Katherine Applegate - Author

About the Author

Katherine Applegate is the author of The One and Only Ivan, winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal. Her novel Crenshaw spent over twenty weeks on the New York Times children’s bestseller list, and her first middle grade standalone novel, the award-winning Home of the Brave, continues to be included on state reading lists, summer reading lists, and class reading lists. She lives with her husband, the author Michael Grant, who she  co-wrote the Animorphs series with, and their two children in Northern California.

Featured books by Katherine Applegate

Other books by Katherine Applegate

Endling #1: The Last

Endling #1: The Last

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 01/05/2018

First Katherine Applegate thrilled readerswith the action-packedAnimorphs series. Then she stole our hearts with the award-winningTheOne and Only Ivan.Now she takes us on anunforgettable journey in this first book of anepic middle grade series!Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.Along the way, she meets new alliesboth animals and humans alikewho each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of familyone that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such asThe One and Only Ivan,Crenshaw,andWishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Sometimes You Fly

Sometimes You Fly

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: Hardback Release Date: 24/04/2018

This gorgeous gift book, equally perfect for preschool graduations or college commencements, baby showers or birthdays, is an inspirational tribute to the universal struggles and achievements of childhood. Beginning with a first birthday, the scenes travel through childhood triumphs and milestones, coming full circle to graduation. A magical blend of succinct text and beautiful watercolours renders each moment with tenderness and humour and encourages readers to remember then, with every try, sometimes you fail . . . sometimes you fly.

Wishtree

Wishtree

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 26/09/2017

Trees can't tell jokes, but they can certainly tell stories. . . .Red is an oak tree who is many rings old. Red is the neighborhood "e;wishtree"e;people write their wishes on pieces of cloth and tie them to Red's branches. Along with her crow friend Bongo and other animals who seek refuge in Red's hollows, this "e;wishtree"e; watches over the neighborhood.You might say Red has seen it all. Until a new family moves in. Not everyone is welcoming, and Red's experiences as a wishtree are more important than ever.Funny, deep, warm, and nuanced,Wishtreeis Newbery Medalist andNew York Timesbestselling author Katherine Applegate at her very bestwriting from the heart, and from a completely unexpected point of view.

Crenshaw

Crenshaw

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/10/2015

The heart-warming new story about family and friendships from Newbery Medal-winner Katherine Applegate. Life is tough for ten-year-old Jackson. The landlord is often at the door, there's not much food in the fridge and he's worried that any day now the family will have to move out of their home. Again. Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken and he's imaginary. He's come back into Jackson's life to help him but is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything? A heart-warming story about family and friendships from Newbery medal winner Katherine Applegate.

Crenshaw

Crenshaw

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 08/10/2015

The heart-warming new story about family and friendships from Newbery Medal-winner Katherine Applegate. Life is tough for ten-year-old Jackson. The landlord is often at the door, there's not much food in the fridge and he's worried that any day now the family will have to move out of their home. Again. Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken and he's imaginary. He's come back into Jackson's life to help him but is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?

Crenshaw

Crenshaw

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 22/09/2015

In her first novel since winning the Newbery Medal, Katherine Applegate delivers an unforgettable and magical story about family, friendship, and resilience.Jackson and his family have fallen on hard times. There's no more money for rent. And not much for food, either. His parents, his little sister, and their dog may have to live in their minivan. Again.Crenshaw is a cat. He's large, he's outspoken, and he's imaginary. He has come back into Jackson's life to help him. But is an imaginary friend enough to save this family from losing everything?Beloved author Katherine Applegate proves in unexpected ways that friends matter, whether real or imaginary.

Roscoe Riley Rules Complete Collection

Roscoe Riley Rules Complete Collection

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 30/09/2014

Short, funny, true-to-life stories from Katherine Applegate, the author of the Newbery Medal winning The One and Only Ivan, the Roscoe Riley books are perfect for kids new to reading chapter books. Theyre filled with appealing art, and they star good-hearted first grader Roscoe Riley.This collection includes all seven books in the series: Never Glue Your Friends to ChairsNever Swipe a Bullys BearDont Swap Your Sweater for a DogNever Swim in ApplesauceDont Tap-Dance on Your TeacherNever Walk in Shoes That TalkNever Race a Runaway Pumpkin

Roscoe Riley Rules 3-Book Collection

Roscoe Riley Rules 3-Book Collection

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 03/06/2014

Short, funny, true-to-life stories from beloved author Katherine Applegate, the Roscoe Riley books are perfect for kids new to reading chapter books. They're filled with appealing art, and they star good-hearted first grader Roscoe Riley. The collection includes the first three books in the series:Never Glue Your Friends to Chairs: If the kids can't sit still for the class performance, Roscoe's teacher could be in big trouble. Fortunately Roscoe has a plan to save hera super, mega, gonzo plan! What could go wrong?Never Swipe a Bully's Bear: Pig-napped! When Roscoe's stuffed pig goes missing, he is convinced that Wyatt, the class bully, is responsible. When Roscoe finds out where Wyatt keeps his teddy bear, he decides to give that old bully a taste of his own medicine. That will fix everything. Won't it?Don't Swap Your Sweater for a Dog: A trophy for Roscoe? It seems like everyone has an award of some kind. Except Roscoe. But a pet-trick contest is coming up, and first prize is a big, shiny trophy. Roscoe really wants that trophywould he even borrow someone else's dog to win?

The One and Only Ivan

The One and Only Ivan

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/02/2012

Winner of the Newbery Medal 2013 Inspired by a true story, this iseautifully written tale of how a mighty gorilla wins his freedom. A winning blend of humour and poignancy that will ap the bpeal to fans of Michael Morpurgo. Ivan is an easy-going gorilla who has spent his life performing for the crowds at the Exit 8 shopping mall. He rarely misses life in the jungle. In fact, he hardly thinks about it at all. But everything changes when a baby elephant called Ruby arrives and Ivan realises he must find a new life for them both. Told from Ivan's perspective this is a stand-out novel with a pertinent message for readers of 9+.

Home of the Brave

Home of the Brave

Author: Katherine Applegate Format: eBook Release Date: 18/12/2007

Kek comes from Africa. In America, he sees snow for the first time, and feels its sting. Hes never walked on ice, and he falls. He wonders if the people in this new place will be like the wintercold and unkind. In Africa, Kek lived with his mother, father, and brother. But only he and his mother have survived, and now shes missing. Kek is on his own. Slowly, he makes friends: a girl who is in foster care, an old woman who owns a rundown farm, and a cow whose name means family in his native language. As Kek awaits word of his mothers fate, he weathers the tough Minnesota winter by finding warmth in his new friendships, strength in his memories, and belief in his new country.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://katherineapplegate.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Katherine Applegate on Facebook

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×