LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Barry Hutchison - Author

About the Author

Barry Hutchison is an award-winning children’s author and screenwriter. Since 2008 Barry has written over 80 books for children, including several based on the hit TV show, Ben 10 , and a terrifying horror series Invisible Fiends . When not writing he is usually visiting schools and libraries to run events and story-writing workshops for kids and adults alike. Barry lives with his family in Fort William.  Read a Q&A with the author here.

 

Featured books by Barry Hutchison

Other books by Barry Hutchison

Doc Mortis

Doc Mortis

Author: Barry Hutchison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/05/2021

The fourth thrilling book in this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called 'deliciously nightmarish'. The first book, Mr Mumbles, is shortlisted for the Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children's Books Kyle wakes up in hospital - which is strange, because he doesn't remember being ill. And that's not all. He's also deliriously flitting in and out of the Darkest Corners, and in the shadow version of the hospital the surfaces aren't clean, and the sharp instruments aren't used for healing. It's Kyle's most terrifying experience yet, and it's about to get much, much worse. The doctor will see him now... The fourth installment of this darkly comic horror series

The Beast

The Beast

Author: Barry Hutchison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/02/2021

The fifth thrilling book in this darkly funny, horror series Darren Shan called 'deliciously nightmarish'. The first book, Mr Mumbles, is shortlisted for the Royal Mail Awards for Scottish Children's Books Kyle is having trouble with the neighbours. They've turned into black-eyed, flesh-eating zombies. Now would be a good time to leave town but out there, on the snow covered streets, something far worse is lurking. There is a beast in the shadows and the only way for Kyle to fight it is to use his powers. But every time Kyle uses them, he weakens the barrier between this world, and the terrifying, world of the Darkest Corners. If the barrier breaks there will be more killers on the streets.

Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

Afterworlds: The Book of Doom

Author: Barry Hutchison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/01/2021

The second hilarious book in Barry's AFTERWORLDS sequence - comic fantasy perfect for fans of Terry Pratchett and Douglas Adams. There's panic up in Heaven. They have mislaid the BOOK OF DOOM - the most important object in existence. Oopsy. They think Satan might have stolen it, the sneaky little devil, so to save the world - plus, you know, quite a lot of embarrassment, fifteen year old Zac and his angelic guide Angelo are sent to retrieve it. Sadly directions aren't Angelo's strong point and they soon find themselves just as lost as the book, wandering through Afterworlds such as Valhalla and Hades and encountering some colourful characters along the way... Can the hapless pair make it to Hell and back?

Invasion of the Living Ted

Invasion of the Living Ted

Author: Barry Hutchison Illustrator: Lee Cosgrove Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Grizz, the world's most evil teddy bear, is back, and he's out for revenge! It's been three days since Grizz almost took over the world - again. Lisa Marie and Vernon have been interrogated by the police, and Bearvis and the Duds have been taken away to be studied. But things are far from over. Grizz has found a way to infiltrate the wireless networks and he's planning his revenge. As all teddy bears come to life, Lisa Marie and Vernon must battle a King-Kong-sized teddy bear with a mind for evil. It looks like they're going to need their furry friends back! The third title in this rollicking series featuring the totally indestructible and most evil of teddy bears! A laugh-out-loud read for fans of Pamela Butchart, Danny Wallace and David Baddiel.

Spectre Collectors: Rise of the Ghostfather!

Spectre Collectors: Rise of the Ghostfather!

Author: Barry Hutchison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

In their third and final spooky adventure, Denzel and his friends face the biggest, baddest ghost of all: The Ghostfather. He's making a comeback, and he needs Denzel's help, whether he likes it or not! For readers who like their funny stories to be just a little bit spooky too... Look out for other titles in the Spectre Collectors series: Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul for School, Spectre Collectors: A New York Nightmare!

Revenge of the Living Ted

Revenge of the Living Ted

Author: Barry Hutchison Illustrator: Lee Cosgrove Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/04/2019

Just when Lisa Marie and Vernon thought they'd seen the last of Grizz and his terrifying army of Halloween teddy bears, they're kidnapped by megalomaniac Ursine Kodiak, who has an army of evil bears of his own. But there's worse to come - Ursine has created an AI version of Grizz, who is now on the loose and intent on revenge... Can Lisa Marie and Vernon save the day - and the world - again? Hold on to your hats ... fur is about to fly! A pacy, laugh-out-loud sequel to NIGHT OF THE LIVING TED, perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart, Danny Wallace and David Baddiel.

Spectre Collectors: A New York Nightmare!

Spectre Collectors: A New York Nightmare!

Author: Barry Hutchison Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/09/2018

The second in Barry's Hutchison's very funny series about Denzel and his unusual friend, Smithy, full of ghouls, magic and outrageous battles. Denzel and Smithy are summoned to the US by the New York branch of the Spectre Collectors, who turn out to be two kids called Weinberg and Martinez. There's been some weird spectral activity and they need help. Soon Denzel is immersed (literally) in an adventure involving a shark, a massive gorilla and lots and lots of evil ghosts. He's even hearing voices... For readers who like their funny stories to be just a little bit spooky too... Look out for other titles in the Spectre Collectors series: Spectre Collectors: Too Ghoul for School Spectre Collectors: Rise of the Ghostfather!

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×