LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Katy

Written by Jacqueline Wilson

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Katy

In her new book Jacqueline Wilson retells one of her own childhood favourites, Susan Coolidge’s classic What Katy Did. She echoes the original closely: both Katys are bright, headstrong, daydreamers with big imaginations, unable to avoid trouble. Like the original, Jacqueline Wilson’s Katy falls from a swing and breaks her back and it’s in what happens afterwards that the stories differ. Coolidge’s Katy learns from her cousin Helen and the ‘school of pain’ to be patient, cheerful and neat. Wilson’s story has a Helen too, also a wheelchair user, who teaches Katy a ‘can do’ attitude that sees her going back to school, determined to live life on her own terms. Katy’s accident does help her see other peoples’ points of view however and her relationships with her step-mum and step-sister improve hugely. Wilson’s Katy is a real girl facing a terrible situation with courage. Young readers will love it, and it will get them thinking too. ~ Andrea Reece

Katy Synopsis

Katy Carr is a lively, daredevil oldest sister in a big family. She loves messing around outdoors, climbing on the garage roof, or up a tree, cycling, skateboarding, swinging...But her life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident. Inspired by the classic novel, What Katy Did, Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible modern version for the twenty-first-century. This title is suitable for fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The World's Worst Children 2
The Dog that Saved Christmas
My Secret Dragon
Mucking About

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141353982
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141353968
Publication date: 30/07/2015
Publisher: Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141353982
Publication date: 5th May 2016
Author: Jacqueline Wilson
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson wrote her first novel when she was nine years old, and she has been writing ever since. She is now one of Britain’s bestselling and most beloved children’s authors. She has written over 100 books and is the creator of characters such as Tracy Beaker and Hetty Feather. More than forty million copies of her books have been sold. As well as winning many awards for her books, including the Children’s Book of the Year, Jacqueline is a former Children’s Laureate, and in 2008 she was appointed a Dame. Jacqueline is also ...

More About Jacqueline Wilson

More Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Cover for Dancing the Charleston by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for My Mum Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for Hetty Feather's Christmas by Jacqueline Wilson
View All Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×