Forbidden Friends

Written by Anne-Marie Conway

Adventure Stories Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Forbidden Friends

Sunny Spain and two girls meet on holiday and strike up an instant friendship. But all is not as it seems for both their dads have mysteriously disappeared as they arrive on holiday.  There's a dark secret at the heart of Forbidden Friends which both girls believe has something to do with the disappearances and they want answers and even more so when, at the end of the holiday they're told they can't see each other again.  A superb follow-up to the successful Butterfly Summer.

Forbidden Friends Synopsis

Lizzie is fed up of going to the same hotel and the same beach for the same two weeks every year. The ‘holiday’ is her parents’ way of remembering her brother, who died tragically on their first family holiday when she was three. Now, her Dad controls everything; what she reads; what she does and who she’s friends with. However when she finds out that her Dad is strangely absent at the start of their holiday, Lizzie takes the opportunity to befriend Bee.

Bee hates school - everyone teases her because she loves to read. So a surprise holiday to Spain with her Mum and Nan is exactly what she needs. Bee instantly likes Lizzie, and they strike up an instant friendship. Together they explore the resort and beautiful Spanish coastline.

However, as the girls grow closer strange questions bubble to the surface – Bee wonders if Lizzie is really an only child? Why have both their dads disappeared? And why, as the holiday comes to an end, are the two girls forbidden from seeing each other again? Could one dark secret from the past hold the answer? Could one fateful night keep Lizzie and Bee apart…for ever?

Forbidden Friends Press Reviews

Praise for Butterfly Summer..

“Suspenseful and intriguing” – Sophie McKenzie
Forbidden Friends

“Secrets and mysteries abound in Anne-Marie Conway’s haunting novel”
– Sunday Express


“Perfect for fans of Cathy Cassidy and Karen McCombie” – Booktrust

“What makes this one special is the brooding atmosphere of secrets waiting to be discovered, which builds like a gathering summer storm.” - Books for Keeps

If you loved this, you might like these...

My Secret Dragon
Mucking About
The Battle of the Blighty Bling
Wave Me Goodbye

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781409561903
Publication date: 01/05/2013
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781409561903
Publication date: 1st May 2013
Author: Anne-Marie Conway
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Anne-Marie Conway

Anne-Marie Conway is a primary school teacher specialising in drama, but also runs her own children’s theatre company, Full Circle. She lives in London with her husband, two young sons and two eccentric cats, Betty and Boo. Her books have been selected for the Summer Reading Challenge twice (Phoebe Finds Her Voice in 2011 and Butterfly Summer in 2012) and – with Butterfly Summer also selected for Bookbuzz 2013 and shortlisted for the Oxfordshire Book Awards – Anne-Marie has become renowned for her sizzling summer mysteries. Tangled Secrets is her third such novel.   

More About Anne-Marie Conway

More Books By Anne-Marie Conway

Cover for Tangled Secrets by Anne-Marie Conway
Cover for Butterfly Summer by Anne-Marie Conway
Cover for Sam in the Spotlight (Starmaker's Club) by Anne-Marie Conway
View All Books By Anne-Marie Conway

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×