LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Tony Bradman - Author

About the Author

Tony Bradman was born in 1954 (not during the Jurassic era, as his children have been known to claim). He went to school in London, and then Cambridge University. After university he worked in the music press, then became Deputy Editor of Parents magazine, and began reviewing children’s books. He had his first book for children published in 1985 and became a full-time author in 1987.

He is a hugely prolific author with a particular passion for bringing history to life for young people. He is a regular at all the major literary festivals, reviews for The Guardian and is the Chair of the Siobhan Dowd Trust. He is perhaps best known in the UK for his Dilly the Dinosaur stories. His books have sold more than two million copies worldwide and he has been published in the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, France, Germany, Sweden, Spain and Japan amongst others.

Tony loves films and popular culture. He lives in Beckenham, Kent with his wife Sally and their three children Emma, Helen and Thomas and Rufus the cat.

TONY BRADMAN Q&A:


If you were a Viking warrior, what would your name be? And what about your battle cry?

I love Viking warrior names – my favourites are Erik Bloodaxe, Ivar The Boneless and of course, Harald Hardnut. I’d like my name to be exciting too! But the Vikings had a great sense of humour, and I’m not very tall, so I’d expect they would call me stumpy or something like that. My battle cry would be easy – “Yaaaaaaagggghhh”

Which of the places in the book would you most like to visit: Russia, Norway or Constantinople? Why?

I’d like to visit them all. Constantinople is now called Istanbul, and it’s an ancient city full of interesting things. I studied Russian at school and so I’d love to visit places like Novogorod and Kiev. And in fact, I’ve just booked up to go to Oslo, capital of Norway – and the first place I’ll visit is the Viking Ship Museum….

If you were a Viking warrior, and could have any person from history/film/books in your gang – who would you choose? And Why? What would the gang be called?

I’d pick all the great Viking warriors – Harald Hardnut, Erik Bloodaxe, the Godwin brothers Tostig and Harold, maybe Thor the Norse God, Beowulf, Aragorn, Gimli, Legolas, Boromir and Faramir from Lord of the Rings and loads of others. What would we be called? Why The Cool Vikings, of course!

Featured books by Tony Bradman

Dilly and the Birthday Treat

Dilly and the Birthday Treat

5+ readers

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/08/2011

Dilly, the world famous dinosaur with a 150 mile-per-hour scream, decides to give his father something special for his birthday. Can he really be good for a whole day? Dilly does his very best with delightful results in this easy-to-read story for developing readers.

Other books by Tony Bradman

EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem

EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, Gerneal Mayhem kidnaps Caleb in a ploy to trap his friends ... and she has a dangerous proposal for them once they find her! This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books (reluctant readers). Reading age 6 years old, Book Band Orange 6, Interest Level 6-11 years old. Get the whole series! EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem EDGE: Kid Force 3: Dr Vlogger EDGE: Kid Force 3: The Toxic Cookie Monster

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/07/2020

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, Earth looks doomed when a huge asteroid is heading straight for the planet ... can Kid Force 3 use their powers to stop the deadly collision? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books (reluctant readers). Reading age 6 years old, Book Band Turquoise 7, Interest Level 6-11 years old. Get the whole series! EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem EDGE: Kid Force 3: Dr Vlogger EDGE: Kid Force 3: The Toxic Cookie Monster

Football Crazy

Football Crazy

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/04/2020

Danny and his mates Jamil and Lewis are over the moon when football legend Jock Ramsey agrees to coach their team. For the first time ever the Rovers might have a chance of winning something! But Ramsey's a tough coach. They train every night, and Saturdays too. It's a lot of pressure for lads who just like a kickabout in the park. Can Danny, Lewis and Jamil survive the pressure and stay football crazy - in a good way? A brand-new 4u2read edition of a fun and light-hearted football story from reluctant-reader favourite Tony Bradman. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 7+

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/04/2020

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, Emperor of the Vordar has invaded planet Earth! Can Kid Force 3 save the human race from the alien takeover? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books (reluctant readers). Reading age 6 years old, Book Band Turquoise 7, Interest Level 6-11 years old. Get the whole series! EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem EDGE: Kid Force 3: Dr Vlogger EDGE: Kid Force 3: The Toxic Cookie Monster

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway

EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/04/2020

Kid Force 3 are Jayden, Layla and Caleb. They aren't regular kids, they're super kids - each with an amazing superhero power. In this story, a professor's new robot malfunctions and escapes, out of control. Can Kid Force 3 track it down and stop it from destroying everything in its path? This title is published by Franklin Watts EDGE, which produces a range of books to get children reading with confidence. This series is suitable for guided reading with children aged 5+, but also for older readers with low reading confidence or struggling to enjoy books (reluctant readers). Reading age 6 years old, Book Band Turquoise 7, Interest Level 6-11 years old. Get the whole series! EDGE: Kid Force 3: Alien Kidnap EDGE: Kid Force 3: Robot Runaway EDGE: Kid Force 3: Day of Doom EDGE: Kid Force 3: General Mayhem EDGE: Kid Force 3: Dr Vlogger EDGE: Kid Force 3: The Toxic Cookie Monster

Home Again: Stories About Coming Home From War

Home Again: Stories About Coming Home From War

Author: Tony Bradman, Jim Eldridge, Emily Hibbs, E. L. Norry Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

HOME AGAIN tells twelve moving tales of homecoming, centred around VE Day. With a foreword by Forces Sweetheart Dame Vera Lynn. Produced in partnership with The Royal British Legion for the 75th anniversary of VE Day. A child evacuee, a Bletchley Park codebreaker, a rebel fighter, an Indian Army soldier... Each inspiring and authentic story helps to bring the end of World War Two into focus. Every story is followed by a fact file, packed with detail on different parts of the war. Stories written by Bali Rai, Leila Rasheed, Tony Bradman, Jim Eldridge, E.L. Norry and Emily Hibbs. 50p per paperback from the sale of HOME AGAIN in the UK will be paid to Royal British Legion Trading Limited which gives its taxable profits to The Royal British Legion (Charity no. 219279).

A Bad Day for Jayden

A Bad Day for Jayden

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2020

Mum won't get out of bed. His best friend has dumped him. And school work is just too difficult. Jayden wants to do the right thing - but how can he when it feels like the world is conspiring against him? Everything is going wrong, and when a supply teacher turns up to take his class, Jayden's sure things will keep on getting worse. But Mrs Wilson is not quite the teacher Jayden expected ... can she help turn his bad day around? A touching and sensitively told story of life as a young carer from beloved author Tony Bradman. Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant or dyslexic readers aged 8+

Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

Macbeth: A Bloomsbury Reader

Author: Tony Bradman Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/01/2020

An atmospheric retelling of the story of Macbeth, perfect for fans of Viking Boy and Janina Ramirez. One dark and stormy night, two men come across three witches who foretell the future. One man is promised a royal future as king, the other that his son will rule one day. But King Duncan still lives and the path to the throne is unclear. What follows next is murder most foul... This atmospheric retelling of William Shakespeare's Macbeth from much-loved author Tony Bradman has haunting black-and-white illustrations by Mark Oldroyd and is a perfect introduction to Shakespeare's classic story. The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. Book Band: Dark Blue Ideal for ages 9+

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×