you’ll know that they are about Greg Heffley – but this book is about Rowley, what his life is like and the way he thinks about things. It also makes you think about Greg too. Rowley and Greg are the two main characters in this book. They are best friends and are both in middle school. They are sometimes in the same class and live a few blocks apart on the same street.

I think this book is aimed at children aged 7-11 years old.

There are two sides to every story as this book proves. You learn more about Rowley and Greg with every sentence. It was funny when Greg did something that made Rowley spent the next half an hour researching it on his dad’s laptop; read the book to find out more!

Kinney’s book is unique because it has little cartoons right from the start. Also, it has not one but two bookmarks at the back which is handy. The font is cool because it looks like it’s been handwritten. All the sub-headings like “The time I…” make you feel like you’re getting into Rowley’s memories.

This book is excellent because of how it is written and also the fact that it makes you feel like you know more about the real relationship between the Wimpy Kid and the Awesome Friendly Kid.

Luke Revett

This was a brilliant book. It made me laugh (a lot). I would recommend it if you enjoy chuckling.

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid is a funny, exciting and enjoyable book. Rowley Jeffersen made me laugh because he was always trying to be good but his friend, Greg is the opposite and gets himself into oodles of trouble. He is also very manipulative and manages to get Rowley to do what he wants, in fact he is not a very good friend (don't tell Greg I said that!).

The best part involves a force field and some great humour. I laughed a lot when I read the book and would recommend it because it is fun. I would definitely read it again.

Gene Macaulay

This is the best book I've read.

This book is about Rowley Jefferson. He is best friends with Greg - The Wimpy Kid. This is called a Spinoff.

Rowley has written his own story of life in middle-school- but he's also agreed to play the role of biographer for Greg along the way. (After all, one day Greg will be rich and famous, and everyone will need to know his life's story.) But, it will soon become clear that Rowley is a poor choice for the job, and Greg's biography is less a future masterpiece, and more a hilarious mess.

This book is really good. There were a few scary bits, and lots of parts when I laughed out loud. I've never read a Wimpy Kid Book. I don't think it matters if you haven't but it may help you to have known the characters beforehand. I've now started the series from the beginning.

This is the best book I've read.

Harrison

A very funny book where you find out more about Greg Heffley and his friend Rowley Jefferson. Fantastic for fans of Wimpy Kid everywhere! Five stars out of Five.

This book was really good. I liked it because it is really funny and quite mysterious. There was a lot of bad stuff and good stuff that happened to Rowley. This book is written by Rowley who is Greg Heffley's (The Wimpy Kid) best friend.

We learn a lot about Greg and it is not all good. Sometimes Greg is nice to Rowley but other times he is mean to him. But Greg always sticks up for Rowley when it matters. Rowley draws pictures just like the ones in Wimpy Kid except that he draws people without noses, which annoys Greg, but otherwise the books look the same. If you like Wimpy Kid books you will like this one because it will make you laugh a lot.

Two thumbs up and five stars out of five.

Teddy Simmons

I really enjoyed reading this book! You have to give it a try!

This book is fantastic! I would like to read more kinds of these books, they still have Greg & Rowley in.

Amy-Lee Parkinson

Move over Wimpy Kid, There's a new kid on the block and it's a laugh-out-loud read that all the kids (both young and old) will want to get their hands on!

Move over Wimpy Kid, There's a new kid on the block and it's a laugh out loud read that all the kids (both young and old) will want to get their hands on!

I read this in an afternoon, it's easy to pick up and put down..... not that you'd want to! I like how it's written on lined paper, kind of like a school book. I love the doodles on the pages, this makes for fun reading.

A funny read that I hope Jeff continues with!

www.ocbminireviewers.wordpress.com

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241405604
Publication date: 9th April 2019
Author: Jeff Kinney
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 224 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Humorous
Other Categories: Books of the Month, Reviewed by Children, Summer Reading
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×