LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Pip Jones - Author

About the Author

Pip Jones is a freelance journalist. Squishy McFluff won the inaugural Greenhouse Funny Prize in 2012 and Pip is delighted to bring him to the page at Faber. She lives in East London with her partner, her two daughters and a real invisible cat. She writes a lot. She is the author of four other Squishsy McFluff books, several pitcure books (including Daddy's Sandwich and The Chocolate Monster) and her new series Piggy Handsome is coming out in summer 2017.

Featured books by Pip Jones

Daddy's Sandwich

Daddy's Sandwich

3+ readers

Author: Pip Jones Format: Hardback Release Date: 07/05/2015

This is a brilliantly funny and charming picture book... Daddy, would you like a sandwich, with all your favourite things...? This book lets you join one little girl on her quest to make her father the perfect sandwich, whether he likes it or not...

ebook of the month
Daddy's Sandwich

Daddy's Sandwich

3+ readers

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback Release Date: 07/05/2015

From Squishy McFluff author Pip Jones and bright new talent Laura Hughes, this is a brilliantly funny and charming picture book perfect for ages 3+ and for Fathers' Day gifts.

ebook of the month

Other books by Pip Jones

Reading Planet - The Bright Polar Day - Blue: Galaxy

Reading Planet - The Bright Polar Day - Blue: Galaxy

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/08/2020

Inuk cannot get to sleep. Where he lives in the Arctic Circle, it doesn't get dark in the summer months - even at night! But, his mum and dad hatch a plan to bring the darkness back for bedtime. The Bright Polar Day is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 5-6 years

Bug Club Shared Reading: The Perfect Pet Problem (Reception)

Bug Club Shared Reading: The Perfect Pet Problem (Reception)

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2020

'It's your birthday, oh hooray! And you can pick a pet today!' When Flora blows out the candles on her birthday cake, there's nothing she wants more than her own pet. With the help of Uncle Midge's magic bangle, her wish might just be about to come true. From a rabbiphant to a gorilligator, an eaglion to an octoquokkapus, Flora can create any pet she can imagine! But will she ever find her perfect pet? Highly engaging, illustrated picture book to be read out loud to children aged 4-5 Ideal for reading aloud at home with your child Helps expose your child to rich language and curriculum-linked vocabulary Includes key terms from Science and the topic area of animals Part of the Bug Club reading series used in over 3500 schools 'These books are a great start to addressing the wider curriculum and the vocabulary issues that schools are identifying.' - Assistant Head, Primary Academy The Bug Club Shared books are highly engaging, beautifully illustrated stories designed to be read out loud to children. The programme exposes children to rich, curriculum-linked vocabulary, helping to build an understanding across school subjects and cultivate a love for reading.

Bug Club Shared Reading: The Speediest Sloth (Year 2)

Bug Club Shared Reading: The Speediest Sloth (Year 2)

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2020

Sprint is the speediest sloth in the jungle. She's so much quicker than Mama sloth and her brother and sister. She races up the tallest trees to find the biggest mangoes, beating everyone else to it. But one day, Sprint goes too far and encounters someone less than friendly. Maybe Sprint isn't the speediest sloth after all ... Highly engaging, illustrated picture book to be read out loud to children aged 6-7 Ideal for reading aloud at home with your child Helps expose your child to rich language and curriculum-linked vocabulary Includes key terms from Science and the topic area of life cycles Part of the Bug Club reading series used in over 3500 schools 'These books are a great start to addressing the wider curriculum and the vocabulary issues that schools are identifying.' - Assistant Head, Primary Academy The Bug Club Shared books are highly engaging, beautifully illustrated stories designed to be read out loud to children. The programme exposes children to rich, curriculum-linked vocabulary, helping to build an understanding across school subjects and cultivate a love for reading.

Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention

Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/10/2019

WH SMITH BOOK OF THE YEAR 2019! Izzy and Fixer are back for more machine mayhem . . . While their fellow contestants at the Invention Convention are intent on making shiny new things using old power, can Izzy and Fixer build a recycling machine fuelled by nature... AND win the coveted Genius Guild badge along the way? A joyful celebration of the magic of make-do-and-mend from the creators of the much-loved Izzy Gizmo. PRAISE FOR IZZY GIZMO: 'Jones's loping, engaging rhymes and Ogilvie's vivacious images evoke both inspiration and frustration' The Guardian

Izzy Gizmo

Izzy Gizmo

Author: Pip Jones Format: Board book Release Date: 01/10/2019

Everyone's favourite inventor is now available in board book format! Izzy Gizmo, a girl who LOVED to invent, carried her tool bag wherever she went in case she discovered a thing to be mended, or a gadget to tweak to make to make it more splendid. Izabelle Gizmo just loves to invent, but her inventions never seem to work the way she wants them to. And that makes her really CROSS! When she finds a crow with a broken wing she just has to help. But will she be able to put her frustrations to one side and help her new friend to fly again? Shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Children's Book Prize 2017, this empowering book is perfect for fans of Rosie Revere, Engineer, Fantastically Great Women Who Changed the World and Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls. 'If you're looking for a new book with a determined, strong female role model then this is for you' Being a Mummy blog 'This was such a fun book. We need more books with girl inventors!' Twirling Book Princess blog 'This exuberantly riotous story... blends the fun of rhyme with the touching friendship between a charismatic crow and a never-say-die young inventor'Lancashire Evening Post 'A lovely story of ingenuity and determination' Parents in Touch 'I doubt many will fail to fall for Izzy and her mechanical mind. Pip Jones' rhyming narrative is a cracker to read aloud and Sara Ogilvie's imagination must be almost as fertile as young Izzy's... A real riot.' Red Reading Hub blog 'Jones's loping, engaging rhymes and Ogilvie's vivacious images evoke both inspiration and frustration' The Guardian

Reading Planet - Lila Scamp and the Dragon's Wish - Turquoise: Galaxy

Reading Planet - Lila Scamp and the Dragon's Wish - Turquoise: Galaxy

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2019

Lila and Barney are helping Queen Cassie to prepare for the Whispering Wood Waltz but they can't believe their eyes when they find a large, miserable dragon sitting on their flowerbeds! Can Lila find a way to cheer up Dot the dragon and still be home in time for the waltz? Lila Scamp and the Dragon's Wish is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 6-7 years

Reading Planet - What We Wore - Gold: Galaxy

Reading Planet - What We Wore - Gold: Galaxy

Author: Pip Jones Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 26/04/2019

How has fashion changed throughout history? What did the Victorians wear? Why did everyone have to mend clothes in war times, rather than buy new ones? In this book, children jump into a time machine to find out what we wore! What We Wore is part of the Galaxy range of books from Rising Stars Reading Planet. Galaxy provides captivating fiction and non-fiction for Pink A to White band. The rich collection of highly decodable books immerses children in a range of cross-curricular topics and genres. Reading Planet books have been carefully levelled to support children in becoming fluent and confident readers. Each book features useful notes and activities to support reading at home as well as comprehension questions to check understanding. Reading age: 6-7 years

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.pipjones.net/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×