LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Jill Hucklesby - Author

About the Author

Jill lives and works by the sea near Brighton. As well as being a children’s author, she has written for children’s TV and the stage.  She is currently working on her third book for young teens.  ‘Deeper Than Blue’ won the 1066 Schools’ Book award and was shortlisted for the Bolton Children’s Book award and the Cumbrian Spellbinding award.  It was also long-listed for the Branford Boase award for an outstanding first novel for children. Since launching her website, she has had many lovely messages and many of them are for Zack, her Golden Retriever!

Here's an interview with Jill, talking about If I Could Fly:

Featured books by Jill Hucklesby

Other books by Jill Hucklesby

Samphire Song

Samphire Song

Author: Jill Hucklesby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/07/2011

Samphire Song is a powerful, uplifting story about a girl and her spirited horse, fighting against the odds for fans of Cathy Cassidy, Eva Ibbotson and Michael Morpurgo. The first time I saw Samphire, I knew he was the one. He was wild, troubled, broken, but there was an instant connection so powerful I couldn't ignore it. Maybe he knew that I was broken too? Slowly, we learned to trust one another, and now we have a bond so strong that nothing can break it. So the day he disappeared from my world, it felt like my life was over. But I will find him - I'll make it my mission. Searingly beautiful and with the same gripping style as If I Could Fly, Jill Hucklesby proves herself to be a writer of books for teens worthy of comparison with the biggest names in children's literature. One of the great horse stories of recent times, from the same stable as Michael Morpurgo's epic, War Horse.

If I Could Fly

If I Could Fly

Author: Jill Hucklesby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/01/2011

If I Could Fly is an unputdownable novel with real heart for fans of Cathy Cassidy. Calypso Summer. Yeah, that really is my name. 'A girl with such a name is on a journey. She will have adventures,' my mother used to murmur in my ear. And I now I am on a journey. I'm running from something terrible - but I don't know what. It's like my brain has blocked it out. For now, I'm learning to survive: to break the System and not get caught. I've found a friend I can trust. Next stop, freedom. Somehow, somewhere ...If I Could Fly is a story you'll never forget. Tender, deeply moving and accessible, Jill Hucklesby's breakthrough book for teens is reminiscent of Eva Ibbotson and Meg Rosoff's finest work.

Last Kiss of the Butterfly

Last Kiss of the Butterfly

Author: Jill Hucklesby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/08/2008

Jaz is one determined teenager. Whether it's getting that Tae Kwon Do move just right, or investigating the latest cancer treatment to help her mum, giving-up just isn't in her vocabulary. But when her mum announces that she and Jaz will spend the summer staying in a cottage on the marshes, just the two of them, Jaz may have to realise that there are some things she can't control. Away from her friends and urban lifestyle, Jaz struggles, but slowly begins to tune into her environment and embrace her alternative summer. Jaz begins to see her mum differently. She starts to see the other sides to her mum - as a woman, not just a mother or a wife - and their relationship and understanding deepens. Jaz's outlook on life changes, as she develops strength and maturity. But there is something on the horizon for which Jaz may never be able to prepare...

Deeper Than Blue

Deeper Than Blue

Author: Jill Hucklesby Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/05/2007

Amy is a thirteen-year-old champion swimmer. When she and her best friend Sophie meet with an accident one day, Amy's life changes dramatically. Amy's story of how she comes to terms with Sophie's death and with the consequences of her accident is told with sensitivity and humour. In hospital, Amy makes friends with quirky Harry, and begins to feel more positive. Her relationship with her parents is changing too, and the family's move from Nottingham to Brighton heralds a new start. Amy starts swimming again and triumphs in a competition - she has come full circle, and we have cried and laughed with her all the way.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://jillhucklesbyproductions.co.uk

Author's Facebook

Find Jill Hucklesby on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×