LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull

Written by Steve Webb

Illustrated by Chris Mould

Part of the Spangles McNasty Series

Write A Review

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous

In a nutshell: anarchic fun and adventure in Bitterly Bay

Spangles McNasty is one of those children’s book characters readers just love to hate.  He’s irredeemably horrible – indeed, he prides himself on his nastiness – and his sidekick Sausage-face Pete is no nicer. In this new escapade, the two are plotting to steal the star exhibit from the Bitterly Bay museum’s new pirate exhibition, a diamond encrusted pirate hat.  As fans of the series will know, Spangles is highly likely to be hoist by the petard of his own greed and ineptitude, while young Freddie Taylor is wise to his tricks too and there to frustrate them. It’s all good, disgusting fun, inventive, surprising and full of the wordplay and zany humour that delights readers. ~ Andrea Reece

Perfect for fans of Mr Gum readers who enjoy the adventures of Spangles McNasty will also like William Sutcliffe’s Circus of Thieves books.

LoveReading4Kids

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull Synopsis

Spangles McNasty is a right horrid scallywag who likes to do yucky things like eat cold chips out of bins and fart in libraries. So it's no surprise that when the legendarily famous and very sparkly Diamond Skull pirate hat comes to Bitterly Bay Museum, Spangles and his best mate Sausage-face Pete want to get their thieving fingers on it. But they haven't reckoned on local boy and all-round good egg Freddie Taylor and his cunning plan to mix things up with a clever hat trick... Laugh-out-loud silliness with zany pictures from Chris Mould make this story perfect for fans of Mr Gum and Tom Gates!

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our LoveReading4Kids Reader Review Panel members were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Huxley Glen, age 7 - 'We laughed so much reading this very funny book. The characters were really funny and we liked the pictures throughout the book.'
  • Prisha Yadav, age 8 - 'Funny and interesting book!'
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 8 - 'A great madcap adventure which will leave you guessing right up til the end!'
  • Diya Budhdeo, age 9 - 'Fun, imaginative and fast-paced. Loved reading it.'
  • Rob, age 8 - 'This is a very silly and funny book.'

Spangles McNasty and the Diamond Skull Press Reviews

Praise for Spangles McNasty;

‘Ludicrous and funny’ Booktrust

‘Skullduggery, thievery and anarchic humour... for fans of Mr Gum’   The Bookseller

‘A totally silly adventure’ The Bookbag

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
Pippi Longstocking
The Beast and The Bethany: Revenge of the Beast
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781783446384
Publication date: 03/05/2018
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783446384
Publication date: 3rd May 2018
Author: Steve Webb
Illustrator: Chris Mould
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous

About Steve Webb

Steve Webb was born in Newcastle, and studied at Bristol Art College. He is also the author of the successful Tanka Tanka Skunk. He currently lives in the Peak District with his three children.

More About Steve Webb

More Books By Steve Webb

Cover for Cows Go Boo! by Steve Webb
Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Tunnel of Doom by Steve Webb
Cover for Spangles McNasty and the Fish of Gold by Steve Webb
View All Books By Steve Webb

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×