Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway

Forbidden Friends

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

9+ readers   11+ readers   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

Sunny Spain and two girls meet on holiday and strike up an instant friendship. But all is not as it seems for both their dads have mysteriously disappeared as they arrive on holiday. There's a dark secret at the heart of Forbidden Friends which both girls believe has something to do with the disappearances and they want answers and even more so when, at the end of the holiday they're told they can't see each other again. A superb follow-up to the successful Butterfly Summer.


Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway

Lizzie is fed up of going to the same hotel and the same beach for the same two weeks every year. The ‘holiday’ is her parents’ way of remembering her brother, who died tragically on their first family holiday when she was three. Now, her Dad controls everything; what she reads; what she does and who she’s friends with. However when she finds out that her Dad is strangely absent at the start of their holiday, Lizzie takes the opportunity to befriend Bee.

Bee hates school - everyone teases her because she loves to read. So a surprise holiday to Spain with her Mum and Nan is exactly what she needs. Bee instantly likes Lizzie, and they strike up an instant friendship. Together they explore the resort and beautiful Spanish coastline.

However, as the girls grow closer strange questions bubble to the surface – Bee wonders if Lizzie is really an only child? Why have both their dads disappeared? And why, as the holiday comes to an end, are the two girls forbidden from seeing each other again? Could one dark secret from the past hold the answer? Could one fateful night keep Lizzie and Bee apart…for ever?


Praise for Butterfly Summer..

“Suspenseful and intriguing” – Sophie McKenzie

– Sunday Express

“Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie” – Booktrust

“What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm.” - Books for Keeps

About the Author

Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info


320 pages
Interest Age: 10+


Anne-Marie Conway
More books by Anne-Marie Conway

Author's Website


Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st May 2013




At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

LoveReading4Kids is a modern and creative way of emphasising the value and importance of books in this digital age #booksforlife

Amrit Bunet – Teen

I am so pleased to have signed my kids up as they are reading a much wider range of books and even choosing books out of their comfort zone.

Angela East

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

You give me age appropriate ideas of books I can read and buy for the children and find out what other children their age think of them too.

Katie Lonsdale

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

Lovereading 4 schools