LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Anna Kemp - Author

About the Author

Anna Kemp grew up in a street with a gang of kids and spent her childhood stickerswapping, playing pac-man and co-ordinating BMX displays. Later, she went to Oxford University to study French and Italian. She has also completed a PhD in French Women's Writing at King's College, London. The Worst Princess is her third book for Simon and Schuster.

Featured books by Anna Kemp

Other books by Anna Kemp

Dyw Cwn Ddim yn Dawnsio Bale

Dyw Cwn Ddim yn Dawnsio Bale

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/01/2019

Fantastic Frankie and the Brain-Drain Machine

Fantastic Frankie and the Brain-Drain Machine

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/12/2018

The first in a fantastically funny series from award-winning author of Dogs Don't Do Ballet, Anna Kemp, with illustrations from the creator of the bestselling Claude series Alex T Smith! When Frankie Blewitt brings home yet another F-for-failure school report it's the last straw for his overachieving parents and they decide to send him to the Crammar Grammar boarding school. At first he is just relieved to be away from home, but he soon realises that there's something really weird going on at Crammar Grammar... As Frankie tries to find out the secrets of the school he discovers that the headmaster, Dr Gore, has plans to turn all the students into robot-like super-brains using his Brain-drain machine! With the help of his new friends Neet and Wes, Alphonsine his crazy French nanny and a poodle named Colette, can Frankie save the day before it's too late and change the F-for- failure to F-for-fantastic? `...vigorously comic, and the plot's twists and turns are expertly judged...a bonkers treat' The Financial Times `[Anna Kemp] is a name to watch out for' Caroline Horn in The Bookseller 'An action-packed story full of humour, and illustrated with quirky black-and-white line drawings - the perfect combination for newly confident readers and a brilliant, boisterous book to share' Close Up Magazine

Dave the Lonely Monster

Dave the Lonely Monster

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/10/2018

Monstrous beasts have feelings too! This lively story of a lonely monster called Dave, who lives all alone in a retirement cave, is a lighthearted reminder that we should treat others as we would want to be treated ourselves - and that we could all do with a bit more monster in our lives! Another classic-in-the-making all about kindness from the unbeatable duo of brilliant author Anna Kemp and Sara Ogilive, illustrator of The Detective Dog. PRAISE FOR THE WORST PRINCESS: `Those sick of the cult of pink princesses will appreciate this quirky take on the traditional princess tale... A very funny new picture book' The Bookseller Children's Buyers Guide `Told in verse, and wonderfully illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this picture book is so funny it could be safely recommended for all ages' The Independent on Sunday PRAISE FOR DOGS DON'T DO BALLET: `This heart-warming and humorous story will help children to realise that everyday, including themselves, can surprise with an unexpected talent' Read Me `This is a parent and child read together, laugh together and have fun with picture, story and words sort of a book' School Librarian PRAISE FOR RHINOS DON'T EAT PANCAKES: `Offers a good-humoured warning to parents who don't listen... The massive, full-colour pictures make this a delicious book' The Independent on Sunday `Anna Kemp's heart-warming story is told simply but with humour and emotion. And at the hands of Sara Ogilvie, all the characters are brought expressively to life.' The Scotsman

Dave the Lonely Monster

Dave the Lonely Monster

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2018

Monstrous beasts have feelings too! This lively story of a lonely monster called Dave, who lives all alone in a retirement cave, is a lighthearted reminder that we should treat others as we would want to be treated ourselves - and that we could all do with a bit more monster in our lives! Another classic-in-the-making all about kindness from the unbeatable duo of brilliant author Anna Kemp and Sara Ogilive, illustrator of The Detective Dog. PRAISE FOR THE WORST PRINCESS: `Those sick of the cult of pink princesses will appreciate this quirky take on the traditional princess tale... A very funny new picture book' The Bookseller Children's Buyers Guide `Told in verse, and wonderfully illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this picture book is so funny it could be safely recommended for all ages' The Independent on Sunday PRAISE FOR DOGS DON'T DO BALLET: `This heart-warming and humorous story will help children to realise that everyday, including themselves, can surprise with an unexpected talent' Read Me `This is a parent and child read together, laugh together and have fun with picture, story and words sort of a book' School Librarian PRAISE FOR RHINOS DON'T EAT PANCAKES: `Offers a good-humoured warning to parents who don't listen... The massive, full-colour pictures make this a delicious book' The Independent on Sunday `Anna Kemp's heart-warming story is told simply but with humour and emotion. And at the hands of Sara Ogilvie, all the characters are brought expressively to life.' The Scotsman

Sir Lilypad

Sir Lilypad

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/06/2015

Once upon a time, in a deep dark bog, lived a teeny, tiny speckled frog. Now, he might be tiny (the other frogs call him stuff, like 'weedy pants') but his ambition is great. For he wants to be known henceforth as Sir Lilypad! Sir Lilypad the brave and wise! Slayer of the - er - dragonflies. And all he needs to effect this transformation? A kiss from a willing princess, of course... A new fantastically funny, froggy tale from internationally bestselling picture book duo, Anna Kemp and Sara Ogilvie.

Sir Lilypad

Sir Lilypad

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2015

Once upon a time, in a deep dark bog, lived a teeny, tiny speckled frog. Now, he might be tiny (the other frogs call him stuff, like 'weedy pants' and 'sugar puff') but his ambition is great. For he wants to be known henceforth as Sir Lilypad! Sir Lilypad the brave and wise! Slayer of the - er - dragonflies. And all he needs to effect this transformation? A kiss from a willing princess, of course... A new fantastically funny, froggy tale from internationally bestselling picture book duo, Anna Kemp and Sara Ogilvie.

The Great Brain Robbery

The Great Brain Robbery

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/07/2013

Frankie and his pals are back and trying to save the world from another diabolical scheme by the evil Dr Gore. This time he's planning to infiltrate the dreams of children everywhere using his army of robot toys! Can Frankie and his friends stop him before it's too late?

The Worst Princess

The Worst Princess

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2012

Once upon a time, in a tower near you, Lived a sad princess; the Princess Sue. Some day, she sighed, my prince will come, But I wish he'd move his royal bum. But when Princess Sue's prince finally does arrive, he's not quite what she had in mind. Find out how the feisty princess escapes the clutches of her twit of a prince in this funny, feminist twist on the traditional princess tale. Forget about pretty dresses, fairytale weddings and grand balls, Princess Sue is all about adventure, mischief and making unusual friends. She really is the worst princess! An empowering picture book from the brilliant author Anna Kemp, with illustrations by Sara Ogilive, illustrator of The Detective Dog - perfect for fans of Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World, Princess Smartypants,Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls and Ada Twist, Scientist. `Those sick of the cult of pink princesses will appreciate this quirky take on the traditional princess tale... A very funny new picture book' The Bookseller Children's Buyers Guide `Told in verse, and wonderfully illustrated by Sara Ogilvie, this picture book is so funny it could be safely recommended for all ages' The Independent on Sunday `Girl power is celebrated in this picture book that turns the princess role firmly on its head' Waking Brain Cells blog `This book will remind young girls that it takes courage and determination to be oneself, even when going after one's dreams or when beginning and ending friendships' curled up with a good kid's book

Rhinos Don't Eat Pancakes

Rhinos Don't Eat Pancakes

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/04/2011

Daisy's mum and dad are always too busy to listen to a word that she says, so when, one day, she tells them that a big purple rhino has just walked into the house and taken a chomp of her pancake, guess what? That's right - nobody listens! But there's a surprise in store for Mum and Dad when they discover that a big purple rhino has gone missing from the zoo. Perhaps they should have taken more notice of what Daisy had to say. Kids will love this funny story about a little girl and her most unlikely new friend.

Dogs Don't Do Ballet

Dogs Don't Do Ballet

Author: Anna Kemp Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2010

Meet Biff, an adorable little puppy who will stop at nothing to become a ballet dancer. My dog is not like other dogs. He doesn't do dog stuff like weeing on lampposts or scratching his fleas, or drinking out of the toilet. No, my dog likes moonlight and music and walking on his tiptoes. You see, my dog doesn't think he's a dog. My dog thinks he's a ballerina! A fabulous feel-good book about a small dog with a big personality and even bigger dreams.

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×