Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway
  

Forbidden Friends

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

Sunny Spain and two girls meet on holiday and strike up an instant friendship. But all is not as it seems for both their dads have mysteriously disappeared as they arrive on holiday. There's a dark secret at the heart of Forbidden Friends which both girls believe has something to do with the disappearances and they want answers and even more so when, at the end of the holiday they're told they can't see each other again. A superb follow-up to the successful Butterfly Summer.

Win a SIGNED hardback copy of Ottoline and the Purple Fox!

We are giving away 3 signed hardback copies of the fourth Ottoline adventure written and illustrated by Chris Riddell, Ottoline and the Purple Fox.

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

Draw closes on 5 December 2016. The winners will be notified by 16 December 2016 and you should have your prize in time for Christmas!

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 05/12/2016

Synopsis

Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway

Lizzie is fed up of going to the same hotel and the same beach for the same two weeks every year. The ‘holiday’ is her parents’ way of remembering her brother, who died tragically on their first family holiday when she was three. Now, her Dad controls everything; what she reads; what she does and who she’s friends with. However when she finds out that her Dad is strangely absent at the start of their holiday, Lizzie takes the opportunity to befriend Bee.

Bee hates school - everyone teases her because she loves to read. So a surprise holiday to Spain with her Mum and Nan is exactly what she needs. Bee instantly likes Lizzie, and they strike up an instant friendship. Together they explore the resort and beautiful Spanish coastline.

However, as the girls grow closer strange questions bubble to the surface – Bee wonders if Lizzie is really an only child? Why have both their dads disappeared? And why, as the holiday comes to an end, are the two girls forbidden from seeing each other again? Could one dark secret from the past hold the answer? Could one fateful night keep Lizzie and Bee apart…for ever?

Reviews

Praise for Butterfly Summer..

“Suspenseful and intriguing” – Sophie McKenzie

– Sunday Express


“Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie” – Booktrust

“What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm.” - Books for Keeps

About the Author

Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages
Interest Age: 10+

Author

Anne-Marie Conway
More books by Anne-Marie Conway

Author's Website

www.annemarieconway.com/

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st May 2013

ISBN

9781409561903

Categories


It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I have told all my friends, family & teachers to see for themselves just how great the site is. Without fail, they are hugely impressed.

Alexander Boxall – age 11

I love all the books they recommend & put up for me to review. I also love the fact that they give new authors the chance to share their boo

Daisy Pennock – age 15

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools