LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Julia Lee - Author

About the Author

Julia Lee has been making up stories for as long as she can remember. She wrote her first book aged 5, mainly so that she could do all the illustrations with a brand-new 4-colour pen, and her mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. Julia grew up in London, but moved to the seaside to study English at university, and has stayed there ever since. Her career has been a series of accidents, discovering lots of jobs she didn’t want to do, because secretly she always wanted to be a writer.  Julia is married, has two sons, and lives in Sussex.
She has written books for grown-ups under the name Julia Widdows.

Featured books by Julia Lee

Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Julia Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/03/2016

On this day 24th June 1920 I turned fourteen. I plan to have a very exciting future now that I have thrown off the SHACKLES of SCHOOL! A detective is what I would most like to be. I cannot think of any reason why I could not be one. Except perhaps I am too young. And I don't like blood. Nancy Parker has recently been engaged in her first position - as a housemaid for the very modern Mrs Bryce. It's not Nancy's dream job (she'd rather be investigating crimes like they do in her beloved six-penny thrillers) but as Mrs Bryce starts to entertain her new neighbours with lavish parties, it becomes clear that something strange and interesting might be afoot. Local burglaries, a cook with a deep, dark secret - and Mrs Bryce's own glamorous but murky past. Will Nancy solve the mysteries while still keeping on top of her chores? 

ebook of the month

Other books by Julia Lee

Nancy Parker's Chilling Conclusions

Nancy Parker's Chilling Conclusions

Author: Julia Lee Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/01/2018

Maidservants, Mystery, and Murder! Everyone's favourite housemaid-detective is back! Nancy has a new job as a ladies' maid, and is accompanying her new employer on a visit to the grand and mysterious Midwinter Manor. The house is full of guests, and with each one eccentric and intriguing in their own way, it's set to be an interesting few days. But things turn from interesting to downright deadly when Nancy discovers a dead body in the library. A funny and energetic middle-grade mystery, narrated part in the third person and part through Nancy's illustrated journal. Perfect for fans of Murder Most Unladylike and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow.

Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

Nancy Parker's Diary of Detection

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Julia Lee Format: Paperback Release Date: 03/03/2016

On this day 24th June 1920 I turned fourteen. I plan to have a very exciting future now that I have thrown off the SHACKLES of SCHOOL! A detective is what I would most like to be. I cannot think of any reason why I could not be one. Except perhaps I am too young. And I don't like blood. Nancy Parker has recently been engaged in her first position - as a housemaid for the very modern Mrs Bryce. It's not Nancy's dream job (she'd rather be investigating crimes like they do in her beloved six-penny thrillers) but as Mrs Bryce starts to entertain her new neighbours with lavish parties, it becomes clear that something strange and interesting might be afoot. Local burglaries, a cook with a deep, dark secret - and Mrs Bryce's own glamorous but murky past. Will Nancy solve the mysteries while still keeping on top of her chores? 

ebook of the month

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×