Lifers by Martin Griffin
  

Lifers

Written by Martin Griffin

YA readers   Debuts of the Month   eBooks   eBooks   

RRP £7.99

Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

April 2016 Debut of the Month Amidst panic on the streets of Dark Manchester and an atmosphere of political and social unrest, Preston is desperate to find his friend Alice. While searching for her, Preston unearths more than he’d bargained for when he discovers a secret scientific institute with a sinister young offenders prison in its cavernous, steam punk-esque depths. Inside, the kids are fighting and fast becoming feral due to lack of food, and one of them, the daughter of a formerly prominent and now deceased politician, needs serious medical attention. Alongside this mounting urgency, Preston and a well-intentioned warden have a chance to expose this horrific government scheme at the New Conservative party conference that’s taking place in Dark Manchester that night. But time is running out…

Set in an entirely imaginable future world, this is a tense and tautly written dystopian sci-fi page-turner. The in-the-moment action feels like watching a thriller through the eyes of the hero, and the theme of young people fighting corrupt politicians is explored with style and poise. ~ Joanne Owen

Synopsis

Lifers by Martin Griffin

From Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition winner M.A. Griffin comes Lifers, a high-octane adventure perfect for fans of The Maze Runner by James Dashner. An atmospheric noir thriller set in a future Manchester, Lifers is packed with shocking and believable sci-fi elements paired with the backdrop of a gritty real-world setting.

Fear haunts the streets of Manchester: a schoolgirl has disappeared. Preston is drawn to investigate, exploring the city in the hunt for his missing friend. Deep in the bowels of a secret scientific institute, he discovers a sinister machine. Captured and condemned to a cavernous space filled with problematic teens, Preston is determined to escape - but this is no ordinary jail. Friendships are forged and lives lost in a reckless battle for freedom, revenge - and revolution.

Reminiscent of Michael Grant’s Gone series, Lifers expertly fuses edge-of-your-seat action with a thrilling, unpredictable plot.

Reviews

Praise for The Poison Boy

‘We loved its visceral style and the notion of poison boys, as well as the utterly believable friendship’ Michelle Paver

‘The prose is elegant and the fun unflagging … The author knows just where to leave his story, with readers satisfied yet panting for more. Bravo.’ Amanda Craig , The Times

‘Readers will be gripped from the opening pages of this richly-imagined story’ Booktrust

About the Author

Martin Griffin

M.A. Griffin studied English Literature at Manchester University. His first novel, The Poison Boy, was written under the name Fletcher Moss and won the 2012 Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition. He
lives in Manchester.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Author

Martin Griffin
More books by Martin Griffin

Author's Website

www.martingriffinbooks.com/

Publisher

Chicken House Ltd

Publication date

7th April 2016

ISBN

9781910002254

Categories


Writing reviews help the children with their literacy skills and we always read the books together which gives us good quality family time!

Cat Bisland (on behalf of the Bi

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools