LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Who Stole the Hamster?

Written by N. Griffin

Illustrated by Kate Hindley

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on Who Stole the Hamster?

In a nutshell: a clever bit of detection in the classroom |    This satisfying, entertaining classroom crime caper thoroughly respects its young readers’ intelligence. Smashie and Dontel are smart as they come and when the school hamster disappears from his cage they decide to unravel the mystery. Little do they know that in fact their classroom has been the scene of not one but three crimes; it will take all their ingenuity and teamwork to find the culprits. Their approach to crime solving is as rigorous as any grown up detective and during the course of the book readers will learn terms such as ‘exonerate’, ‘caveat’ and ‘circumstantial evidence’. With a cast of delightfully eccentric teachers and quirky students, there’s as much to make readers to laugh as there is to stimulate their grey matter and this is highly recommended.

If this whets readers’ appetites for idiosyncratic young detectives, Alexander McCall Smith’s Precious Ramotswe series will be right up their street. ~ Andrea Reece

Who Stole the Hamster? Synopsis

In the first book in this humorous mystery series, perfect for fans of David Baddiel, the school day begins like any other. But when the class realize their beloved pet hamster is missing, it's not long before Room 11 descends into paranoia-fueled chaos, natural suspects produce natural alibis, and motives remain unmotivated. Now it's up to Smashie and her best friend, Dontel to do some super-sleuthing and set things right again.

Who Stole the Hamster? Press Reviews

“Smashie will endear herself to many readers. . . A gentle and humorous mystery for younger middle grade readers.” School Library Journal

If you loved this, you might like these...

Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Timmy Failure: It's the End When I Say It's the End
Uncle Gobb and the Plot Plot

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781406374568
Publication date: 05/01/2017
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406374568
Publication date: 5th January 2017
Author: N. Griffin
Illustrator: Kate Hindley
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories

About N. Griffin

N. Griffin is the author of Smashie McPerter and the Mystery of Room 11 as well as The Whole Stupid Way We Are, for which she was named a Publishers Weekly Flying Start. She lives outside Boston, USA.

More About N. Griffin

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×