LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Jeff Cummings

Browse audiobooks narrated by Jeff Cummings, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Circus Maximus Rivals on the Track Circus Maximus Rivals on the Track
    1
  2. The Burpee Bears The Burpee Bears
    2
  3. Armadillo and Hare and the Flamingo Affair Armadillo and Hare and the Flamingo Affair
    3
  4. The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone
    4
  5. The Mapmakers The Mapmakers
    5
  6. The Elephant in the Room The Elephant in the Room
    6
  7. Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow Me, My Dad and the End of the Rainbow
    7
  8. All American Boys All American Boys
    8
  9. Everything Sad is Untrue: (a true story) Everything Sad is Untrue: (a true story)
    9
  10. Cookie! (Book 3): Cookie and the Most Mysterious Mystery in the World Cookie! (Book 3): Cookie and the Most Mysterious Mystery in the World
    10
Filter
The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found

The Whydah: A Pirate Ship Feared, Wrecked, and Found

Author: Martin W. Sandler Narrator: Jeff Cummings Release Date: 01/03/2019

A 2018 YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Finalist The exciting true story of the captaincy, wreck, and discovery of the Whydah — the only pirate ship ever found — and the incredible mysteries it revealed. The 1650s to the 1730s marked the golden age of piracy, when fearsome pirates like Blackbeard ruled the waves, seeking not only treasure but also large and fast ships to carry it. The Whydah was just such a ship, built to ply the Triangular Trade route, which it did until one of the greediest pirates of all, Black Sam Bellamy, commandeered it. Filling the ship to capacity with treasure, Bellamy hoped to retire with his bounty — but in 1717 the ship sank in a storm off Cape Cod. For more than two hundred years, the wreck of the Whydah (and the riches that went down with it) eluded treasure seekers, until the ship was finally found in 1984 by marine archaeologists. The artifacts brought up from the ocean floor are priceless, both in value and in the picture they reveal of life in that much-mythologized era, changing much of what we know about pirates.

Show more
1968: Today's Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change

1968: Today's Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, and Change

Welcome to 1968 — a revolution in a book. Essays, memoirs, and more by fourteen award-winning authors offer unique perspectives on one of the world’s most tumultuous years. Nineteen sixty-eight was a pivotal year that grew more intense with each day. As thousands of Vietnamese and Americans were killed in war, students across four continents took over colleges and city streets. Assassins murdered Dr. King and Robert F. Kennedy. Demonstrators turned out in Prague and Chicago, and in Mexico City, young people and Olympic athletes protested. In those intense months, generations battled and the world wobbled on the edge of some vast change that was exhilarating one day and terrifying the next. To capture that extraordinary year, editors Marc Aronson and Susan Campbell Bartoletti created an anthology that showcases many genres of nonfiction. Some contributors use a broad canvas, others take a close look at a moment, and matched essays examine the same experience from different points of view. As we face our own moments of crisis and division, 1968 reminds us that we’ve clashed before and found a way forward — and that looking back can help map a way ahead. With contributions by: Jennifer Anthony Marc Aronson Susan Campbell Bartoletti Loree Griffin Burns Paul Fleischman Omar Figueras Laban Carrick Hill Mark Kurlansky Lenore Look David Lubar Kate MacMillan Kekla Magoon Jim Murphy Elizabeth Partridge

Show more
Fallout

Fallout

Author: Todd Strasser Narrator: Jeff Cummings Release Date: 01/09/2013

It’s the summer of 1962, and Scott and his friends spend their days playing baseball and thinking about girls. But the threat of nuclear war looms over everything they do, and they are haunted by the idea that they could all be dead tomorrow. Even though the possibility of war is all anyone talks about, Scott’s dad is the only one in the neighborhood who actually prepares for the worst, building a bomb shelter to protect his family and stocking it with enough supplies to keep them alive for two critical weeks. The neighbors scoff, but then, in the middle of the night in late October, the unthinkable happens. Suddenly ten people are crammed into a shelter built for four. Ten people eating the food meant for four, breathing the air meant for four. Ten people struggling to survive — but what will await them when they eventually emerge? Internationally bestselling author Todd Strasser has written his most impressive and personal novel to date, painstakingly yet sensitively exploring the terrifying what-ifs of one of the most explosive moments in history.

Show more
All the Lovely Bad Ones

All the Lovely Bad Ones

Author: Mary Downing Hahn Narrator: Jeff Cummings, Jeffrey Cummings Release Date: 01/04/2011

Travis and his sister, Corey, can't resist a good trick. When they learn that their grandmother's quiet Vermont inn, where they're spending the summer, has a history of ghost sightings, they decide to do a little "haunting" of their own. Before long, their supernatural pranks have tourists flocking to the inn, and business booms. But Travis and Corey soon find out that they aren't the only ghosts at Fox Hill Inn. Their thoughtless games have awakened something dangerous, something that should have stayed asleep. Restless, spiteful spirits swarm the inn, while a dark and terrifying presence stalks the halls and the old oak grove on the inn's grounds. Only Travis and Corey can lay to rest the ghosts they've stirred. This means discovering the secret of Fox Hill and the horrors visited on its inhabitants years before... Once again, Mary Downing Hahn has created a chilling and gripping ghost story in the tradition of The Old Willis Place, Witch Catcher, and Deep and Dark and Dangerous.

Show more
My Ántonia

My Ántonia

Author: Willa Cather Narrator: Jeff Cummings Release Date: 01/01/2006

One of the outstanding novels in the canon of American literature, My Ántonia tells of the life of early American pioneers in the vast frontier farmlands of Nebraska. Infused with a gracious passion for the land, it renders a deeply moving portrait of a community and the free-spirited girl at its heart.

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×