LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks by Christina Hammonds Reed

Browse audiobooks by Christina Hammonds Reed, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Peppa Pig: Bedtime Stories Peppa Pig: Bedtime Stories
    1
  2. Charlotte's Web Charlotte's Web
    2
  3. The Danger Gang The Danger Gang
    3
  4. The Girl Who Drank the Moon The Girl Who Drank the Moon
    4
  5. Deny All Charges Deny All Charges
    5
  6. The Wild Robot The Wild Robot
    6
  7. The Hobbit: Prequel to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy The Hobbit: Prequel to the Lord of the Rings Trilogy
    7
  8. The Boy at the Top of the Mountain The Boy at the Top of the Mountain
    8
  9. Coraline Coraline
    9
  10. La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
    10
Filter
The Black Kids

The Black Kids

Author: Christina Hammonds Reed Narrator: Kiersey Clemons Release Date: 01/12/2020

Perfect for fans of The Hate U Give, this unforgettable coming-of-age debut novel is a unflinching exploration of race, class, and violence as well as the importance of being true to yourself.  Los Angeles, 1992 Ashley Bennett and her friends are living the charmed life. It's the end of high school and they're spending more time at the beach than in the classroom. They can already feel the sunny days and endless possibilities of summer. But everything changes one afternoon in April, when four police officers are acquitted after beating a black man named Rodney King half to death. Suddenly, Ashley's not just one of the girls. She's one of the black kids. As violent protests engulf LA and the city burns, Ashley tries to continue on as if life were normal. Even as her self-destructive sister gets dangerously involved in the riots. Even as the model black family façade her wealthy and prominent parents have built starts to crumble. Even as her best friends help spread a rumor that could completely derail the future of her classmate and fellow black kid, LaShawn Johnson. With her world splintering around her, Ashley, along with the rest of LA, is left to question who is the us? And who is the them? Praise for The Black Kids: 'Should be required reading in every classroom' - Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin 'A prescient coming-of-age debut' - Elle.com 'Utterly brilliant' - STYLIST

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×