LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Secret Suffragette Reader Reviews

Secret Suffragette

Seren Daly

This book is a blend of history and fun fiction which is really enjoyable.

Secret Suffragette is about a 12 year old called Daisy. She dreams of following in the footsteps of her hero Florence Nightingale and becoming a nurse. Unfortunately it seems that her dream will not come true, as her father wants her to leave school and start work. But then she meets the suffragettes and realises that maybe her dream can come true. But being a suffragette is dangerous and she risks her life every time she hits the street. I really enjoyed reading this book Daisy has a great character and it has a great story line. I recommend it for 10+.

Mira Ruby Lalji

A 5/5 book, my favourite character was Sylvia Pankhurst because, even after being in jail and ill from it, she still spoke at a suffragette event. I love Secret Suffragette!!!!

Secret Suffragette is a very enjoyable book for fans of Hetty Feather and Goodnight Stories For Rebel Girls. Daisy is a young girl living in the east end of London, her family does not have many luxuries and might have to take her away from school so that she can work in the factory. She is distraught! How can she be a nurse, like her role model Florence Nightingale, without going to school? But then Daisy and her mother meet the suffragettes... and she realizes that she can be anything she wants, she just has to fight for it! Being a suffragette is risky, and she must risk getting in trouble with her father, who believes that a suitable place for a woman is at home. Five out of five!!!!!! Totally recommended for history lovers aged nine to eleven.

Raspberry Yow-Fairs

My favourite part of the book was when Daisy went up the monument to commemorate the Great Fire of London, to throw flyers from the top.

The book, Secret Suffragette, is about a twelve-year-old girl called Daisy. She wants to be a nurse. Then she joins the suffragettes to try and achieve her dream. I really liked this book because of the fact that there are references to real people (eg. Sylvia Pankhurst, Florence Nightingale). My favourite part of the book was when Daisy went up the monument to commemorate the Great Fire of London, to throw flyers from the top. I would recommend this book to people who are interested in suffragettes.

Anya Fuller

This is the kind of book that you remember forever, that inspires you to follow your dreams, to be brave and caring, and to stand for what’s right!

This book is about a girl called Daisy who wants to be a nurse, but women are not easily accepted into that kind of role. When she hears about the suffragettes she wants to become one, but her father is strongly against them, and when her mother loses her job standing up for another woman, their home becomes the worst place to be…
Secret Suffragette was an AMAZING book. It has one of those characters that you can really relate to! Daisy was brave, caring, persevering and everything a good, inspiring character should be. She followed her dreams and despite many setbacks, never gave up.
The plot is great! There are so many twists and turns in the story that it is a struggle to put down because you always want to know what is going to happen next. The ending was a bit abrupt in my opinion, and the story could have gone on for a chapter or two longer to tie up any loose ends and go into more detail on the ending.
Overall, I loved this book! I would recommend it to age 10+. This book is great for girls with big dreams because Daisy is so inspiring and the story gives you power to do anything you want to do! I think I will have to read some more work by Barbara Mitchelhill after this because they are just so good!
I would DEFINITELY recommend this book, so read it!

Darya Abdian

Secret suffragette was a heart warming story about a girl called Daisy whose dream is to be a nurse like her heroine Florence Nightingale. Will she succeed in her dreams or will she fail? I highly recommend for to read it.

Daisy goes through a tough life being poor and her parents constantly arguing. When she just begins to have no hope in her fateful life she discovers the suffragettes they hire her to help them with their secretive job. She takes risks and challenges herself to dangerous tasks to help the suffragettes not to be discovered. Daisy meets lots and lots of suffragettes that become her friends. Her mum joins in with the votes for woman, on the other hand her dad doesn't really like this idea. Will her parents get back together again and will she keep the suffragettes a secret?

Sue Wilsher

Life is hard for a girl like Daisy, but the suffragette cause might offer her a better future. Skilful writing and colourful characters make this a compelling, enjoyable read.

Growing up in London's East End in 1912, twelve-year old Daisy O'Doyle dreams of being a nurse like her heroine, Florence Nightingale. But life is hard for a girl like Daisy: often in trouble at school for being clever, having to help her mother look after the babies and constantly aware of her family's need for money, she is worried she will have to leave school to work long hours for little pay. When she meets some suffragettes, she is inspired to support them and their cause. However, being a suffragette is dangerous and she must decide whether to go against her father, the neighbours and the police if she is to join them and fight for a better future.

Full of historical detail, 'Secret Suffragette' is a very engaging book which explores the realities of life for women in the early 1900s and the very limited options available to someone in Daisy's position. Her family- although loving- is dominated by the commands of her father who expects to be obeyed without question. The harsh working and living conditions, social and sexual inequality of the times are clearly portrayed and Daisy's frustration and fury at the things she witnesses offer a though-provoking, challenging read. The treatment of the suffragettes- from the casual threats, violence and intimidation of the public to the brutality and persecution of the police makes difficult reading and yet underlines the difficult decisions Daisy must make if her life – and that of those she loves- is to change.
Skilful writing and colourful characters make this a compelling, enjoyable read.

Scoobiesue2

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783448333
Publication date: 6th June 2019
Author: Barbara Mitchelhill
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Historical Fiction
Other Categories: Books of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×