LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Rohan Gavin - Author

About the Author

Rohan Gavin is an author and screenwriter based in London. He is a huge fan of Sherlock Holmes and his enduring love of detective fiction, cars and conspiracy theories inspired him to write this book, the first in a series. Rohan is the son of award-winning children's author Jamila Gavin, and he recently became a father himself.

A Q&A with Rohan Gavin
1. Whate are your 5 favourite books, and why?
Danny Champion of the World by Roald Dahl -- as mentioned already, it’s a brilliant depiction of a father and son, and the dreams of adventure that every child imagines they might take with their dad. I was lucky enough to meet Roald Dahl at a book signing when I was a child and he commented on us having a similar first name!
Sherlock Holmes: The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle -- my favourite of the Holmes tales because it challenges Sherlock to confront the possibility of supernatural forces. Also it’s just a very scary and suspenseful book.
Great Expectations by Charles Dickens -- not the most original choice but one of the greatest plots ever written with huge characters that stay in your imagination, and a haunting description of the corrupting nature of power, whether it be money, or the power women can have over men.
The Spy Who Loved Me by Ian Fleming -- I love the Bond novels and the movies that followed them. They inspired me to write a series with characters that could hopefully live on and grow in future adventures. I also like the comforting, almost soap opera quality of having the same characters rearranged into different situations every time. The Spy Who Loved Me is one of the more unusual stories because it’s told by a woman, and Bond doesn’t arrive until quite late in the story, but then of course he saves the day.
The Stand by Stephen King -- I read this while I was travelling in the US and it’s really a modern day Paradise Lost, an epic battle of good versus evil, played out in a vast, apocalyptic version of America. It’s very haunting and definitely not for the faint of heart.
2. Who are your 5 favourite authors/illustrators, and why?
Roald Dahl -- for his wit, warmth and darkness in equal measures.
Sir Arthur Conan Doyle -- for his intricate plots, deductive reasoning, and the legendary central relationship of Holmes and Watson.
Charles Dickens -- for his ability to combine what was considered almost pulp fiction with piercing social comment and just brilliant writing.
Ian Fleming -- for pure entertainment value and the strength of his central character who will probably live forever.
Stephen King -- for his ability to scare, entertain and question our view of reality-- articularly his ability to take the ordinary (a car, a dog, a school graduation) and make them terrifying.
3. What was your favourite book when you were a child?
Apart from the books mentioned above, I was a big Herge’s Tintin fan.
4. Who is your favourite hero in a book?
Sherlock Holmes.
5. Who is your favourite villain in a book?
Randall Flagg from Stephen King’s The Stand and The Dark Tower series.
6. If you could be a character from a book who would you be?
James Bond--like most Englishmen if they were honest.
7. If you could recommend just one book for everyone to read what would it be?
Knightley & Son, obviously.
8. What book do you wish you had written?
Knightley & Son book 3 -- I don’t even have a plot for it yet.
9. Who or what was your biggest influence in deciding to become a writer?
My mother for being a writer herself and never giving up, and my father for giving me the father-son material that helped me create Knightley & Son.
10. What inspired you to write your latest book?
The eternal problem of fathers and sons, and the fantasies every child has of what their parents might be capable of, and what they themselves might be capable of too.
11. What's the best thing you've ever written?
Knightley & Son.
12. When did you start writing?
When I was writing short screenplays to apply to film school in my early 20’s.
13. If someone wanted to be a writer what would be your number one tip for them?
Persistence, finding your voice and being true to it despite any criticisms you encounter.
14. Is there any particular routine involved in your writing process (favourite pen, lucky charm, special jumper)?
I listen to a lot of music, especially film soundtracks because they get me into the mood of a scene or a character. Music was my first love and it still influences everything I do. I find music is a shortcut to emotion, and for that reason it’s very useful, whether I’m writing something scary or something funny.
15. Do you have any abandoned stories in you ‘bottom drawer’ that you would like to revisit?
I have a large file of ideas and concepts that were originally intended for screenplays, but they might make an appearance in future Knightley instalments

Featured books by Rohan Gavin

Other books by Rohan Gavin

3 of a Kind

3 of a Kind

Author: Rohan Gavin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/01/2016

Who will hold the winning hand? Sherlock meets Ocean's Eleven in this wickedly funny, action-packed crime caper. Darkus Knightley is used to expecting the unexpected. An extraordinary solver of crimes, with immense powers of deduction, and regularly found bedecked in tweed, Darkus is anything but the average 13-year-old. But he is the person to call when strange goings-on are afoot! Despite trying to leave his detective ways behind to lead a normal teenage life, when his father's loyal housekeeper, Bogna, goes missing, Darkus must return to the family fold and follow the clues to America and the bright lights of Las Vegas. Alongside his father, Alan, and stepsister, Tilly, Darkus must once again face the deadly criminal organisation, the Combination - and this time, all bets are off. With danger at every turn, Knightley and Son will need an ace or two up their sleeves in order to win this game. Will the odds be in our detective duo's favour? Or will this be the Knightleys' final roll of the dice? Perfect for fans of Sherlock, this thrilling crime adventure will keep you on the edge of your seats. www.knightleyandson.com

K-9

K-9

Author: Rohan Gavin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2015

Darkus Knightley - tweed-wearing, mega-brained, thoroughly logical 13-year-old investigator of the weird - was just getting used to having his dad back in his life. Then Alan Knightley went off-radar, again, leaving Darkus with a traumatised ex-bomb-disposal dog as his only partner in crime-solving. Now things are getting even stranger. Family pets are being savaged by a beast at a top London beauty spot. Policemen have been tracked and attacked by a particularly aggressive canine. And two curiously alert hounds seem to be watching Darkus's house. No one is using the word werewolf - yet - but as the full moon approaches, it doesn't take Sherlock Holmes to work out that someone or something sinister is messing with the minds of London's dog population. A mysterious canine conspiracy is howling for the attention of Knightley & Son ... Criminally good detective adventure, perfect for fans of Sherlock and sharp-minded sleuths of all shapes and sizes ... www.knightleyandson.com

Knightley and Son

Knightley and Son

Author: Rohan Gavin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/11/2015

Meet Knightley and Son - two great detectives for the price of one ... Darkus Knightley is not your average 13-year-old: ferociously logical, super-smart and with a fondness for tweed, detective work is in his blood. His dad Alan Knightley was London's top private investigator and an expert in crimes too strange for Scotland Yard to handle, but four years ago the unexplained finally caught up with him - and he fell into a mysterious coma. Darkus is determined to follow in his father's footsteps and find out what really happened. But when Alan suddenly wakes up, his memory is wonky and he needs help. The game is afoot for Knightley & Son - with a mystery that gets weirder by the minute, a bestselling book that makes its readers commit terrible crimes, and a sinister organisation known as the Combination ... A funny, warm, fantastical crime caper with an unlikely hero and a brilliant comic cast, perfect for fans ofSherlock and criminally good storytelling.

Knightley and Son

Knightley and Son

Author: Rohan Gavin Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2014

Meet Knightley and Son - two great detectives for the price of one . . . Darkus Knightley is not your average thirteen-year-old: ferociously logical, super-smart and with a fondness for tweed, detective work is in his blood. His dad Alan Knightley was London's top private investigator and an expert in crimes too strange for Scotland Yard to handle, but four years ago the unexplained finally caught up with him - and he fell into a mysterious coma. Darkus is determined to follow in his father's footsteps and find out what really happened. But when Alan suddenly wakes up, his memory is wonky and he needs help. The game is afoot for Knightley & Son - with a mystery that gets weirder by the minute, a bestselling book that makes its readers commit terrible crimes, and a sinister organisation known as the Combination . . . A funny, warm, fantastical crime caper with an unlikely hero and a brilliant comic cast, perfect for fans of Sherlock and criminally good storytelling.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.knightleyandson.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×