Sorrowline

Written by Niel Bushnell

Part of the The Timesmith Chronicles Series

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Sorrowline

January 2013 Debut of the Month. This is the first in an exciting new fantasy adventure series featuring time travel, a magical world, family secrets and a dangerous quest and perfect for fans of Doctor Who and Percy Jackson... The past is not frozen.  Graveyards are not deadends.  There is a hidden world of adventure waiting behind every gravestone.

A Piece of Passion from the editor, Charlie Sheppard who discovered this wonderfully original debut novel: 
I've been reading children's books now for nearly 40 years and sometimes I feel there's nothing new out there. It's all been done before. So when a manuscript lands on my desk full of originality and ready to stretch my mind, take me to new worlds and open up new possibilities then I grab it with both hands and want to share it with young readers everywhere.
Sorrowline is one such book. Niel Bushnell has come up with the brilliant idea that running through gravestones are sorrowlines - and these sorrowlines are tunnels through time. Every grave is connected to the date of the person's death by such tunnels and a few chosen boys have the rare gift of being able to open up Sorrowlines and travel along them into the past. These are the Yard Boys.
But such a skill is highly prized and open to abuse. And those who travel in sorrow are likely to meet people and creatures who will leave them changed for ever.
This book will blow your mind. It's a time-travel book like no other. And it is no surprise to me that the film rights are being hotly contested. The originality, pace and sheer brilliance of plot are breathtaking. Enter the world of the Sorrowlines and prepare for the ride of your life.

_______________________________________________________________________

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion for Sorrowline, a small number of Lovereading members were lucky enough to be invited to review this title. 

Here’s a taster from one of the reviews. “Sorrowline is a fast, action-packed book, filled with time travel and adventure."

Scroll down to read the rest of this review and all the reader reviews...

Sorrowline Synopsis

Twelve-year-old Jack Morrow is used to life being complicated. His mother died five years ago, and his father is now headed for prison. But then Jack discovers he's a Yard Boy - someone with the ability to travel through Sorrowlines, the channels that connect every gravestone with the date of the person's death - and he is quickly pulled into an adventure beyond anything he could have possibly imagined. Finding himself in 1940s war-torn London, with his then - teenage grandfather, Davey, Jack soon realises that his arrival in the past has not gone unnoticed. The evil forces of a secret world are determined to find him - and to find out all he knows. As Jack struggles to survive, he comes ever closer to unlocking the dark secret at the heart of his family, and to - just maybe - changing his own destiny...

Sorrowline Press Reviews

Early Praise:

'A very different time-travel story that really brings the past to life' Wendy Cooling

'What a terrific idea for a creepy time-travel thriller - wish I'd thought of it' Stephen Col, Author of the Dr Who novels

_______________________________

We also sent review copies to a small number of Lovereading4kids members and browsers for their children to review Sorrowline. You can read their reviews below....

James Newbery (Age 10)  Sorrowline is a fast, action-packed book, filled with time travel and adventure. Click here to read the full review.

Seth Age 13  I would recommend this book to anyone 10 years and over and I give it 9/10 Click here to read the full review.

Shea Devlin Age 13 This book was very hard to put down, it is a brilliant story and I would recommend it to all teenagers. Click here to read the full review.

Pearse Kelly Age:12 I recommend this book to any lovers of Percy Jackson or Doctor Who. Click here to read the full review.

Lily Fitzgerald Age 11 Sorrowline is a very engaging, creative book. The words and the language fit together like a puzzle and flow smoothly. The opening chapter draws you in immediately, making it impossible to put down.Click here to read the full review.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Harry Potter - Creatures
The Afterwards
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
The Wordsmith

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781849395236
Publication date: 03/01/2013
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781849395236
Publication date: 3rd January 2013
Author: Niel Bushnell
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Niel Bushnell

Niel Bushnell began his career working in comics before moving into animation on the feature films Space Jam & Lost in Space, and as an animator & illustrator for several computer games, including Harry Potter and the Philosophers' Stone. In 2002 Niel established Qurios, an animation & VFX studio which has contributed to many UK TV shows, including Spooks and Hyperdrive. He was recently commissioned by BBC Radio 4 to develop his sit-com, Ragnor Rock.

More About Niel Bushnell

More Books By Niel Bushnell

Cover for Timesmith by Niel Bushnell
View All Books By Niel Bushnell

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×