LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Bea Davenport - Author

About the Author

Bea’s first novel The Serpent House was written during her Creative Writing PhD at Newcastle University. Her tutors were Jackie Kay, the award-winning poet and writer, and Professor Kim Reynolds, an internationally-renowned expert in children’s literature.

In its early, unpublished form, The Serpent House was shortlisted for The Times/Chicken House award.

The Misper was longlisted in a Mslexia Writing for Children competition and is published by The Conrad Press.
Bea has also written two crime novels for adults, In Too Deep and This Little Piggy, and teaches journalism and creative writing.

She lives near Berwick-upon-Tweed in Northumberland with her partner and children.

A Q&A with the author on her latest novel The Misper:

Describe your book in one sentence?
Anna and Zoe turn to magic to try to shake off their geeky friend Kerry – but they should’ve been careful what they wished for.

Who’s your favourite character in the novel?
Anna’s the nicest of the three. But I have a massive soft spot for troublesome Zoe. She’s so bright and so prickly.

Shakespeare or Dickens?
Both, of course! But if I have to choose, George Eliot.

Favourite author?
I can never answer this as I don’t have a single favourite. I have a huge long list and it changes from week to week. At the moment Neil Gaiman is very near the top of the list but it’s very often the last author I read.

Favourite character from a book?
I’ve always had a soft spot for Pippi Longstocking. I like a free spirit!

Prefer books or the film adaptations?
Always, always books! It’s not that there aren’t some fantastic film adaptations, as there are, but if I was on a desert island I’d rather it had a library than a cinema.

If you weren’t an author, you would be…
I was a journalist for many years and that was a fun job. And I’ve always liked the idea of playing a baddie character in a TV soap.

Favourite place/setting to read a book?
On holiday, anywhere in the sun. That way I don’t get the niggling feeling I should be working instead of reading.

What inspired you to write your book?
A couple of things: When I was very little, I remember the excitement of organising a Halloween party and that was the starting point for the story – but then it got darker and darker, so it needed to be for older readers than I first intended. But also, I’ve seen what it is like to feel on the outside edge of a friendship group and I also know what it’s like when someone tags onto you that you don’t really want around. So I wanted to explore friendship dynamics.

If you had a dinner party what three authors or characters from literature would you invite?
First would be Edith Nesbit, author of the first ever historical time fantasy for children (The Story of the Amulet). I’d love to ask her about the genre she started and the way it’s so popular today. I’d invite Dorothy Parker to make everyone laugh. Finally I’d invite Mary Poppins, so that she could magic us up a feast and clear it up at the end with a click of her fingers.

When did you start writing?
Like most writers, I scribbled stories from the age of about eight or nine. They were just bad versions of Enid Blyton’s adventure tales. I carried on writing while working as a journalist, but I only had the courage to show anyone my writing a few years ago.

How long does it take to write a book?
It depends on the book and a lot of other factors. My first crime novel for adults took a few years, because I only got the chance to write now and again while working and having young children. The second adult novel only took a few months! The Misper took about a year to write the first draft but it’s been through a zillion changes, so all in all, I guess it took three or four years.

Where do you get your ideas from?
Everywhere! I’m a typical journalist – I love listening to what people say and to what they don’t say, and I’m always on the spy for story ideas. There’s hardly a day goes by when I don’t find myself thinking, ‘Oooh! There’s a good story idea…’

Do you base your characters on people you know?
Not deliberately! But I think all writers use little bits of people they’ve met and weave them together to make a composite character. My partner spotted the character of Tom in The Serpent House doing something that he regularly does. Fortunately he didn’t mind me pinching his actions to use in the book!

 

Featured books by Bea Davenport

Other books by Bea Davenport

In Too Deep: All-consuming crime thriller you won't be able to put down

In Too Deep: All-consuming crime thriller you won't be able to put down

Author: Bea Davenport Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/08/2018

In Too Deep

In Too Deep

Author: Bea Davenport Format: eBook Release Date: 15/08/2018

"e;The window's so small I can't see what happens next. But what I do know is that Kim is dead. And I know this, too - that I helped to kill her. Kim, my lovely, only, best friend."e; Five years ago Maura fled life in Dowerby and took on a new identity, desperately trying to piece her life back together and escape the dark clouds that plagued her past. But then a reporter tracks her down, and persuades her to tell her story, putting her own life in danger once again. It's the story of a friendship between two women in a small, Northern town where nothing much happens... but there is something sinister lurking beneath the surface. Dowerby's hidden secrets of violence and deceit must be revealed... but at what consequence?Bea Davenport brings us a believable yet gripping suspense thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Mark Edwards and B A Paris. 'A tense and suspenseful debut.' Margaret Murphy 'Davenport deftly weaves the mystery surrounding Kim's death and Maura's evolution from victim of her fears to fully functional adult into a seamless whole.' Publisher's Weekly 'In Too Deep is a thrilling crime novel, so suspenseful that...it'll have you poring over its contents until 3am...' Laura Steven, Living North Magazine

Misper

Misper

Author: Bea Davenport Format: eBook Release Date: 01/03/2018

I knew this girl, you see. A sort of a friend. No one thought she really mattered much, but that turned out to be a mistake. Because she blew a hole through my life - and the lives of everyone I knew.Anna's found the perfect friend in Zoe: she's cool, she's smart, she's goth, she's gorgeous. If only geeky Kerry would stop hanging around and cramping their style. They'd like to get rid of her. But they should be careful what they wish for...The Misper by best-selling crime and children's writer Bea Davenport is a gripping story of obsessive friendships, jealousies, bullying - and the consequences of your actions.

This Little Piggy

This Little Piggy

Author: Bea Davenport Format: eBook Release Date: 01/02/2016

In Too Deep

In Too Deep

Author: Bea Davenport Format: eBook Release Date: 01/07/2015

My Cousin Faustine

My Cousin Faustine

Author: Bea Davenport Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2015

This Little Piggy: A gripping, page-turning crime thriller

This Little Piggy: A gripping, page-turning crime thriller

Author: Bea Davenport Format: eBook Release Date: 01/10/2014

'Addictive reading... Bea has a rare ability to create the true atmosphere of a place and time, and to take the reader there.' --Rachel Abbott'This Little Piggy is a gripping, devastating and utterly absorbing read. I found myself thinking of the characters long after the book had ended.' --Emma Kavanagh'Deeply compelling, quietly threatening.' --Caro RamsayIt's the summer of 1984 and there is a sense of unease on the troubled Sweetmeadows estate. The residents are in shock after the suspicious death of a baby and tension is growing due to the ongoing miners' strike.Journalist Clare Jackson follows the story as police bungle the inquiry and struggle to contain the escalating violence. Haunted by a personal trauma she can't face up to, Clare is shadowed by nine-year-old Amy, a bright but neglected little girl who seems to know more about the incident than she's letting on.As the days go on and the killer is not found, Clare ignores warnings not to get too close to her stories and, in doing so, puts her own life in jeopardy.A gripping thriller perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Mark Edwards and B A Paris

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×