LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Piers Torday - Author

About the Author

Piers Torday began his career in theatre and then television as a producer and writer. His bestselling first book for children, The Last Wild, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Award and nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal as well as numerous other awards. His second book, The Dark Wild, won the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize. The third book in the trilogy, The Wild Beyond, was published in 2015 to critical acclaim. His next book for children, There May Be a Castle, was published in October 2016.

In regular demand as a speaker at schools and festivals, Piers is also a reading helper with Beanstalk, a former judge on the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize, a Patron of Reading at Heathmere School and a trustee of the Pleasance Theatre.

Born in Northumberland, Piers now lives in London with his husband and hopefully a cat.

Piers Torday writes...

I was born in Northumberland, which is possibly the one part of England where more animals live than people, and  spent my early years crawling around on the floor of the popular children’s bookshop that my mother ran.

The first book I can remember reading is Peter Rabbit by Beatrix Potter.  “Stop thief!”

I was a total bookworm and read everything I could lay my hands on, from Beatrix Potter to Babar, Moomintrolls to Hobbits.  Some of my favourite books included Stig Of The Dump, The Land of Green Ginger and The Silver Sword.

I also loved comic books, especially all of Tintin and Asterix.  So I tried to write one.

When I was 8, I won a cartoon competition in the local paper with my entry “Super Sid”, a comic strip about a superhero called Sid.  Unfortunately his main super power was being called Sid, and so he didn’t last long.

My  first proper story was written age 13, which starts – ‘Sam was a dog.  And like most dogs, he was a detective.’

This should have led to a promising career in canine detective fiction but at school and university I became completely distracted by theatre &  comedy, which is where I then started my working life -  at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, producing plays and sketch shows, and occasionally writing them too.

I am very proud to still be a Trustee of the Pleasance Theatre, which gave me my first ever job, and every year gives hundreds of new writers, performers, producers and technicians their first break.

After that, I accidentally came up with a successful gameshow called Come and Have A Go If You Think You’re Smart Enough and moved into television.   I still work in TV, developing programme ideas and occasionally being allowed to make them – including Argumental and DSF: Olivia Lee (Series 1 &2).

But deep down the thing I most wanted to do was write stories like the ones I grew up on, and after my Dad wrote his first book at the age of 60 - Salmon Fishing In The Yemen - I felt inspired.  So I went on a marvellous Arvon Course at Ted Hughes’ old house in West Yorkshire.  They were very encouraging – and I began to write a book.

That book eventually became The Last Wild, and I am currently writing the next installment in the story.

In between, I have just been trained as a Volunteer Reader by VRH and can’t wait to start helping children in my local London schools to enjoy books and stories like I did when I was younger.

Featured books by Piers Torday

Other books by Piers Torday

The Frozen Sea

The Frozen Sea

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2020

'If you can imagine it, it exists ... somewhere.' The second incredible instalment of a spellbinding fantasy adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy. It is 1984 and forty years since Simon, Patricia and Evelyn and Larry first stepped through a magical library door into the enchanted world of Folio. When Patricia's daughter, Jewel, makes a mysterious discovery in an old bookshop, she begins a quest that will make her question everything she thought she knew. Summoned to Folio, she must rescue a missing prince, helped only by her pet hamster and a malfunctioning robot. Their mission to the Frozen Sea will bring them face-to-face with a danger both more deadly and more magnificent than they ever imagined. What Jewel discovers will change not just who she thinks she is, but who we all think we are...

The Frozen Sea

The Frozen Sea

Author: Piers Torday Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/09/2019

A spellbinding adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy. 'A dazzling adventure by an award-winning storyteller' i Newspaper 'Utterly brilliant ... a nail-biting adventure of twists and turns' Book Trust Jewel Hastings doesn't know who she is. But she is about to discover that she is one of the most remarkable people to have ever walked the earth... On the run from school bullies, Jewel tumbles through the door of a mysterious old bookshop and falls headlong into Folio, the world of the imagination. There, she must begin a quest to rescue her missing aunt, helped only by her rude pet hamster Fizz and a malfunctioning copper robot. From the shimmering lights of the Idea Jungle, to the desolate expanse of the Frozen Sea, their mission will bring them face-to-face with a danger both more magnificent and more deadly than they ever imagined. And what Jewel discovers will change her life, for ever... 'Masterly storytelling - both entertaining and profound' THE TIMES on THE LOST MAGICIAN

Christmas Carol: A Fairy Tale

Christmas Carol: A Fairy Tale

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/05/2019

Things are going to be different. Very different... 1838, London. Jacob Marley is dead. And so is Ebenezer Scrooge... In this reinvention of the timeless classic, Ebenezer has died and his sister Fan has inherited his money-lending business. She rapidly becomes notorious as the most monstrous miser ever known, a legendary misanthrope, lonely, and despised by all who cross her path. This year, on Christmas Eve, Fan Scrooge will be haunted by three spirits. They want her to change. But will she? Charles Dickens's traditional story was adapted for the stage by renowned author Piers Torday, and came to life in the Dickensian environment of the world's oldest-surviving music hall, Wilton's Music Hall, London, in 2019. It will prove a festive gift for amateur theatre companies seeking an original, female-led version with lashings of goodwill to all men - and women. Piers Torday's bestselling series for children, The Last Wild trilogy, has been sold all over the world, was nominated for the Waterstone's Children Book Award, and won the Guardian's Children's Fiction Prize. He also adapted The Box of Delights for Wilton's.

Box of Delights

Box of Delights

Author: Piers Torday Format: eBook Release Date: 28/12/2017

Kay Harker is heading home for the school holidays. Recently orphaned, he knows this Christmas will be different but nothing could prepare him for the journey that lies ahead. On the train he meets an old magician, Cole Hawlings, who charges Kay with safeguarding a wondrous device that has time-travelling powers. It's an instrument that Cole's nemesis, the wicked sorcerer Abner Brown, will stop at nothing to steal for himself. And so when the old man mysteriously disappears, Kay faces the fight of his life. He must protect both the Box of Delights and, with it, the people he loves. The Box of Delights is a magical and festive adventure in which one boy must confront the secrets of the past to defeat the evil in his present. The future of Christmas itself depends upon him.Adapted for the stage for the first time by Piers Today, John Masefield's much-loved classic The Box of Delightspremiered at Wilton's Music Hall in December 2017.'One of the greatest children's books ever written.' The Times

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Wild Beyond Book 3

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Wild Beyond Book 3

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2015

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILE FROM THE WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine Rundell This is the story of a boy named Kester. He has rescued the last wild animals in the world, and saved his capital city from destruction. But now he must face his greatest challenge yet, because: 1. The only blue whale on the planet has brought news from across the ocean 2. A mysterious steel dome has risen from the Four Towers 3. Out there, somewhere, a brave mouse holds the key to the future...

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.pierstorday.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×