Reader Reviewed I Swapped My Brother On The Internet by Jo Simmons
  

I Swapped My Brother On The Internet

Written by Jo Simmons
Illustrated by Nathan Reed

9+ readers   If They Like...They'll Love   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: very funny, very true story of family dynamics

Be careful what you wish for, and blood is thicker than water – both lessons to be learned from this very funny story of sibling rivalry and love. Jonny is fed up with big brother Ted’s teasing, and website www.siblingswap.com seems to offer a way out. In just a few clicks Jonny’s arranged to swap Ted for a more suitable brother (though with hindsight he should probably have ticked the boxes ‘living’ and ‘human’). Overnight Ted has gone, and a new brother is on the doorstep. To Jonny’s surprise, none of the brothers he receives match up to Ted, and some are downright dreadful. It’s great fun, the succession of brothers keeps the action moving at top-speed, as Jonny gradually realises how much he’s missing Ted. Illustrations by Nathan Reed add to the fun, and this is a great read for anyone with a sibling.

One to recommend to fans of My Brother is a Superhero by David Solomons and The Parent Agency by David Baddiel. ~ Andrea Reece

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Josh Parcell, age 10 - 'This wonderful book by Jo Simmons has earnt a five star from me! It is a book full of laughs and has a strong moral to it; to not take things for granted including your brother!'
  • Sariah, age 10 - 'I would recommend this book to children 8+, especially those who love a laugh and giggle. I loved the story and my friends have already started reading it.'
  • Alex Nicholson, age 11 - 'I Swapped My Brother On The Internet' is an enjoyable read with lots of funny moments like those mentioned above. It is really fun to read, and my younger brother Toby (aged 9) loved it just as much as me!'
  • Ellen Cox, age 11 - 'I Swapped My Brother on the Internet is an amazing book. It stays in your mind for long after you have finished it.'
  • Iulia Motoc, age 10 - 'This book reveals many parts of sibling friendship and a strong bond between Jonny and Ted. They brought me to laughter many times. I really liked the part with King Henry the 8th’s ghost, but no spoilers!'
  • Daniel Bisland, age 10 - 'I give it 5*. I recommend it to 9+.I sometimes want to swap my brother but after reading this book, it has made me realise that I may never have the perfect brother so i have changed my mind! I really like this book and it would be in my top 5 favourite books.'
  • Tomasz Hawryszczuk, age 12 - 'Really funny story about a boy who swaps his brother several times on the internet. Each time he gets a different character. Highly recommend to boys who are reluctant readers.'
  • Romilly Dally-Fitzsimons, age 11 - 'We have all thought about it... but Johnny did it, swapped his brother for another with hilarious consequence. A very funny book that everyone will enjoy.  Read it!'
  • Cecilia Barth von Wehrenalp, age 9 - 'A family fantasy that proves not every app brings you 'appiness!'
  • Jack Smith, age 12 - 'The story is about a boy who gets fed up with his brother and sees an add for a site called sibling swap. He is then led on a mad journey as he receives multiple different brothers to find his perfect match,like the sound of it? Read it to find out what happens next!'

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we are delighted to be giving you a chance to win a wonderful family break. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

I Swapped My Brother On The Internet by Jo Simmons

`I can get a new brother? On the internet?' Jonny muttered. `Oh sweet mangoes of heaven!' Everyone has dreamed of being able to get rid of their brother or sister at one time or another - but for Jonny, the dream is about to become a reality with SiblingSwap.com! What could be better than someone awesome to replace Ted, Jonny's obnoxious older brother. But finding the perfect brother isn't easy, as Jonny discovers when Sibling Swap sends him a line of increasingly bizarre replacements: first a merboy, then a brother raised by meerkats, and then the ghost of Henry the Eighth! What's coming next?! Suddenly old Ted isn't looking so bad. But can Jonny ever get him back? A hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to - perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart, My Brother is a Superhero and David Baddiel's The Parent Agency.

About the Author

Jo Simmons began her working life as a journalist. Her first fiction series for children, Pip Street, was inspired by her own kids' love of funny fiction, and two Super Loud Sambooks followed. In addition to children's fiction, she co-wrote a humorous parenting book, Can I Give Them Back Now?: The Aargh To Zzzzzz Of Parenting, published by Square Peg. Jo lives in Brighton with her husband, two boys and a scruffy formerly Romanian street dog. I Swapped My Brother on the Internet is her first book for Bloomsbury. Nathan Reed has been a professional illustrator since graduating from Falmouth College of Arts in 2000. He has illustrated Christopher Edge's How to Write Your Best Story Ever and the Elen Caldecott's Marsh Road Mysteries Series. His most recent picture book is Samson the Mighty Flea by Angela McAllister. He was shortlisted for the Serco Prize for Illustration in 2014. When he's not illustrating he can be found with his two boys and a football on Peckham Rye Common.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
304 pages

Author

Jo Simmons
More books by Jo Simmons

Publisher

Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

11th January 2018

ISBN

9781408877753

Categories


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****