Reader Reviewed Sorrowline by Niel Bushnell


Written by Niel Bushnell
Part of the The Timesmith Chronicles Series

11+ readers   Debuts of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

January 2013 Debut of the Month. This is the first in an exciting new fantasy adventure series featuring time travel, a magical world, family secrets and a dangerous quest and perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Percy Jackson... The past is not frozen. Graveyards are not deadends. There is a hidden world of adventure waiting behind every gravestone.

A Piece of Passion from the editor, Charlie Sheppard who discovered this wonderfully original debut novel:
I've been reading children's books now for nearly 40 years and sometimes I feel there's nothing new out there. It's all been done before. So when a manuscript lands on my desk full of originality and ready to stretch my mind, take me to new worlds and open up new possibilities then I grab it with both hands and want to share it with young readers everywhere.
Sorrowline is one such book. Niel Bushnell has come up with the brilliant idea that running through gravestones are sorrowlines - and these sorrowlines are tunnels through time. Every grave is connected to the date of the person's death by such tunnels and a few chosen boys have the rare gift of being able to open up Sorrowlines and travel along them into the past. These are the Yard Boys.
But such a skill is highly prized and open to abuse. And those who travel in sorrow are likely to meet people and creatures who will leave them changed for ever.
This book will blow your mind. It's a time-travel book like no other. And it is no surprise to me that the film rights are being hotly contested. The originality, pace and sheer brilliance of plot are breathtaking. Enter the world of the Sorrowlines and prepare for the ride of your life.


In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Sorrowline, a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title.

Here’s a taster from one of the reviews. “Sorrowline is a fast, action-packed book, filled with time travel and adventure."

Scroll down to read the rest of this review and all the reader reviews...


Sorrowline by Niel Bushnell

Twelve-year-old Jack Morrow is used to life being complicated. His mother died five years ago, and his father is now headed for prison. But then Jack discovers he's a Yard Boy - someone with the ability to travel through Sorrowlines, the channels that connect every gravestone with the date of the person's death - and he is quickly pulled into an adventure beyond anything he could have possibly imagined. Finding himself in 1940s war-torn London, with his then - teenage grandfather, Davey, Jack soon realises that his arrival in the past has not gone unnoticed. The evil forces of a secret world are determined to find him - and to find out all he knows. As Jack struggles to survive, he comes ever closer to unlocking the dark secret at the heart of his family, and to - just maybe - changing his own destiny...

Browse inside this book


Early Praise:

'A very different time-travel story that really brings the past to life' Wendy Cooling

'What a terrific idea for a creepy time-travel thriller - wish I'd thought of it' Stephen Col, Author of the Dr Who novels


We also sent review copies to a small number of Lovereading4kids members and browsers for their children to review Sorrowline. You can read their reviews below....

James Newbery (Age 10) Sorrowline is a fast, action-packed book, filled with time travel and adventure. Click here to read the full review.

Seth Age 13 I would recommend this book to anyone 10 years and over and I give it 9/10 Click here to read the full review.

Shea Devlin Age 13 This book was very hard to put down, it is a brilliant story and I would recommend it to all teenagers. Click here to read the full review.

Pearse Kelly Age:12 I recommend this book to any lovers of Percy Jackson or Doctor Who. Click here to read the full review.

Lily Fitzgerald Age 11 Sorrowline is a very engaging, creative book. The words and the language fit together like a puzzle and flow smoothly. The opening chapter draws you in immediately, making it impossible to put down.Click here to read the full review.

About the Author

Niel Bushnell

Niel Bushnell began his career working in comics before moving into animation on the feature films Space Jam & Lost in Space, and as an animator & illustrator for several computer games, including Harry Potter and the Philosophers' Stone. In 2002 Niel established Qurios, an animation & VFX studio which has contributed to many UK TV shows, including Spooks and Hyperdrive. He was recently commissioned by BBC Radio 4 to develop his sit-com, Ragnor Rock.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


352 pages
Interest Age: From 9


Niel Bushnell
More books by Niel Bushnell

Author's Website


Andersen Press Ltd

Publication date

3rd January 2013




Publisher Profile

Andersen Press Ltd is an imprint of Andersen Press

logo Andersen Press is one of the leading independent children’s publishers, publishing some of the biggest names in the world of children's books including the much-loved picture book characters the Little Princess and Elmer the patchwork elephant. Andersen Press is the home of many award-winning authors and illustrators including Melvin Burgess, Rebecca Stead, Satoshi Kitamura, Tony Ross, David McKee, Chris Judge and Jeanne Willis. Founded in 1976 by Klaus Flugge it won the Bologna Best Children’s Publisher prize in the European Category in 2016, the company’s 40th anniversary year.

Publisher's Website

It’s a community united by a passion for books and promoting the best there is in children’s literature.

Sam Bateman and family

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

Love “Lovereading4kids” as my son gets to hear about & read new books before his mates which keeps him interested in reading=a very happy Mum

Liz Evans

I love ‘LoveReading 4 kids’ because they let you read and learn things you’d never dreamed of learning before.

Emily Horncastle – age 11

Lovereading 4 schools