LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sylvia Bishop - Author

Books by Sylvia Bishop

The Midnight Thief

The Midnight Thief

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Flavia Sorrentino Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/08/2021

An old-school (in every sense) yarn. Bishop pulls it off with humour and aplomb. Financial Times A captivating boarding school mystery from Sylvia Bishop, author of Erica's Elephant, The Bookshop Girl and The Secret of the Night Train. Transplanted from her exciting life as an explorer's daughter, Freya finds herself miserable at a posh boarding school. Freya hates all the boring rules, the other girls are mean to her, and the headmistress is frosty good manners personified. When a bat removal expert is called in to deal with an infestation, Freya meets his irrepressible children - and finds herself making friends at last. Together they explore the city, with particular interest in the grand exhibition showing priceless artefacts for the first time. When the objects are stolen in a dramatic heist, Freya is sure her new friends are responsible - but the true culprit might be closer to home... Warm, witty and packed full of gorgeous characters, this is a boarding school mystery with a twist. Perfect for fans of Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series Sylvia Bishop is the author of The Bookshop Girl, The Secret of the Night Train, and Erica's Elephant

44 Tiny Chefs

44 Tiny Chefs

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Ashley King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/07/2021

Join brave and spirited heroine Betsy and her forty-four tiny mice in a charming new adventure. Betsy is delighted that her father is opening a bakery. And when the Taster of Fine Foods for the Queen asks him to cater for a Royal Gala, it seems like the icing on the cake - until they discover just how many cakes are needed. The whole family pitches in to help but as the day of the gala dawns Betsy knows the only way they'll get the job done is with a little help from her forty-four mice. Just as long as she can keep them away from prying eyes... From the acclaimed duo behind THE BOOKSHOP GIRL. Beautifully illustrated in two-colour, Betsy's adventures are perfect for fans of ISADORA MOON, AMELIA FANG, OTTOLINE and HARPER.

44 Tiny Acrobats

44 Tiny Acrobats

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Ashley King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

Join brave and spirited heroine Betsy and her forty-four tiny mice in a thrilling new adventure. When Fry's Circus of Wonders pitches its tent opposite Betsy's house, Betsy feels a strange sense of longing. But Grandad can't even bear to look at it - it stirs up too many painful memories of Grandma's days as a circus performer. As her parents rally round Grandad, Betsy slips away to see the show. But Betsy isn't the only one enjoying the spectacle - her forty-four mice have escaped and seem intent on joining in! As the mice gatecrash the magic act, disaster strikes and Betsy finds herself facing up to the odious ringmaster with a lot of explaining to do... Beautifully illustrated in two-colour, this is the second adventure for Besty and her forty-four mice, from the acclaimed duo behind THE BOOKSHOP GIRL. For fans of ISADORA MOON, AMELIA FANG, OTTOLINE and HARPER.

44 Tiny Secrets

44 Tiny Secrets

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Ashley King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/07/2020

The first book in a heartwarming and timeless new series with a brave and spirited heroine, from the acclaimed duo behind THE BOOKSHOP GIRL. Betsy Bow-Linnet is determined to become a world famous concert pianist like her parents. There's just one problem: no matter how hard she practises she doesn't share their musical talents. So when a mysterious letter arrives from a woman claiming to know of an unusual Method that will make Betsy's playing 'stupendous', Betsy jumps at the chance. There's just one condition: she must keep the Method a secret. But it isn't just one secret - it's forty-four tiny secrets in the shape of a boxful of pygmy mice! Betsy is mystified - how are they going to help her play the piano and - more importantly - how on earth can she keep them all a secret? Gorgeously illustrated in two-colour, this is a warm, funny and pitch-perfect story about the true nature of family love and finding your real talents in the most unexpected of places. Perfect for fans of ISADORA MOON, AMELIA FANG, OTTOLINE and HARPER.

A Sea of Stories

A Sea of Stories

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Paddy Donnelly Format: Hardback Release Date: 03/10/2019

A range of simple stories for new readers, with beautiful colour illustrations. Whenever Roo visits Grandpa, she loves exploring the seaside cove near his cottage. But on her latest stay, Grandpa explains that he can't go down there any more - the path is too steep and overgrown for him to manage. Instead Grandpa tells Roo the stories behind the many objects that fill his house. All of Grandpa's stories feature the cove and Roo realizes that now, even though they're so close to the sea, Grandpa is cut off from it. Is there anything she can do to bring Grandpa to the place he loves the most? An inspiring tale about the importance of sharing stories, by Sylvia Bishop, the author of ERICA'S ELEPHANT and THE BOOKSHOP GIRL.

Trouble in New York

Trouble in New York

Author: Sylvia Bishop Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Jamie Creeden has always wanted to be a reporter - so when he is given a tour of the famous YORKER newspaper, he can't believe his luck. But a chance phone call draws him into the mystery of the missing actress. Soon Jamie, along with his new friends Eve and Rose, must navigate a tense world of infamous villains, double crosses and carefully planted clues - a world in which he can trust absolutely no one. He still longs to be on the front page - but at what cost? Set in 1960s New York, this is another beautifully written mystery from Sylvia Bishop, author of THE SECRET OF THE NIGHT TRAIN.

The Bookshop Girl

The Bookshop Girl

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Ashley King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/04/2017

This story is about a little girl named Property Jones, so-called because she was left in the lost property cupboard of a bookshop when she was five years old. Property loves living in the bookshop, but she has a whopper of a secret ... she can't actually read! So Property doesn't see the newspaper article announcing the chance to win the Montgomery Book Emporium, the biggest and most magnificent bookshop in the world! When her family win the competition, Property finds herself moving to the Emporium, a magical place filled with floor upon floor of books and a very bad-tempered cat. But all is not at it seems at the Emporium and soon Property Jones finds herself in a whole heap of trouble.

Erica's Elephant

Erica's Elephant

Author: Sylvia Bishop Illustrator: Ashley King Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/03/2017

When Erica Perkins wakes up on the morning of her tenth birthday, the last thing she expects is to find a very confused elephant sitting on her doorstep. So begins an unlikely friendship. But can a small girl and a rather large elephant learn to live together in a tiny terraced house? And when the dastardly owner of the local zoo plots to steal the elephant, will Erica be able to outsmart him? illustrated with heartwarming and engaging line drawings Sylvia's writing has a wonderfully classic feel while the offbeat humour makes it contemporary and fresh

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×