LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Saadia Faruqi - Author

About the Author

Saadia Faruqi is a Pakistani American writer, essayist and interfaith activist. She writes for a number of publications including the Huffington Post, and is editor-in-chief of Blue Minaret, a magazine for Muslim art, poetry and prose. Her adult short story collection Brick Walls: Tales of Hope & Courage from Pakistan was published in 2015. She resides in Houston, TX with her husband and children. 

Featured books by Saadia Faruqi

Other books by Saadia Faruqi

A Thousand Questions

A Thousand Questions

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/11/2020

Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi's tender and honest middle grade novel tells the story of two girls navigating a summer of change and family upheaval with kind hearts, big dreams, and all the right questions. Mimi is not thrilled to be spending her summer in Karachi, Pakistan, with grandparents she's never met. Secretly, she wishes to find her long-absent father, and plans to write to him in her beautiful new journal. The cook's daughter, Sakina, still hasn't told her parents that she'll be accepted to school only if she can improve her English test score-but then, how could her family possibly afford to lose the money she earns working with her Abba in a rich family's kitchen? Although the girls seem totally incompatible at first, as the summer goes on, Sakina and Mimi realize that they have plenty in common-and that they each need the other to get what they want most. This relatable and empathetic story about two friends coming to understand each other will resonate with readers who loved Other Words for Home and Front Desk.

Yasmin the Writer

Yasmin the Writer

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

Ms Alex has assigned Yasmin's class to write about their heroes. Yasmin loves to write but she can't decide who her hero is. After dismissing lots of ideas, could it be that Yasmin's hero has been right beside her all along?

Yasmin the Gardener

Yasmin the Gardener

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2020

It's spring! Yasmin and her baba are excited to plant their garden, and Yasmin chooses a flower seedling. She gives it plenty of sun, water and good soil . . . so why is it wilting? Watching Nani sit in the sun gives Yasmin a bright idea and she knows just what her little plant needs.

Yasmin Pack C of 4

Yasmin Pack C of 4

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 01/10/2020

Meet Yasmin! Yasmin is a spirited girl who's always on the lookout for those a-ha moments to help her solve life's little problems. Taking inspiration from her surroundings and her big imagination, she boldly faces any situation, though sometimes her imagination can get a bit carried away! A creative thinker and curious explorer, Yasmin and her multi-generational Pakistani family will delight and inspire readers.

Yasmin the Friend

Yasmin the Friend

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Yasmin knows exactly what she wants to play when her friends come over. But it turns out her friends have their own ideas. Could a creative compromise make everyone happy?

Yasmin the Football Star

Yasmin the Football Star

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2020

Everyone in Yasmin's gym class is excited to play football . . . except for Yasmin. She's seen the pros play and it looks scary! When Yasmin is chosen as goalie, will she step up or back out? Courage, Yasmin!

Yasmin the Teacher

Yasmin the Teacher

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/08/2019

Yasmin's teacher, Ms. Alex, gets called away and puts Yasmin in charge! Being a teacher will be a doddle But when things go wrong, Yasmin must think fast to get the class back on track before Ms. Alex gets back.

Yasmin Pack B of 4

Yasmin Pack B of 4

Author: Saadia Faruqi Format: Mixed media product Release Date: 08/08/2019

Meet Yasmin! Yasmin is a spirited girl who's always on the lookout for those a-ha moments to help her solve life's little problems. Taking inspiration from her surroundings and her big imagination, she boldly faces any situation, though sometimes her imagination can get a bit carried away! A creative thinker and curious explorer, Yasmin and her multi-generational Pakistani family will delight and inspire readers.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.saadiafaruqi.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×