LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Miriam Margolyes

Browse audiobooks narrated by Miriam Margolyes, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 3 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading4Kids Top 10

  1. Pizazz vs the New Kid: The super awesome new superhero series! Pizazz vs the New Kid: The super awesome new superhero series!
    1
  2. The Hatmakers The Hatmakers
    2
  3. When Fishes Flew: The Story of Elena’s War When Fishes Flew: The Story of Elena’s War
    3
  4. Aaron Slater, Illustrator Aaron Slater, Illustrator
    4
  5. The Big Mog Collection The Big Mog Collection
    5
  6. Timmy Failure: We Meet Again Timmy Failure: We Meet Again
    6
  7. The Chime Seekers The Chime Seekers
    7
  8. A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth
    8
  9. The Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure The Eddie Albert and the Amazing Animal Gang: The Amsterdam Adventure
    9
  10. The Subtle Knife: His Dark Materials 2 The Subtle Knife: His Dark Materials 2
    10
Filter
Einstein the Penguin

Einstein the Penguin

Author: Iona Rangeley Narrator: Miriam Margolyes Release Date: 01/11/2021

'An outstanding debut. Funny and surprising' The Times Best Books for Children 2021 ‘This debut novel is a delight . . . A joy to read aloud’ Sunday Times Children’s Book of the Week Perfect for all readers from 7 to 70, Einstein the Penguin introduces an unforgettable new character in a future-classic and fantastically funny debut for all the family to enjoy. Get ready to welcome the most extraordinary penguin into your own home… When the Stewarts spend a sunny, frosty December day at London Zoo, they’re enchanted by one small penguin. At the delight of young Imogen and Arthur, Mrs Stewart insists the penguin “must come and stay with them whenever he likes.”   But not one Stewart expects the penguin to turn up at their door that evening, rucksack labelled “Einstein” on his back… The family’s new feathered friend helps Arthur to come out of his shell and makes massive demands on Imogen’s amateur sleuthing. But together they must find out why Einstein came to them and they must keep away from the mysterious white-coat man.   And Einstein can’t stay forever, can he…?  From stunning new writing talent Iona Rangeley, this is a book that will be treasured for years to come.

Show more
The Ice Monster

The Ice Monster

From No. 1 bestselling children's author, David Walliams comes his biggest and most epic adventure yet! This is the story of a ten-year-old orphan and a 10,000-year-old mammoth... Read all about it! Read all about it! ICE MONSTER FOUND IN ARCTIC! When Elsie, an orphan on the streets of Victorian London, hears about the mysterious Ice Monster - a woolly mammoth found at the North Pole - she's determined to discover more... A chance encounter brings Elsie face to face with the creature, and sparks the adventure of a lifetime - from London to the heart of the Arctic! Heroes come in all different shapes and sizes in David Walliams' biggest and most epic adventure yet!

Show more
Workers' Tales: Socialist Fairy Tales, Fables, and Allegories from Great Britain

Workers' Tales: Socialist Fairy Tales, Fables, and Allegories from Great Britain

A collection of political tales-first published in British workers' magazines-selected and introduced by acclaimed critic and author Michael Rosen In the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, unique tales inspired by traditional literary forms appeared frequently in socialist-leaning British periodicals, such as the Clarion, Labour Leader, and Social Democrat. Based on familiar genres-the fairy tale, fable, allegory, parable, and moral tale-and penned by a range of lesser-known and celebrated authors, including Schalom Asch, Charles Allen Clarke, Frederick James Gould, and William Morris, these stories were meant to entertain readers of all ages-and some challenged the conventional values promoted in children's literature for the middle class. In Workers' Tales, acclaimed critic and author Michael Rosen brings together more than forty of the best and most enduring examples of these stories in one beautiful volume. Throughout, the tales in this collection exemplify themes and ideas related to work and the class system, sometimes in wish-fulfilling ways. In "Tom Hickathrift," a little, poor person gets the better of a gigantic, wealthy one. In "The Man Without a Heart," a man learns about the value of basic labor after testing out more privileged lives. And in "The Political Economist and the Flowers," two contrasting gardeners highlight the cold heart of Darwinian competition. Rosen's informative introduction describes how such tales advocated for contemporary progressive causes and countered the dominant celebration of Britain's imperial values. The book includes archival illustrations, biographical notes about the writers, and details about the periodicals where the tales first appeared. Provocative and enlightening, Workers' Tales presents voices of resistance that are more relevant than ever before.

Show more
Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

Gertie Milk and the Keeper of Lost Things

Author: Simon Van Booy Narrator: Miriam Margolyes Release Date: 01/10/2017

Award-winning author Simon Van Booy introduces readers to a magical, whimsical world, perfect for fans of Circus Mirandus and Serafina and the Black Cloak. When twelve-year-old Gertie Milk washes up on the island of Skuldark, she finds that all of her memories are gone. Home to helpful Slug Lamps, delicious moonberries, and a ferocious Guard Worm, the island is full of oddities, including a cozy cottage containing artifacts from every corner of history. It is there that Gertie discovers she has been chosen as the next Keeper of Lost Things, tasked with the mission of returning objects to history's most important figures right when they need them most. With the help of a time machine disguised as a vintage sports car and the guidance of her fellow Keeper, Kolt, Gertie dodges an elephant army in ancient Alexandria, crashes a 1920s flapper party, and battles a ruthless Zhou Dynasty king. But soon, Gertie encounters an enemy that threatens everything the Keepers stand for: The Losers, villains who don't want to keep order but destroy it. Now, Gertie must uncover the truth of her own past if she wants to stop the Losers and set history back in place.

Show more
Revolting Rhymes (Colour Edition)

Revolting Rhymes (Colour Edition)

Author: Roald Dahl Narrator: Miriam Margolyes, Stephen Mangan, Tamsin Greig Release Date: 01/09/2014

Penguin presents Revolting Rhymes by Roald Dahl, complete and unabridged and raucously read by Miriam Margolyes, Stephen Mangan, and Tamsin Greig. This audiobook also contains original music. You can think again if you thought you knew the stories of some of the most popular fairy tales. Here are six of the best known retold, with more than a twist or two, by the master of the comic and the blood-curdling.

Show more
Dirty Beasts

Dirty Beasts

Author: Roald Dahl Narrator: Miriam Margolyes, Stephen Mangan, Tamsin Greig Release Date: 01/09/2014

Penguin presents Dirty Beasts by Roald Dahl, complete and unabridged and raucously read by Miriam Margolyes, Stephen Mangan, and Tamsin Greig. The audiobook contains original music. In Dirty Beasts we meet a ghastly menagerie of wonderfully comic animals that can only have been invented by Roald Dahl. There is the toad that jumps to France - at his own peril; the pig who ponders the meaning of life; the anteater who gets the wrong end of the stick; and many more. Snigger, titter and laugh at their antics in this collection of irreverent and absurdly comic verse!

Show more
Revolting Rhymes & Dirty Beasts

Revolting Rhymes & Dirty Beasts

Author: Roald Dahl Narrator: Miriam Margolyes, Stephen Mangan, Tamsin Greig, Tasmin Greig Release Date: 01/09/2013

"Roald Dahl sometimes shared a tonal kinship with Ogden Nash, and he could demonstrate a verbal inventiveness nearly Seussian…[His] stories work better in audio than in print." -The New York Times REVOLTING RHYMES Did you think Cinderella married the prince and lived happily ever after, or that the three little pigs outsmarted the wolf? Think again! Master storyteller Roald Dahl adds his own darkly comic twists to six favorite tales, complete with rambunctious rhymes and hilarious surprise endings. DIRTY BEASTS Roald Dahl's inimitable style and humor shine in this collection of poems about mischievous and mysterious animals. From Stingaling the scorpion to Crocky-Wock the crocodile, Dahl's animals are nothing short of ridiculous. A clever pig with an unmentionable plan to save his own bacon and an anteater with an unusually large appetite are among the characters created by Dahl in these timeless rhymes. This new, larger edition is perfect for reading aloud and makes Quentin Blake's celebrated illustrations even more enjoyable. 'Will elicit a loud 'Yuck.' In other words, children will love them.' (Children's Book Review Service) From the Compact Disc edition.

Show more
Archer's Goon

Archer's Goon

Author: Diana Wynne Jones Narrator: Miriam Margolyes Release Date: 01/12/2012

Read by Miriam Margoyles.Fact: A Goon is a being who melts into the foreground and sticks there...When the Goon turns up demanding 'Archer's two thousand', life turns upside-down. As Howard desperately tries to get to the bottom of this peculiar demand, he discovers that the town is run by seven crazy wizards (not all of whom live in the present!) and someone is trying to take over the world!Exciting, bizarre and truly hilarious! Listening fun for all the family.

Show more
Troubletwisters

Troubletwisters

Author: Garth Nix and Sean Williams Narrator: Miriam Margolyes Release Date: 01/01/2011

Jaide and Jack Shield's lives are changing in a very, very strange way. The weather is turning against them. Magical disasters occur when they're around. And a mysterious explosion has just destroyed their house . . . from the inside. Without knowing why, the twins are stolen away to live with Grandma X - a relative they've never, ever met. At Grandma X's house, things are even stranger. Weather vanes point in the opposite direction of the wind. Doors appear and disappear. Cats talk. Jaide and Jack Shield don't know the reason behind all this strangeness. They don't know that they're troubletwisters, and that they must defend the world against a dark, evil force. The time has come for them to discover the truth - and the powers that come with the truth. Are they ready?

Show more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×