LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Betsy Byars - Author

About the Author

Byars was born in Charlotte, North Carolina, on August 7, 1928. Unlike many of the characters in her books, Byars grew up in a normal, loving family. Her father was an engineer and worked as a bookkeeper in a cotton mill. He was stern and hardworking and had a strong sense of humor. Her mother was a lively woman who loved acting and music. Byars's sister, Nancy, two years older, was sometimes an inspiration and sometimes an evil nemesis.

Byars's personal experiences and observations, and those of her children, are the sources of much of her fiction. As a child, she lived part of the time in the country and part of the time in the city, so she had a variety of experiences. She has vivid memories of her school years and of teachers, friends, and bullies. Many of them show up in her fiction.


 

Featured books by Betsy Byars

Other books by Betsy Byars

Disappearing Acts

Disappearing Acts

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 14/08/2018

When Herculeah Jones's best friend, Meat, decides to take a comedy class, he just expects to get a few laughs. But then he discovers a dead body in the bathroom, and realizes that there's nothing funny about murder. Things can't get any worseuntil the body disappears! Meat needs Herculeah's help to uncover the clues, but she's busy investigating a case of her own . . . one that might just change Meat's life forever!

Death's Door

Death's Door

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 17/04/2018

Herculeah Jones finds herself in the middle of another mystery when her best friend Meat barely escapes a hitman's bullet. Someone must have mistaken Meat for someone else. But who? Herculeah is determined to solve the mystery, before the assassin comes after her!

Tarot Says Beware

Tarot Says Beware

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 17/04/2018

Madame Rosa, the eccentric local fortune teller, has been murdered, and the only witness is her parrot,Tarot. But he's not talking. Herculeah Jones thinks she knows who the killer is, but she's not the only one. . . . Someone else knowssomeone who wants to make sure Herculeah won't be around to see the future.

Trouble River

Trouble River

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 03/04/2018

Safety is downriverbut first there's trouble ahead. As soon as Dewey Martin sees the Indian creeping toward the cabinand toward his unsuspecting grandmotherhe knows what to do: knock him down and take off before the rest of the raiding party arrives. The only means of escape is Dewey's homemade raft, and lying in its path are rapids, wolves, Indians, and forty miles of uncharted river. Can a boy who's never manned an oar and an old frontierswoman be the first to make it down Trouble River? ';[An] original, suspenseful story of pioneer life, enlivened by touches of humor and vivid characterizations.'Booklist

Summer of the Swans

Summer of the Swans

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 20/02/2018

A Newbery Medal WinnerAll summer Sara Godfrey has fretted over herself, her impossible body, her terrible new haircut. One moment she's elated, the next, she's in tears. And she can't figure out why. Maybe her wildly changing moods are tied to the sudden and unaccountable appearance of the swans, which hold the rapt attention of Charlie, Sara's mentally handicapped brother, who she loves far more than herself these days. In fact, it will be the sudden disappearance of Charlie that will compel Sara to abandon her own small, annoying miseries, and lose herself in searching for him. In her anguish, Sara turns to Joe Melby, whom she has long despised, and together they search through the dense woods and rough fields to find him. Sara knows that she will never be the same again."e;A compelling story."e;Publishers Weekly

Midnight Fox

Midnight Fox

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 13/02/2018

Tom hates having to spend the summer on a farm . . . until he discovers the midnight fox. No one asked Tom how he felt about spending two months on his Aunt Millie's farm. For a city boy, the farm holds countless terrorsstampeding baby lambs, boy-chasing chickens, and worst of all, loneliness. But everything changes when Tom sees the midnight fox. He can spend hours watching the graceful black fox in the woods. And when her lifeand that of her cubis in danger, Tom knows exactly what he must do. ';An exceptional book.'Booklist A Library of Congress Children's Book of the Year

Little Horse on His Own

Little Horse on His Own

Author: Betsy Byars Format: eBook Release Date: 01/12/2015

Little Horse had never known the sky to be so black, the air so still. He heard the big horses whinny again. Little Horse's fear grew. The adventures of Little Horse continue as he makes his way back to the valley of little horses and his mother The storm sets Little Horse free from the fence holding him captive, free to do what he has wanted to do since the day the river carried him around its bend and away from his home-find his way back to the valley of the little horses and his mother. But where should he turn, and how will he ever return home alive with all of the obstacles facing him? Travel with Little Horse as he struggles against unfriendly horses, a malicious bird, a pouncing cat, a smoky fire, and more to find his way home.

The Eighteenth Emergency

The Eighteenth Emergency

Author: Betsy Byars Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/07/2015

Magical storytelling, perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney, David Walliams and Roald Dahl. Mouse has a plan for every emergency. He knows how to survive a fall from a plane, what to do in quicksand, and how to bewilder a charging bull. But nohing - nobody - could be prepared for Marv Hammerman. Marv Hammerman, Neanderthal man, is twice as big as anyone else in the class, and when he is out to get someone, he usually succeeds. A timeless, poignant and funny story about bullying from Newbery Medal-Winner Betsy Byars.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.betsybyars.com/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×