Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway
  

Forbidden Friends

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

9+ readers   11+ readers   eBooks   
Download an extract Share this book

Selected by our Editorial Experts

Sunny Spain and two girls meet on holiday and strike up an instant friendship. But all is not as it seems for both their dads have mysteriously disappeared as they arrive on holiday. There's a dark secret at the heart of Forbidden Friends which both girls believe has something to do with the disappearances and they want answers and even more so when, at the end of the holiday they're told they can't see each other again. A superb follow-up to the successful Butterfly Summer.

Win books 1 & 2 in the Rory Branagan (Detective) Series!

To mark the publication of the second book in the Rory Branagan (Detective) series, we are giving away books 1 & 2 to to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these great prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Draw closes on 9 July 2018. The winners will be notified by 16 July 2018.

Good luck!


Enter prize draw Draw closes: 09/07/2018

Synopsis

Forbidden Friends by Anne-Marie Conway

Lizzie is fed up of going to the same hotel and the same beach for the same two weeks every year. The ‘holiday’ is her parents’ way of remembering her brother, who died tragically on their first family holiday when she was three. Now, her Dad controls everything; what she reads; what she does and who she’s friends with. However when she finds out that her Dad is strangely absent at the start of their holiday, Lizzie takes the opportunity to befriend Bee.

Bee hates school - everyone teases her because she loves to read. So a surprise holiday to Spain with her Mum and Nan is exactly what she needs. Bee instantly likes Lizzie, and they strike up an instant friendship. Together they explore the resort and beautiful Spanish coastline.

However, as the girls grow closer strange questions bubble to the surface – Bee wonders if Lizzie is really an only child? Why have both their dads disappeared? And why, as the holiday comes to an end, are the two girls forbidden from seeing each other again? Could one dark secret from the past hold the answer? Could one fateful night keep Lizzie and Bee apart…for ever?

Reviews

Praise for Butterfly Summer..

“Suspenseful and intriguing” – Sophie McKenzie

– Sunday Express


“Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie” – Booktrust

“What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm.” - Books for Keeps

About the Author

Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.

More books by this author

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Author

Anne-Marie Conway
More books by Anne-Marie Conway

Author's Website

www.annemarieconway.com/

Publisher

Usborne Publishing Ltd

Publication date

1st May 2013

ISBN

9781409561903

Categories


I think Lovereading4kids is an amazing company because of the friendly staff and the fabulous chance to read great books before publication.

Adam Graham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

It has introduced my children to books we hadn’t come across before. Real children’s reviews gives a great insight into what others think to

Lorraine Woods

At @HHSHaringey we love @lovereading4kids because our pupils can practice reviewing & get free upcoming books before anyone else!

Helen Swinyard – Heartlands High

I love finding new books to read. My mummy and me look at the new ones coming out. I have written reviews of some of them!

Jessica Cobbin – age 7

It gives me a chance to read types of books that I would not normally try, and it motivates me to read every night to finish it!

Alice Horncastle, age 14

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because it promotes reading choices, new authors and a sense of community for children of all ages!

Rachel Bridgeman
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****