Reader Reviewed Hell and High Water by Tanya Landman
  

Hell and High Water

Written by Tanya Landman

13+ readers   YA readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

The astonishing story of a young man's quest to find justice for his father, from the Carnegie Medal-winning author of Buffalo Soldier. Holding the reader in suspense throughout it charts the growth of a frightened boy into a brave young man with the inspiration drawn from the shocking true story of Thomas Benson, an eighteenth-century Devonshire smuggler.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Edel Waugh - 'A truly wonderful book with adventure, mystery, and an inspiring young male character.' 
  • Alice East - 'Caleb and his father run a puppet show, making just enough money to live off.  When Caleb's father gets accused of a robbery it is up to Caleb to save him.'

Synopsis

Hell and High Water by Tanya Landman

Set in eighteenth-century Devon, this is the story of Caleb, the son of a poor puppeteer. When his father is wrongfully accused of theft and sentenced to transportation, Caleb is left all alone in the world. As a mixed race boy living in an age of slavery, he has always been treated with fear and mistrust. Without his father he is more vulnerable than ever, and is forced to seek out his estranged aunt. After a body washes up on a nearby beach, a shattered Caleb finds himself involved in a dastardly plot: a plot that places him and his newfound family in mortal danger. This powerful story holds the reader in suspense as it charts the growth of a frightened boy into a brave young man.

Tanya drew on her experiences of running puppet shows for Storybox Theatre to create Caleb's father's Punch & Judy show.

Reviews

Exploring prejudice and the corruption of the ruling classes, this absolutely gripping stuff. It can only be good news that more readers will find Landman's books thanks to her Carnegie success. The Bookseller A gripping historical novel for older children from a prize-winning author Western Morning News Rich, exciting, intelligent historical fiction from a Carnegie-winning author. Metro Heart-stoppingly good, romantic, passionate storytelling for a 12-plus audience. New Statesman Landman won the Carnegie Medal for her previous book Buffalo Soldier and this year's historical novel is just as gripping. [...] Landman's research is impeccable. Perfect for fans of Poldark. The Times ...I was reminded of another novel set in this part of the world, Jamaica Inn, as the young hero has to learn who can be trusted and who cannot. Not everyone is hostile, of course, and the darkness and danger are leavened by genuine good heartedness and true affection. And humour. Caleb's beloved father was a Punch and Judy man, and the Show tops and tails the novel, giving it a satisfying symmetry. That's the way to do it! Armadillo Magazine The pace is terrific, the plot having more twists and turns that your average five-season box set. The chapters are short and each one ends with a cliffhanger, and there are several major revelations that I didn't see coming. It is clearly based on detailed research, and there's a great sense of a particular time and place being brought to life in all its grit and gruesomeness. With its combinations of strong characters, important themes and terrific writing, Hell and High Water is an excellent example of the very high standard of current YA fiction. The Guardian From Carnegie Medal-winning Tanya Landman, a heart-stopping tale of a boy clearing his father's name. The Bookseller This is a beautifully written, fast-paced novel. [...]It is brilliant in the portrayal of the period and the corruption and inequality that controlled everyday existence for many. In Caleb and Letty I discovered two engaging characters with whom I empathized and I was delighted with the ending of their story. I would definitely recommend the novel. Historical Novel Society Review

About the Author

Tanya Landman

Carnegie Medal winning Tanya Landman is the author of more than thirty books for children and young adults. Born and brought up in Kent, Tanya had no intention of becoming a writer until the idea for Waking Merlin popped into her head. "It came from nowhere. It was completely out of the blue." Tanya now lives and works in Bideford and the nearby coastline was the inspiration for her Flotsam & Jetsam series. Tanya's first books were "adventure stories with a sprinkling of magic and spoonful of humour." But then Tanya turned to crime, writing Mondays are Murder (winner of a Red House Book Award) - the first in a series of ten "Agatha-Christie-for-kids" featuring child sleuth Poppy Fields and her friend Graham. Her new highly illustrated series for younger children - Sam Swann’s Movie Mysteries – feature an accident-prone boy sleuth and his faithful canine sidekick Watson. Although she writes across a broad age range, Tanya is best known for her historical novels for young adults. Apache - set in 19th century America - was shortlisted for several UK awards including the Teenage Book Trust and the Carnegie Medal (where it was voted the Shadowing Groups favourite). The US edition won a Borders Original Voices prize and a Spur award from the Western Writers of America. The Goldsmith's Daughter - set in the Aztec empire during the Spanish invasion - was nominated for the Carnegie and the Guardian Children's Fiction prize. Buffalo Soldier won the 2015 Carnegie Medal. Her latest novel Hell and High Water - a swashbuckling thriller set in 18th century Devon – was shortlisted for the 2016 Guardian Children’s Fiction Prize.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Hardback
320 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Author

Tanya Landman
More books by Tanya Landman

Author's Website

www.tanyalandman.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

1st October 2015

ISBN

9781406356618

Categories


I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

It’s so easy to find the right book for your child. Such an easy-to-use, yet in-depth website. 100% reliable.

Pippa, Jack, Liam & Matthew Wils

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools