Who Stole the Hamster? by N. Griffin

Who Stole the Hamster?

Written by N. Griffin
Illustrated by Kate Hindley

7+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: a clever bit of detection in the classroom | This satisfying, entertaining classroom crime caper thoroughly respects its young readers’ intelligence. Smashie and Dontel are smart as they come and when the school hamster disappears from his cage they decide to unravel the mystery. Little do they know that in fact their classroom has been the scene of not one but three crimes; it will take all their ingenuity and teamwork to find the culprits. Their approach to crime solving is as rigorous as any grown up detective and during the course of the book readers will learn terms such as ‘exonerate’, ‘caveat’ and ‘circumstantial evidence’. With a cast of delightfully eccentric teachers and quirky students, there’s as much to make readers to laugh as there is to stimulate their grey matter and this is highly recommended.

If this whets readers’ appetites for idiosyncratic young detectives, Alexander McCall Smith’s Precious Ramotswe series will be right up their street. ~ Andrea Reece


Who Stole the Hamster? by N. Griffin

In the first book in this humorous mystery series, perfect for fans of David Baddiel, the school day begins like any other. But when the class realize their beloved pet hamster is missing, it's not long before Room 11 descends into paranoia-fueled chaos, natural suspects produce natural alibis, and motives remain unmotivated. Now it's up to Smashie and her best friend, Dontel to do some super-sleuthing and set things right again.


“Smashie will endear herself to many readers. . . A gentle and humorous mystery for younger middle grade readers.” School Library Journal

About the Author

N. Griffin is the author of Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11 as well as The Whole Stupid Way We Are, for which she was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. She lives outside Boston, USA.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


256 pages


N. Griffin
More books by N. Griffin

Author's Website



Walker Books Ltd

Publication date

5th January 2017




I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

It is THE website to use for narrowing down your search for any book. Definitely knocks the socks off any other book review website.

Nickey and Tomasz Hawryszczuk

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

Lovereading is just a convenient way to find new books and hear others opinions on them.

Sarah Murray – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

Lovereading 4 schools