LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

M. G. Harris - Author

About the Author

M.G. Harris (M.G. stands for Maria Guadalupe) was born in Mexico City. When her parents split up, five year-old M.G. moved to Frankfurt, Germany, with her air stewardess mother and younger sister, and later to Manchester, England. Growing up as a Mancunian, M.G. based her formative years around the television series Doctor Who and Blake's 7 and the fortunes of Manchester United. As a teenager, during regular visits to her father in Mexico, M.G. became fascinated by Mayan archaeology. She made several trips to Mayan ruins in Yucatan and Chiapas and one such trip gave her the seed of the idea of what would later become The Joshua Files: Invisible City.

As a student, M.G. was interested in molecular biology and studied biochemistry at St Cross College, Oxford. M.G. spent several years working in research laboratories before setting up her own internet company. Whilst visiting family in Switzerland in 2004, a skiing accident left M.G. with a shattered tibia plateau. Forced to spend many weeks recuperating from surgery, she decided to keep a promise she'd made to herself to one day pursue a career as a novelist. Writing on a laptop next to her bed, M.G. began work on a techno thriller which combined her two intellectual loves - archaeology and biology. From this initial manuscript came the idea for a story featuring a young boy searching for a lost Mayan codex... and The Joshua Files were born.

In an attempt to cover up the fact that she's a bit of a geek, M.G. spends as much time as possible going out to salsa clubs to dance. She adores anything written by her quartet of literary gurus: Haruki Murakami, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Jorge Luis Borges and Italo Calvino. M.G. lives in Oxford with her husband and their two daughters. She was the fastest-selling UK debut children's author of 2008.

You can visit the official M G Harris fansite by clicking here.

She introduces The Joshua Files in this video (and in case you missed the first one, Invisible City, there are also some intriguing details about the plot):

 

Featured books by M. G. Harris

Other books by M. G. Harris

Gemini Force I: White Storm Book 3

Gemini Force I: White Storm Book 3

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/04/2016

Ben Carrington is a member of an elite, top-secret rescue organisation - Gemini Force. When he finds himself and his friends in danger, Ben must compete with hostile ice and storms to pull off their most gruelling mission yet. Impossible rescues. Maximum risk. This is Gemini Force 1. An action-packed new installment, perfect for fans of Charlie Higson, Anthony Horowitz and Robert Muchamore.

Ice Shock

Ice Shock

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/09/2014

Dark Parallel

Dark Parallel

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2014

Invisible City

Invisible City

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2014

Apocalypse Moon

Apocalypse Moon

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2014

Zero Moment

Zero Moment

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/09/2014

Apocalypse Moon

Apocalypse Moon

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/04/2012

Zero Moment

Zero Moment

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/02/2010

Josh thinks he has discovered the key to time travel. Should he use it to go back in time and save his father? Ixchel knows what he intends to do. Should she stop him? Before they can decide, Ixchel is kidnapped by the people who want to see an ancient prophecy predicting the end of the world in 2012 come true. It's up to Josh to save Ixchel and possibly save the world. Time is running out in the exhilarating third part of the best-selling Joshua Files.

Ice Shock

Ice Shock

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/03/2009

Josh is back home, trying to resume his normal life and make sense of his Mayan adventures. But soon it becomes clear that being back in Oxford doesn't mean Josh can escape his destiny. He's even more certain now that his father's death was no accident - and he's starting to wonder if he can really trust his closest allies. But when he finds out a shocking secret, that's when the real adventure begins...

Invisible City

Invisible City

Author: M. G. Harris Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2008

When his archaeologist father goes missing after an air crash in Mexico, UFO-obsessed Josh suspects alien abduction. But after he discovers his dad was murdered, Josh is caught up in a race to find the legendary Ix Codex - a lost book of the ancient Maya containing a prophecy about the end of the world...

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.mgharris.net/

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×