Who Stole the Hamster? by N. Griffin
  

Who Stole the Hamster?

Written by N. Griffin
Illustrated by Kate Hindley

7+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: a clever bit of detection in the classroom | This satisfying, entertaining classroom crime caper thoroughly respects its young readers’ intelligence. Smashie and Dontel are smart as they come and when the school hamster disappears from his cage they decide to unravel the mystery. Little do they know that in fact their classroom has been the scene of not one but three crimes; it will take all their ingenuity and teamwork to find the culprits. Their approach to crime solving is as rigorous as any grown up detective and during the course of the book readers will learn terms such as ‘exonerate’, ‘caveat’ and ‘circumstantial evidence’. With a cast of delightfully eccentric teachers and quirky students, there’s as much to make readers to laugh as there is to stimulate their grey matter and this is highly recommended.

If this whets readers’ appetites for idiosyncratic young detectives, Alexander McCall Smith’s Precious Ramotswe series will be right up their street. ~ Andrea Reece

Win a Beast Quest Goodie Bag!

To mark the 10th Birthday of The Beast Quest series we are giving away THREE goodie bags filled with Beast Quest treats including temporary tattoos, pens, a printed bag and books from the series!

To have a chance of winning one of these super prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 29 May 2017. The winners will be notified by 5 June 2017.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 29/05/2017

Synopsis

Who Stole the Hamster? by N. Griffin

In the first book in this humorous mystery series, perfect for fans of David Baddiel, the school day begins like any other. But when the class realize their beloved pet hamster is missing, it's not long before Room 11 descends into paranoia-fueled chaos, natural suspects produce natural alibis, and motives remain unmotivated. Now it's up to Smashie and her best friend, Dontel to do some super-sleuthing and set things right again.

Reviews

“Smashie will endear herself to many readers. . . A gentle and humorous mystery for younger middle grade readers.” School Library Journal

About the Author

N. Griffin is the author of Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11 as well as The Whole Stupid Way We Are, for which she was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. She lives outside Boston, USA.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
256 pages
Interest Age: From 7

Author

N. Griffin
More books by N. Griffin

Author's Website

www.ngriffin.com/

Publisher

Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th January 2017

ISBN

9781406374568

Categories


A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools