LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Christopher William Hill - Author

About the Author

Christopher William Hill was born in Truro, in Cornwall - a little jaundiced, but that was to be expected in the grim days of the 1970s. His mother was a former nurse, so Christopher grew up with a copy of Black's Medical Dictionary to hand, which was ideal reading matter for an enthusiastic hypochondriac. He liked acting and putting on silly voices, and collecting ancient relics which he gathered in a large walk-in wardrobe that called his 'museum'. Christopher loves walking, ocean liners, airships, Victoriana and cake shops.

Featured books by Christopher William Hill

The Lily-livered Prince

The Lily-livered Prince

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Hardback Release Date: 02/10/2014

Book 3 in the Tales of Schwartgarten series, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket.

ebook of the month

Other books by Christopher William Hill

Bleakley Brothers Mystery: What Manor of Murder?

Bleakley Brothers Mystery: What Manor of Murder?

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/07/2018

A BLEAKLEY BROTHERS MYSTERY by OSBERT THE AVENGER author Christopher William Hill What's that you say? You're off to Bleakley Manor? On Michaelmas eve? But dear child, hasn't anyone told you the legend of Old Bramble Head, who rises once a year to claim another victim from the unfortunate Bleakley household... Which one will it be this time? And could there be foul play? Crime-busting brothers Horatio and Eustace Bleakley feel certain they smell a rat. Or is that Cook's dinner? More importantly, can they solve the mystery before another Bleakley bites the dust? Go ahead and find out... if you dare!

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Marius and the Band of Blood Book 4

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Marius and the Band of Blood Book 4

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/08/2016

A gruseomely funny series for fans of Roald Dahl and Lemony Snicket. Meet Marius Myerdorf, the newest recruit of Schwartzgarten's most secret of societies. His is a tale of adventure and abduction, friendship and fearlessness, as The Band of Blood race against time to unmask two of the foulest fiends in the history of the Great City. The deeds are DASTARDLY. The twists are TERRIFYING. And happy endings are NOT always guaranteed. If you prefer CLEAVERS to KITTENS and FIENDS to FAIRIES... ...then welcome to the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten.

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Marius and the Band of Blood Book 4

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Marius and the Band of Blood Book 4

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Hardback Release Date: 27/02/2015

Meet Marius Myerdorf, the newest recruit of Schwartzgarten's most secret of societies. His is a tale of adventure and abduction, friendship and fearlessness, as The Band of Blood race against time to unmask two of the foulest fiends in the history of the Great City. The deeds are DASTARDLY. The twists are TERRIFYING. And happy endings are NOT always guaranteed. If you prefer CLEAVERS to KITTENS and FIENDS to FAIRIES... ...then welcome to the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten.

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Lily-Livered Prince Book 3

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Lily-Livered Prince Book 3

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/02/2015

Meet Eugene, the most portly of princes, and Kalvitas, the most courageous of chocolate makers. Theirs is a tale of cakes and cowardice, bullies and battles, as they set out to defeat a terrifying tyrant. The characters are CURSED. The deserts are DEADLY. And people are NOT always as they appear...

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Woebegone Twins Book 2

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Woebegone Twins Book 2

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2014

When twins Greta and Feliks are sent to the ill-omened Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children it seems their fate is sealed: that is until they are rescued by the glamorous Olga Van Veenen, a fabulously wealthy children's author, plagued by writer's block. But Olga's life is apparently in danger, threatened by a second-rate novelist who wishes to see his rival dead. When Olga and her faithful retainer, Valentin, disappear from the eerie and imposing Castle Van Veenen, many miles north by train from Schwartzgarten's Imperial Railway Station, Greta and Feliks conclude that the murderous novelist has finally exacted his revenge on Olga. Only by using their wits are the twins able to rescue their guardian before it is too late. As if by magic, Olga's writer's block lifts, and she quickly produces and publishes a new book for children. The novel has eerie similarities to the twins' adventures in Castle Van Veenen, and Greta and Feliks begin to question whether their guardian has deliberately placed them in danger for literary inspiration. But Olga Van Veenen has come too far to have her reputation muddied by the allegations of the twins, and will stop at nothing to silence them forever.

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Woebegone Twins Book 2

Tales from Schwartzgarten: The Woebegone Twins Book 2

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2013

When twins Greta and Feliks lose their beloved Aunt Gisela to a poisoned marzipan cake and are sent to the ill-omened Schwartzgarten Reformatory for Maladjusted Children it seems their fate is sealed...that is until they are rescued by the glamorous and wealthy Olga Van Veenen, a fabulous children's author. The two twins are grateful but something tells them that Olga's motives are not entirely genuine...The Woebegone Twins is a tale of murder and mayhem, fact and fiction. The heroes are horrid. The plots are peculiar. And things are not always as they seem. If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the gruesomely funny tales from Schwartzgarten.

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger Book 1

Tales from Schwartzgarten: Osbert the Avenger Book 1

Author: Christopher William Hill Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/06/2013

The first book in the gruesomely funny Tales from Schwartzgarten series. Meet Osbert Brinkhoff, the unlikeliest of avengers. His is a tale of dark delights and ghastly goings-on, of injustice and revenge. The villains are vicious. The settings are sinister. And good does NOT always prevail... If you prefer cleavers to kittens and fiends to fairies...then welcome to the GRUESOMELY FUNNY Tales from Schwartzgarten. -Osbert the Avenger is the first in a thrilling series of four books, all set in the fictional city of Schwartzgarten -With shades of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, the Tales from Schwartzgarten are as hilarious as they are dark -This brilliantly woven mock-gothic tale has huge child appeal

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×