Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull by Steve Webb
  

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull

Written by Steve Webb
Illustrated by Chris Mould
Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

7+ readers   9+ readers   
Download an extract Share this book

The Lovereading4Kids comment

In a nutshell: anarchic fun and adventure in Bitterly Bay

Spangles McNasty is one of those children’s book characters readers just love to hate. He’s irredeemably horrible – indeed, he prides himself on his nastiness – and his sidekick Sausage-face Pete is no nicer. In this new escapade, the two are plotting to steal the star exhibit from the Bitterly Bay museum’s new pirate exhibition, a diamond encrusted pirate hat. As fans of the series will know, Spangles is highly likely to be hoist by the petard of his own greed and ineptitude, while young Freddie Taylor is wise to his tricks too and there to frustrate them. It’s all good, disgusting fun, inventive, surprising and full of the wordplay and zany humour that delights readers. ~ Andrea Reece

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books.

Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our LoveReading4Kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Huxley Glen, age 7 - 'We laughed so much reading this very funny book. The characters were really funny and we liked the pictures throughout the book.'
  • Prisha Yadav, age 8 - 'Funny and interesting book!'
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 8 - 'A great madcap adventure which will leave you guessing right up til the end!'
  • Diya Budhdeo, age 9 - 'Fun, imaginative and fast-paced. Loved reading it.'
  • Rob, age 8 - 'This is a very silly and funny book.'

Synopsis

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull by Steve Webb

Spangles McNasty is a right horrid scallywag who likes to do yucky things like eat cold chips out of bins and fart in libraries. So it's no surprise that when the legendarily famous and very sparkly Diamond Skull pirate hat comes to Bitterly Bay Museum, Spangles and his best mate Sausage-face Pete want to get their thieving fingers on it. But they haven't reckoned on local boy and all-round good egg Freddie Taylor and his cunning plan to mix things up with a clever hat trick... Laugh-out-loud silliness with zany pictures from Chris Mould make this story perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Tom Gates!

Reviews

Praise for Spangles McNasty;

‘Ludicrous and funny’ Booktrust

‘Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour... for fans of Mr Gum’ The Bookseller

‘A totally silly adventure’ The Bookbag

About the Author

Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
192 pages
Interest Age: From 7 to 9 years

Author

Steve Webb
More books by Steve Webb

Publisher

Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

3rd May 2018

ISBN

9781783446384

Categories

Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

www.andersenpress.co.uk


I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

Lovereading4kids is great, we get books really early never late. We love to read and review, and think you would like it too. The excitement

Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

It is fantastic, you get to read lots of books and you always find something new and amazing in them.

Erica Motoc, age 7

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****