LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods

Written by Emily Barr

The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods Synopsis

TFW you wake up and realise you're trending... #GirlOutoftheWoods Arty has always lived in the Clearing, a commune hidden in the forests of south India. But her happy life, separate from the rest of the world, is shattered after a terrible event. For the first time, Arty must leave her home, and head into the intriguing but frightening outside world. On the streets of India, a chance encounter leads to her becoming an unwilling overnight celebrity. As she embarks on her journey, she discovers she is being followed by thousands of strangers, who seem to know her every move... Forced to fight against mysterious hashtags and being constantly photographed, how can she find the help she desperately needs? Everything is changing too fast for this girl who came out of the woods... could she be running into a trap? The new thriller from the acclaimed author of The One Memory of Flora Banks, perfect for fans of Karen McManus, E. Lockhart and Sophie McKenzie. Praise for The Girl Who Came Out of the Woods: 'Compelling and brilliantly written'- Fabulous Magazine 'Barr brilliantly captures Arty's naivety and eager innocence as she's swept up in the globalised world of capitalism and social media'- The Observer 'A pacey, original thriller' - The Guardian 'Arty's fresh insights into the world make for an amusing, poignant story' - The Sun

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241345221
Publication date: 2nd May 2019
Author: Emily Barr
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback / softback
Pagination: 400 pages

About Emily Barr

THE ONE MEMORY OF FLORA BANKS published in 2017 was Emily Barr's first novel for young adults and was a global hit, publishing in 27 languages. Before that, she worked as a journalist in London but always hankered after a quiet room and a book to write. She went travelling for a year, which gave her an idea for a novel set in the world of backpackers in Asia. This became BACKPACK, an adult thriller which won the WH Smith New Talent Award, and she has since written eleven more adult novels published in the UK and around the world. She lives ...

More About Emily Barr

More Books By Emily Barr

Cover for The Truth and Lies of Ella Black by Emily Barr
Cover for The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr
View All Books By Emily Barr

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×