Katy

Written by Jacqueline Wilson

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Katy

In her new book Jacqueline Wilson retells one of her own childhood favourites, Susan Coolidge’s classic What Katy Did. She echoes the original closely: both Katys are bright, headstrong, daydreamers with big imaginations, unable to avoid trouble. Like the original, Jacqueline Wilson’s Katy falls from a swing and breaks her back and it’s in what happens afterwards that the stories differ. Coolidge’s Katy learns from her cousin Helen and the ‘school of pain’ to be patient, cheerful and neat. Wilson’s story has a Helen too, also a wheelchair user, who teaches Katy a ‘can do’ attitude that sees her going back to school, determined to live life on her own terms. Katy’s accident does help her see other peoples’ points of view however and her relationships with her step-mum and step-sister improve hugely. Wilson’s Katy is a real girl facing a terrible situation with courage. Young readers will love it, and it will get them thinking too. ~ Andrea Reece

Katy Synopsis

Katy Carr is a lively, daredevil oldest sister in a big family. She loves messing around outdoors, climbing on the garage roof, or up a tree, cycling, skateboarding, swinging...But her life changes in dramatic and unexpected ways after a serious accident. Inspired by the classic novel, What Katy Did, Jacqueline Wilson creates an irresistible modern version for the twenty-first-century. This title is suitable for fans of Hetty Feather and Tracy Beaker will fall in love with Katy and her family too.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Dog that Saved Christmas
My Secret Dragon
Mucking About
A Chase In Time

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780141353982
Publication date: 05/05/2016
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780141353968
Publication date: 30/07/2015
Publisher: Puffin Books an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780141353982
Publication date: 5th May 2016
Author: Jacqueline Wilson
Publisher: Puffin an imprint of Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 480 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Jacqueline Wilson

Jacqueline Wilson was our Guest Editor in February 2012.  Click here to see her selection of books. Jacqueline Wilson was born in Bath in 1945, but spent most of her childhood in Kingston-on-Thames. She always wanted to be a writer and wrote her first ‘novel’ when she was nine, filling in countless Woolworths’ exercise books as she grew up. As a teenager she started work for a magazine publishing company and then went on to work as a journalist on Jackie magazine (which she was told was named after her!) before turning to writing novels full-time.One of ...

More About Jacqueline Wilson

More Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Cover for Hetty Feather's Christmas by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for My Mum Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson
Cover for Rose Rivers by Jacqueline Wilson
View All Books By Jacqueline Wilson

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×