LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Emily Barr - Author

About the Author

Emily Barr worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became Backpack, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world.

The One Memory of Flora Banks is her first novel for young adults. She lives in Cornwall with her partner and their children.

Featured books by Emily Barr

Other books by Emily Barr

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

Author: Emily Barr Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/05/2019

TFW you wake up and realise you're trending... #GirlOutoftheWoods Arty has always lived in the Clearing, a commune hidden in the forests of south India. But her happy life, separate from the rest of the world, is shattered after a terrible event. For the first time, Arty must leave her home, and head into the intriguing but frightening outside world. On the streets of India, a chance encounter leads to her becoming an unwilling overnight celebrity. As she embarks on her journey, she discovers she is being followed by thousands of strangers, who seem to know her every move... Forced to fight against mysterious hashtags and being constantly photographed, how can she find the help she desperately needs? Everything is changing too fast for this girl who came out of the woods... could she be running into a trap? The new thriller from the acclaimed author of The One Memory of Flora Banks, perfect for fans of Karen McManus, E. Lockhart and Sophie McKenzie. Praise for The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods: 'Compelling and brilliantly written'- Fabulous Magazine 'Barr brilliantly captures Arty's naivety and eager innocence as she's swept up in the globalised world of capitalism and social media'- The Observer 'A pacey, original thriller' - The Guardian 'Arty's fresh insights into the world make for an amusing, poignant story' - The Sun

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black

Author: Emily Barr Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/01/2018

Ella Black seems to live the life most other seventeen-year-olds would kill for . . . Until one day, telling her nothing, her parents whisk her off to Rio de Janeiro. Determined to find out why, Ella takes her chance and searches through their things. And realises her life has been a lie. Her mother and father aren't hers at all. Unable to comprehend the truth, Ella runs away, to the one place they'll never think to look - the favelas. But there she learns a terrible secret - the truth about her real parents and their past. And the truth about a mother, desperate for a daughter taken from her seventeen years ago . . .

The One Memory of Flora Banks

The One Memory of Flora Banks

Author: Emily Barr Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/01/2017

Shortlisted for the YA Book Prize 2018 HOW DO YOU KNOW WHO TO TRUST WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TRUST YOURSELF? I look at my hands. One of them says FLORA BE BRAVE. Flora has anterograde amnesia. She can't remember anything day-to-day: the joke her friend made, the instructions her parents gave her, how old she is. Then she kisses someone she shouldn't, and the next day she remembers it. It's the first time she's remembered anything since she was ten. But the boy is gone. She thinks he's moved to the Arctic. Will following him be the key to unlocking her memory? Who can she trust? THE ONE MEMORY OF FLORA BANKS is the unforgettable YA novel to take home this summer. Barr's YA debut is a riveting page-turner that will keep you hooked till the end. - Entertainment Weekly An icily atmospheric story with a captivating hook...A pacy page-turner that packs a significant emotional punch - Guardian Gripping. . . We promise you won't see the end coming. - HelloGiggles a winning mix of a John Green/ Rainbow Rowell-style sharpness and sensitivity but underlined with a darker edge - View Magazine Do yourself a huge favor and grab this atmospheric, unique mystery for your Memorial Day weekend getaway. - Bustle.com An absorbing, original and definitely memorable book. - S Magazine An extraordinarily moving and original novel, a story of secrecy and lie, love and loss that manages to be both heart-breaking and life-affirming ...This is Barr's first novel for teenagers and it is as brave as Flora herself . - Daily Mail

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.emilybarr.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×