LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Lisa Heathfield - Author

About the Author

Lisa lives in Brighton with her husband and three sons. Before becoming a mum, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read.

After teaching, she ran a café in Brighton for seven years.  In the middle of the general chaos of her lovely children, baking for the café and stumbling through running her own business, she wrote her first novel.

Featured books by Lisa Heathfield

Paper Butterflies

Paper Butterflies

YA readers

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/06/2016

June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a jar. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away. But freedom comes at a price... Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson's The Art of Being Normal, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan, Jennifer Niven and Louise O'Neill.

ebook of the month

Other books by Lisa Heathfield

I Am Not a Number

I Am Not a Number

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 27/06/2019

The powerful and heart-wrenching new novel from Lisa Heathfield, award-winning author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Louise O'Neill and Lisa Williamson. The Traditionals have been voted to lead the country, winning people over with talks of healing a broken society, of stronger families and safer streets. They promised a happier future for everyone. They didn't promise this. When Ruby is swept up with protesters from the opposition, her life is changed forever. Locked in a prison camp far from home and with her belongings taken from her, she's now known by the number 276. With horror escalating in the camp, Ruby knows that she has to get her family out - and let the world know what's happening. Set in the present day, I Am Not A Number is a powerful and timely book for both young adults and adults alike. Lisa Heathfield's other books: Seed 9781405275385 Paper Butterflies 9781405275392 Flight of a Starling 9781405285902

Flight of a Starling

Flight of a Starling

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/06/2017

The stunning new novel from award-shortlisted Lisa Heathfield, author of Seed and Paper Butterflies. Perfect for fans of Jennifer Niven's All the Bright Places, Lisa Williamson, Sarah Crossan and Sara Barnard. Rita and Lo, sisters and best friends, have spent their lives on the wing - flying through the air in their trapeze act, never staying in one place for long. Behind the greasepaint and the glitter, they know that the true magic is the family they travel with. Until Lo meets a boy. Suddenly, she wants nothing more than to stay still. And as secrets start to tear apart the close-knit circus community, how far will Lo go to keep her feet on the ground? Flight of a Starling is a heartbreaking read with an important message. `We are obsessed with Seed' - YA Love Magazine 'It broke my heart over and over. Destined to be one of THE most important books this year' - Melinda Salisbury, author of The Sin Eater's Daughter, on Paper Butterflies Lisa Heathfield launched her writing career with Seed, her stunning young adult fiction debut about a cult, before writing Paper Butterflies, her beautiful and heart-breaking second novel. Before becoming a mum to her three sons, she was a secondary school English teacher and loved inspiring teenagers to read. Lisa lives in Brighton.

Paper Butterflies

Paper Butterflies

YA readers

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/06/2016

June's life at home with her stepmother and stepsister is a dark one - and a secret one. Not even her father knows about it. She's trapped like a butterfly in a jar. But then she meets Blister, a boy in the woods. And in him, June recognises the tiniest glimmer of hope that perhaps she can find a way to fly far, far away. But freedom comes at a price... Paper Butterflies is an unforgettable read, perfect for fans of Lisa Williamson's The Art of Being Normal, Jandy Nelson, Sarah Crossan, Jennifer Niven and Louise O'Neill.

ebook of the month
Seed

Seed

Author: Lisa Heathfield Format: eBook Release Date: 10/03/2015

All that Pearl knows can be encapsulated in one word: Seed. It is the isolated community that she was born into. It is the land that she sows and reaps. It is the center of her family and everything that means home. And it is all kept under the watchful eye of Papa S.At fifteen years old, Pearl is finally old enough to be chosen as Papa S.s companion. She feels excitement . . . and surprising trepidation that she cannot explain. The arrival of a new family into the Seed communityparticularly the teenage son, Ellisonly complicates the life and lifestyle that Pearl has depended upon as safe and constant. Ellis is compelling, charming, and worldly, and he seems to have a lot of answers to questions Pearl has never thought to ask. But as Pearl digs to the roots of the truth, only she can decide what she will allow to come to the surface.Lisa Heathfields suspenseful, scintillating debut features a compelling voice that combines blithe navet, keen observation, and sincere emotion.

Author Info

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×