10% off all books and free delivery over £40 - Last Posting Date for Christmas: 20th December
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

British Book Awards 2023

Produced by The Bookseller, The British Book Awards, also known as the Nibbies, are the definitive celebration of the UK’s best-loved books and authors. This year LoveReading4Kids are thrilled to be sponsoring the Children's Illustrated Book of the Year - read on for the winners and the shortlisted books in the children's categories.

Jump to:
Children’s Fiction Book of the Year
Children’s Non-fiction Book of the Year
Children’s Illustrated Book of the Year

British Book Awards 2023: British Book Awards 2023: Children’s Fiction Book of the Year

Winner: Tyger

S F Said’s Blakeian adventure, strikingly illustrated by Dave McKean, was nine years in the making, with publisher David Fickling Books determined not to rush the book to market until it was fully ready. This patience paid off: Tyger is the independent publisher’s second-bestselling fiction hardback ever and the title is now in its fifth reprint. The publisher utilised the glowing reviews from early readers to build connections with key retailers, ensuring the book stood out in a crowded children’s market. One judge said: “This to me feels like a book I really want children to read and have access to.” The “synergy” between the text and illustrations was applauded, with our judges agreeing that Tyger already “felt like a classic”. A “stand-out”, they all concluded.

View Book Page

Shortlisted Books

Onyeka and the Academy of the Sun

Tolá Okogwu


Temporarily Out Of Stock

£7.19 £7.99

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief

A.F. Steadman


In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

The First to Die at the End

Adam Silvera


In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

British Book Awards 2023: British Book Awards 2023: Children’s Non-fiction Book of the Year

Winner: A Better Day

Dr Alex George, UK Youth Mental Health Ambassador and a former A&E doctor, brought his personal experience to A Better Day, an empowering mental health handbook aimed at children aged nine to 11. The title is taken from the author’s regular social media message that “there is always hope of a better day”. The handbook format with curved edges was admired by our judges, who also praised the balance between the text and the illustrations by The Boy Fitz Hammond. A Better Day was the bestselling début children’s non-fiction book in 2022, according to figures from Nielsen BookScan. “It’s a book that will really save lives”, agreed our judges, as it offers practical techinques for young readers to use when faced with issues from exam stress to peer pressure.

View Book Page

Shortlisted Books

British Book Awards 2023: British Book Awards 2023: Children’s Illustrated Book of the Year

Winner: Grandad's Camper

The judges fell in love with the “beautiful” and “joyous” message of Harry Woodgate’s picture book, Grandad’s Camper. This “gentle and heart-warming” tale, a celebration of love in all its forms which was inspired by the lack of older LGBTQ+ characters in children’s books, was awarded Best Illustrated Book at the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2022. Author Woodgate worked hard to promote the book: decorating the windows of six bookshops across the UK, creating postcards for the Queer Lit bookshop, and teaming up with National Literacy Trust to create KS1 resources for schools to use alongside the book. The “purity” and “simplicity” of the book’s message and the drive behind the “hell for leather” marketing campaign from Andersen Press made it a winner for our judges.

View Book Page

Shortlisted Books

The British Book Awards or Nibbies has been the leading awards for the book  trade since 1990. Celebrating the best books, the best bookshops and the best publishers it is supported by all major industry associations including The Publishers Association, The Booksellers Association and the Independent Publishers Guild. Judged by leading industry experts  it is regarded as ‘the  BAFTAs of the book trade’. 

Split into 12 categories, the shortlists reflect the diversity and breadth of the publishing industry, and new for 2022 is split in the children's award to create two separate new categories, Non-fiction and Illustrated.

About British Book Awards

The British Book Awards, aka The Nibbies, represent the absolute best of the book trade, showcasing the books, bookshops, agents and publishers who make this industry shine.

The Awards were first launched in 1990 and are now run by The Bookseller. There are two halves to the British Book Awards, there's the Books of the Year and the Book Trade Awards. These different aspects of the awards seek to celebrate the books that defied expectations and the industry who brought them to readers.

The Books of the Year section of the British Book Awards are unique because they demonstrate that a book's sucess is not down to a sigle factor. Success is the result of the author's creative genius, the agent and the publisher's skill and support and the retailers who work to champoin it once it hits the sherves, to name just a few aspects of te process. Each of the shortlisted title are unapologetically about sucess, but that is not always defined by who has been at the top of the bestseller lists. 

2022 welcomes exciting new changes to the awards categories. The Books of the Year strand will now include the Discover Book of the Year, aimed at underrepresented writers across genres, and a split of the Children’s awards into Non-fiction and Illustrated, in addition to the Fiction award. There will also be two Audiobook awards this year, representing the strong growth in that market: these will be for Fiction and Non-fiction. On the Trade side, 2022 sees the return of the Individual Bookseller of the Year award, recognising the vital role booksellers continue to play in the sector. These build on the new awards launched last year, which included Designer of the Year—for the best-in-class book designer—and Pageturner of the Year—aimed at popular fiction titles across all formats.

To find out more about the British Book Awards, click here.

British Book Awards Archive

Click on a year below to view past years from this award.